We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back in time”

Arthur Avenue Retail Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Hidden Treasures of the Bronx Tour by Bus with Lunch at City Island
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

They've been an Italian market neighborhood for decades - food shopper paradise - personalities in abundance and restaurants galore - an experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KME54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step into THE Italian neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want to experience real Italian American shopping and eating, go to Arthur Avenue. Here, you buy meat at the butcher's, pick up pasta at the fresh pasta shop, and head over to the pasticiera for pignoles. If you want delicious Italian food (without the hype and price of "glamour Italian" food malls), you will enjoy Arthur Avenue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank annelindenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“what's the hype all about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went on a bus trip to see the Radio City Music Christmas show and after the show, the bus was scheduled to stop on Arthur Ave for us all to browse around for 3 hours. Not really sure why anyone really goes here and spends more than maybe an hour. I was expecting to see more. All i saw were delis, pastry shops, and meat markets. So basically, if you dont want meat, cheese, bread, or pastry, there really isnt anything here for you. No shops that sold anything worth looking at, and there is only so much pork, cheese, and cannolis you can actually look at. We did have dinner at an overpriced Italain restaurant (food was very good), but other than that good meal, the rest of the 3 hours there were quite boring. Would not go back here....just not enough to see or do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Let Us Praise Arthur Avenue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is perhaps the best artisan food neighborhood in New York City. The retail market is a great place to shop -- terrific vegetables and a great butchers -- but it's the surrounding area that is the real gem.

I defy anybody to challenge Teitel Brothers deli for the value or the variety of Italian food. If it's coffee, fresh fish, butchers, home made pasta or restaurants (Dominick's, Zero Otto Nove, Roberto's -- just to name my favorites) or bakeries (Is Madonia Brothers the best Italian bakery in North America?) or home made mozzarella (Casa Della Mozzarella) -- this area a treasure.

I am a big fan of Eataly in Manhattan but Arthur Avenue is the real deal, as authentic a neighborhood as you'll get and prices that are generally less than half of what you'll pay downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank michaeldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
437 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Go when all the vendors are open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My girlfriend wanted to visit the "Little Italy" of the Bronx. Walked along Arthur Avenue and stopped into the market. Unfortunately, many vendors were closed. You can read my separate review about Mike's Deli where we split a sandwich. The man at La Casa Grande Cigars was very nice, telling us about the area, and the places he enjoyed eating. When walking the neighborhood, make sure you walk along 187th street as well. I'm a Brooklyn girl, so I don't get impressed with bakeries. What I was most impressed with was Borgatti's Ravioli & Egg Noodles on 187th. Purchased several types of pasta. My family and I really enjoyed their pasta and Pumpkin Ravioli. It's a must stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arthur Avenue Retail Market also viewed

 

Been to Arthur Avenue Retail Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing