We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party Goods - Cool Gifts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl River

Pearl River
Ranked #409 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Party Goods - Cool Gifts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

There is so much fun stuff at this place and it's great to go get lost in after wandering around in SoHo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvaldaisnotbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So much stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I loved going here and the staff was so nice, but because there is so much stuff i would go online and see what they have first. I did that and went in with a game plan and got everything i wanted.

Helpful?
Thank Tonya N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wallis et futuna
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pearl river shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

It's a really good address for all gifts from NYC, with many surprises in all levels and inexpensive things to take back home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oceanienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must included in any Down Town shopping experience (especially first time in NY)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Pearl River is a must in any (first time in NY) shopping experience down town. The shop is rich of a wide portfolio of items spreading from home furniture, kitchenware, clothings, toys and many more; just name a thing and you will find it. Everything is not sloppy and rather it has a nice feeling of Asia and China in particular. All items are particular and carachteristic. The shop has a nice vibe!
Personally every time we go to NY for a we, we end by stopping at the Pearl River and have fun at looking and purchaisng some of the new items. Highly indicated for personal home and also for not epensive presents. We got very good responses from our relatives/friends when they received selected presents purchased at Pearl River.
It is conveniently located by Broadway and can be a nice stop during a downtown tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Filippettino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Shopping Experience in NYC's Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I've loved Pearl River since it was a much more Chinese-centric three floor emporium aimed at local Asian customers, and was worried when it morphed into a hipster/fusion department store that too much would be lost in translation. Good news - still special, still a great NYC shopping experience, and a perfect place to pick up that oddball something lovely/funny/unique without necessarily spending a lot of cash. There are clothes - including really gorgeous things for women like contemporary updates on the classic embroidered silk jackets - that you'll find nowhere else. There are adorable baby things - little brocade pajamas, lion slippers, whimsical and well-designed nightlights. There are exotic teas, spices, candies, and sauces, as well as cooking implements specific to Asian cuisine. There are all kinds of embroidered and fanciful textiles downstairs; colorful and decorative paper kites in the shapes of butterflies and dragons; striking paper mache masks, lovely little notebooks, slippers - oh I could go on, but you'll want to explore it yourself. On Broadway, just a couple of blocks north of Canal, it's a fun place to walk off some of that divine lunch you just had, and pick up something unusual.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PetePoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl River also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pearl River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing