We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Big, Expensive Liquor Store. Wide Selection.

Sherry Lehman has been around for decades as a NY destination for wines and spirits. The store is... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2018
KosherTraveller2011
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Fun to stop by

There are many excellent wine stores in New York City, and it is possible to find virtually... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2016
robcurtross
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from US$36.00
More Info
from US$37.00
More Info
from US$54.95
More Info
from US$50.00
More Info
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
3
4
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I made a real effort to get to this store to buy wine for a special occasion. What a mistake.
I am still hopeful that the wine I chose will be good, but I found the service extremely poor.
It is hard to imagine a good shop where the staff could be less helpful or more bored.
Next time, I will stick with my local merchant. Why travel to be ignored? I write in the hope
that the owners will restore the excellence of their staff.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank happygourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I received the recommendation from a Brazilian acquaintance. I experienced both to purchase trough the web, and complemented it by buying at the premises. Both ways were satisfying.
Of course I did not have time to explore all the possibilities , but the sample was encouraging. I had no problems with shipping. If you are a foreigner, the best way to go about it, is to ship your wines to a New Yorker friend and collect them when you call in.
I wished I could have more space and money !

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank norbafreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

live in New Jersey and have ordered many times from Sherry Lehman. On this occasion I wanted to order wine over the $250 minimum for free shipping. When I went to the site I saw that under shipping promotions there was an indication "Free Shipping Anywhere". However when I tried to place the order a hefty shipping charge occurred. I called the store and was told that there was not currently free shipping to New Jersey and that they would not honor the promotion that was indicated on their site. Needless to say I did not place the order and am very disappointed that they would treat a loyal customer that way. I was also not "permitted" to speak to a manager. Although their wine selection is tremendous, as a customer I do not need to be treated that way and will in the future take my business elsewhere. So bottom line... beware of what the website says and shame their customer service has deteriorated so much.

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank bunnjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Equally powerful as an in-store, web, or phone order resource via mailed catalogs, Sherry-Lehman is the kind of store that wine lovers dream of owning. Very high end retail store with excellent service and attention to detail, you can walk in with a dream and walk out with a Jerobaum of classic cru, or a single bottle at a great value from an Unsung Hero category. If you are a wine lover and don't know Sherry-Lehman, you owe it to yourself to check them out.

Date of experience: June 2011
2  Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews