We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, stylish, cosy, a NY classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #91 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish, cosy, a NY classic”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room, booked online with a substantial discount, was sombre and smallish for the price, yet very tastefully decorated in dark blues and reds. Attention to tiniest details (toiletteries from Mario Badescu, a note with tomorrow's weather every night) added class. Don't miss the museum-worthy collection of modern art, featuring Fernando Botero, Damien Hirst, etc. The rooftoop bar is exquisitely stylish. The service is correct, albeit somewhat frosty. Too bad they don't give you the key to the Park, but let you in and out for a fixed period of time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    254
    103
    49
    32
See reviews for
240
470
91
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Top-notch service matches draw-dropping atmosphere for a great Labor Day Weekend!

The public spaces can't be matched anywhere. Loved the aroma in the lobby - what was that? And my loft room was amazing - I haven't seen furnishings and decor like this anywhere. I loved the bar in the room!

Having access to the park itself is still quite a perk, and spending a half hour inside is a tranquil respite from the rest of the city.

Only downside was room service one night - unfriendly order taker coupled with incorrect order (three significant mistakes delivered) put a slight damper on the evening. Eat in the hotel restaurant or one of the great restaurants nearby instead. Still, this didn't distract from the overall great experience, but did knock it down from five stars to four.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: My Loft Room had a nice big leather table and plenty of seats (two chairs, a sofa and ottoman) that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Booked a fantastic deal through Amex Fine Hotels and stayed four nights in a loft room. It was huge by NYC standards and the linens, bathroom amenities, and overall swag were top notch. Albeit ridiculously expensive, the "English Drinking Cabinet" aka mini-bar was stocked like they were expecting a rock star. Doormen have a key to Gramercy Park and it is a beautiful patch of peace in an otherwise busy Manhattan neighborhood. Drinking coffee on the lush rooftop terrace I looked up and realized I was sitting in front of Damien Hirst's Le Caprice, then stumbled into room after room of amazing contemporary art: Warhols, Basquiats, Princes, on and on... really breathtaking. The service was warm and professional from the front desk, to housekeeping, room service and restaurants. Lunch at Maialino (my son and I both had the porchetta panino) was outstanding in every respect. Couldn't have been more pleased with my choice and am looking forward to visiting the GPH again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashvillemom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in room 1109 during Irene. We enjoyed high levels of hospitality during that period as most of NYC stayed shut throughout the weekend. This included complimentary (albeit simple) meals and refreshment. This is just about a 5-star hotel with a splendid eye for "gothic" style decor. Something that we found very refreshing when we checked in. My wife loved the soap selection. I also appreciated the complimentary umbrella for use (i know, this sounds trivial but having been in other hotels, in a similar situation, allow me to recount..); without needing to justify what room i stay in or be served with a notice about being charged millions if i fail to return the brolley,etc. The hotel can be so much more (and thus our "just about a 5star rating), and I only mention them as we like our hotels so much and would desperately like to return to GPH (they are probably the only hotel with access to a private garden/park):
- turn down service; we only received this once, the night before we left; there were no slippers
- ipod with songs; it is stated that there would be one in the room with preloaded songs, this was not the case
- shoe polishing is complimentary; a very appreciated service that I received only after I called reception who has no idea and had to check with housekeeping
- i felt the hotel to be too "dark" for my liking.. that said, my wife enjoyed it. I do get the whole idea behind exposed light bulbs and all but there needs to be a few kelvins more of light in my opinion. During rainy days, it just feels moist...
- tacky terrace; overgrown with the wrong kind of plants in my opinion. The interior was however beautiful.
- should have been informed about renovation/plumbing in the room next door, there was noticeable noise that I found distracting.
- pillow selection. I do not recall a choice stated anywhere. pillows are too soft and i had a stiff neck on my second night...solved by a trip to a spa at one park ave.

That's it! you will no doubt enjoy your stay at GPH. We really did, but felt the nits needed mentioning, just in case, you were like us! - fussy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis_lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Uber cool, unpretentious, decadent hotel with friendly staff and chatty permanent residents and guests. Much friendlier and more relaxed than you would generally expect from a high end hotel. Loved it. And it's within walking distance of so many great places.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philohuntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The staff is incredibly nice, the hotel is one of the most beautiful, artsy hotels in NYC, and the Rose Bar is a great place to begin or end your night in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Had late meeting with clients, therefore had late dinner at Gramercy Terrace, in the Gramercy Park Hotel. Lovely Views. Lamb chops tender, and cooked perfectly, wonderful dessert, had to wait a bit, and not that busy at this time of evening, waitstaff bit slow, other than that, the hotel itself has unusual touches throughout the Hotel, the lightbulb chandelier, the paintings, unusual touches thru out, and brunch on Gramercy terrace, a lovely way to spend the afternoon. Worth a visit.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing