We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #90 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Oasis in Manhattan”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Both being a boutique hotel and not being part of an even upscale hotel chain results in the GPH providing special hospitality and extra touches that make B & Bs so desirable and that corporate-owned properties seem incapable of providing.

These qualities make the GPH the hotel-of-choice for A-to-Z List celebrities, who also enjoy haunting the Rose Bar in the lobby. Learning of Lindsay Lohan and Selena Gomez staying there on separate occasions inspired joking about whether Hillary Duff has ever been a guest.

The GPH experience commences with one of the "nice young men" who are stationed out front warmly greeting you and bringing your luggage to the very welcoming lobby.

The limited outside noises and smells of the upscale neighborhood completely disappear in this space with enough dark wood, stones (including a large fireplace), and dark velvet upholstered furniture to evoke thoughts of a medieval castle. There is also quiet background music and a nice spa-like scent in the air.

The greeting that Joe provided at the well-staffed front desk was so warm that learning that our room was not ready was not at all annoying. Immediately being asked for a cell number to call when the room was ready and having a bellman standing by to store our luggage in the interim further validated this choice of hotel.

This wait paid off with arriving at the indescribably wonderful 750 square-foot Park View Premier Suite, which is twice the size of many New York City apartments.

The nearly sound-proof quality of the suite competed with the elegant furnishings, art from the famous Warhol-centric collection of the GPH, and oodles of extras. A very comfy spa robe/slipper set, a special secondary shower head that came to be known as the "bidet nozzle," and fabled Aesop brand amenities contributed a nice spa-like feel to the space.

Further, the heavy velvet curtains and French doors with thick glass that separated the bedroom and living room areas of the suite allowed watching television without disturbing the nap of my suitemate in the bedroom.

This suite offered the additional benefit of a perfect view of the very serene Gramercy Park itself, use of which is limited to residents of the neighborhood and guests of GPH.

Returning to the room on Saturday night to find turn-down service that included refreshed amenities and a softly burning candle added to the enjoyment of the stay.

This terrific weekend further included a tasty Italian dinner at Maialino in the hotel lobby. The decor was quite nice, but background music and more subtle lighting would have been nice touches.

Our entrees of cod and pasta with pesto were well-prepared and flavorful. Further, we appreciated that our server advised us when ordering that the pasta required a little extra time.

The chocolate croissant bread pudding with hazelnut gelato was slightly disappointing. The bread pudding was less rich than the traditional form of that treat, and the gelato had the almost certainly related flaws of being more creamy and lacking as strong a flavor as true gelato. The fact that the flavor became a little sharper after several minutes suggested as well that it was not being stored at an optimal temperature.

The GPH passed a couple of checkout-related tests the next morning. The clerk politely resolved confusion regarding the bill in our favor, and we learned on contacting the hotel regarding a forgotten personal item that the hotel already mailed it to us.

All of this boils down to the GPH being the perfect choice for NYC visitors who want a conveniently located ideal oasis after enduring the smells, noise, and crowds of that metropolis to enjoy the scads o' well-known and lesser-known treats that more than offset those unpleasant experiences.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Such a pleasure to have connected with you personally regarding your experience at Gramercy! Your feedback truly means a lot, especially coming from a seasoned traveler such as yourself. You are accustomed to great hotels, so ranking so high on your list and reading about your amazing experience is just music to our ears!! Looking forward to welcome you back to the property very soon. Please do keep in touch and let me know when your travels bring you south again.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    260
    104
    50
    32
See reviews for
246
477
92
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is sexy and romantic with timeless, artistically eclectic detailing that fills the senses. Forget the ultra modern...this is richly plush, with a controlled modernism. Wi-fi...no problem. Room service...delicious! Close to anything. A magical location in NYC with VIP access to Gramercy Park, the only private park in the city...absolutely beautiful. A hospitable staff willing to do anything to make your stay comfortable and effortless. A home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrellvirgendotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
So pleased to hear that we are your home away from home, truly means a lot. The property is remarkable on all fronts, design, service and facilities, so I was glad to hear that all worked out so well for you! I see you came to us from Vegas....I lived there for 3 1/2 years....great place, miss the weather! Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out to me directly so that I may personally ensure you are well taken care of again!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had the pleasure to celebrate our marriage 4/25/14 at the Gramercy Park Hotel. Since countless hours of preparing went into making this event possible, I think it would be only most appropriate to take five minutes to write a review about the experience we had at the GPH. "Happy" is an absolute understatement. The entire GPH stuff, from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel until we waved goodby didn't just do what you would expect from a five star hotel. Each and everybody took it on their own to make us feel like a king and queen, always going the extra mile! But there is one person we need to lift above and beyond any praise, and that would be Michelle Condon, the special events manager. Her professionalism, knowledge and work-ethic were the icing on the cake. She was the glue that not only held it all together but most importantly she always was there for us, months in advance, guiding us through the making of a production, only to let it all unfold without the feeling of a production - smooth, magical and exactly what we always had envisioned. We will be carrying the most beautiful memories with us for the rest of our life thanks to the GPH staff and beautiful facilities!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Wow Patricia! Thank you so much for your beautiful words about the team here at Gramercy. The Terrace is such a special space and I am so pleased that you were able to have experienced it for such a special moment in your lives. Michelle was over the moon when I shared with her your feedback about your experience. She has such passion in what she does. Hearing the impact she had on you makes it all worthwhile.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I loved all the attention to detail, from the lighting, scents, bath products, and event the candle that is magically lit on the bedside table every evening. The staff is very nice and helpful. The food is great, each time I have been I opt to enjoy a night in to order room service and just enjoy the comfort of the hotel. I had to take picture of everything before I unpacked to capture how amazing the room looked before I ruined it with toiletries and phone chargers, etc. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for more than a generic hotel experience. The adjacent Gramercy Park is also a great perk, I had a lovely moment eating lunch outside on a bench, next to blooming flowers in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Room with view of Gramercy Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Csilla - Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback about Gramercy. I am over joyed with your excitement about the property. The rooms and ambiance are unique, unlike anything I have every experienced. The team throughout the property work really hard to deliver memorable experiences, so hearing of your enjoyment is music to my ears!! Looking forward to make Gramercy your new home in NYC!!

Until Next Time,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a quick one night stay for my birthday and was reasonably impressed with this hotel. Firstly the service of the concierge is brilliant, they are super friendly, very helpful on the phone (so I was told by my girlfriend who booked) and extremely efficient. We were checked-in under 5min and checked out even quicker at the end of our stay. Having stayed in many hotels i wasn't overly impressed with the room, it was nice but not outstanding. We were given a nice view of Gramercy Park and the mini bar is overstocked with premium liquor. A very nice touch was the birthday cake and bottle of champaign which was bought to the room not long after we got there! "Thanks"

The hotel restaurant is amazing! The food quality was second to none, I had dinner (italian), brunch / breakfast and was very happy with both meals. The hotel also has a really nice exclusive lounge called the 'Rose Bar' which was a very overpriced cocktail bar... but it didn't surprise me, the words exclusive, cocktails and New York = expensive. Either way the DJ was cranking the tunes and the room was filled with people and it was a lot of fun. My personally favourite advantage of the hotel was access into Gramercy Park.

Overall It was a good experience and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park and put your name down when booking the room for the guest li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Josh - Thank you for sharing your feedback on the property. Sounds like the service you experienced was outstanding, always a plus and the team did a great job recognizing your birthday with a beautiful amenity sent to your room along with a nice room overlooking the park. I was rather surprised to see that you did not find our room to your liking, certainly the bohemian design may not be for everyone, although we feel as though our amenities inside the room are 5 star caliber. Add to that your window overlooking the only private park in New York city on a quiet tree lined street....again, I am sorry that you did not find it to your liking.
Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out to me so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

With a master fireplace in the lobby, scented candles everywhere, subdued light and atmosphere, and comfortable-but-a-bit-cramped rooms, I found this hotel perfect for winter in the big apple. Unfortunately, there is no more access to the terrace lounge - but you can still go the next door private park, and sip some drinks at the fancy pink bar. Service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSwissTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Winter at Gramercy.....Can't think of a better spot! The warmth of our massive fireplace in the lobby and Rose Bar, certainly greet you from the winter cold in fashion! Add to that the aroma of the wood burning and our signature scent "cade 26".....glad to hear it was to your liking. My apologies you did not find the space in our rooms to your liking.....we have a variety of room layouts. I recommend looking into our Lexington premier rooms or park suites, which would tend to have the added space you may be looking for.
Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out to me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just great feeling, will for sure return here, I was here both in business and with my family and it was a perfect match. If something would be different taken care of is the breakfast which is only servered in the room, it can sounds good but for a family its much better to eat outside the room.
However GPH is just perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms at Gramercy Park is important choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Henrik - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were so happy to hear about your outstanding experience. Gramercy truly is that great mix of business and pleasure. I see that you enjoyed breakfast via In Room Dining, the egg sandwich is my favorite! We actually also have a restaurant on site as well. I know you mentioned there was not, perhaps you may have been mistaken with another property? Maialino, our 3 meal a day venue, is amazing. The is out of this world! In fact their breakfast is voted "Top 5" in New York city! Looking forward to welcome you back to the property very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
972 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
1,476 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,654 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
960 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing