We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #87 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been travelling to NYC 2 to 3 times a month for over a year. This is my favorite place yet! It was sexy! It is just posh and cool enough, while being in a great NYC neighborhood without all of the hustle and bustle of the typical wall to wall tourist. There were great neighborhood restaurants and private parks nearby. Not to mention, my favorite, was the staff. Excellent! There is nothing that irritates me more than to walk into a NYC hotel and their nose turn up because the staff does not recognize me. The staff was amazing. The staff was as kind and generous to me as they were to the famous faces walking in from their stretch limos. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juwalser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Wow! What great feedback...we are truly humbled by your comments. The team here at Gramercy is what makes the property so special. Sure the location is amazing and the place is out of this world, but the team really brings this property to life. Recognizing your return to the hotel....that is just what we do! Everyone is a VIP here at Gramercy. Looking forward to welcome you back to the property very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    258
    103
    49
    32
See reviews for
242
471
92
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise with it's beautiful, rustic-chic and unique decor. The staff were attentive to our needs and had nice special touches such as lit candles and a forecast of the next day's weather with our turn down service. Also, access to Gramercy Park is quite a treat to enjoy the beautiful private park at your leisure. The room was cozy and stayed cool and dark to make for perfect sleeping conditions and the location made it so easy to get to our destinations throughout the weekend. All-in-all, a fabulous experience and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504Lauren504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
So pleased to hear that you connected with the design and experience here at Gramercy. The Private Park is a huge plus, glad you were able to make it in during your visit. It all comes down to a good nights sleep and there's nothing like peace and quiet. So pleased to hear you had such a great time with us. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy for another great weekend!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is billed as a five star property. If you are expecting a five star hotel you will be horrified. The travel agent described it as resembling an old castle. It had more the appearance of a cross between a run down barn and a bordello. it was not shabby chic: it was plain shabby, musty, worn and a total dump. It had the look and feel of a hotel that had little if any upkeep. Everything was old, scratched, dented, dirty and smelled bad. The wood floors were so beat up that I remarked that it looked like at horse had been in the room.

There are many lovely true five star hotels in NYC and many four star hotels that are far nicer than Gramercy Park. Unless you are a very unusual person who likes to pay five star prices for a very run down mess of a hotel, do not ruin even one night in NYC with this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello vldavis - thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback, I only wished you took the time to share your feedback while here on property so that myself or one of our team members could have walked you through the design concept and property narrative of The Gramercy Park Hotel. Following the property tour, I am confident you would have found many of the complex design elements to be intriguing, rather then being horrified as you clearly shared.
Having originally opened in 1924, Academy Award winning designer Julian Schnabel reimagined the property's timeless design in a bohemian flair while retaining some of the storied elements of Gramercy's colorful past. After all, the property was the early residence of former President Kennedy and shared the matrimony of Humphrey Bogart. You mentioned about the feeling of a Barn when you entered the property. Tying into the mid 19th century history, the 2 story massive columns in the lobby are actually wrapped with reclaimed wood from American farm houses of that era, tying in the old charm that was Gramercy. Add in the 20+ft hand blown Murano Glass chandelier and it makes for quite the impressive entry into the property. I'm not sure if you had a chance to enjoy our art collection, but the contemporary masterworks throughout the property are valued at over $45 million. Schnabel's vision was marrying the old with the new in a timeless award winning design, unlike any other hotel. While we work hard to maintain the property's look, the overall design is supposed to give off the "worn in" look. Hence the reclaimed wood and imported Moroccan tiles, showcasing imperfections as a part of the design. Sort of like your favorite pair of jeans....clearly t shiny and new, but gives a sense of that "just right" feeling. That is the essence of what Gramercy is all about. The warmth, the welcome and the sense of ease as you slip into your guestroom. Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, myself or anyone on the team would be happy to walk you through the property's narrative and design concept. Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Funny thing: this hotel has transformed itself just as I have (I hope). They tell me I was born here. Who knows? It used to be a dump - a bohemian dump. Cracked windows held together with Scotch tape and roaches parading in and out of the walls. No room service back then.
But now? I recently wanted to spend some time there and was dumbfounded that the place had become a boutique hotel + a fancy hip bar and Thai restaurant on the top floor ! Wow.
I was impressed back then and am even better impressed now. One of the MUST stay hotels of New York - much in the line of the Chelsea. Location could not be better: steps away from Union Square and the East Village and steps away from Midtown Manhattan.
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

Room Tip: Location could not be better: steps away from Union Square and the East Village and steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Wow!! Thanks Gerald!! Nothing like a pleasant surprise. So pleased to have delivered such an impressive experience for you. The history of Gramercy is still a true part of this hotel. Former residence of an early President Kennedy, marriage place of Humphrey Bogart and the old stomping ground for Babe Ruth....Lets not forget of course the 80's when Every Rock star made their way through Gramercy! Truly...If these walls could talk?!?! So pleased you had such a great time here and I look forward for you to experience Gramercy for another great weekend.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great for drinks -rose or jade bar, great for hip date dinner at Maialino, and the rooms are fabulous- romantic but edgy, retro hipster style ambience and decor, It manages a great balance of people who live in the city as well as tourists. Great brunch too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happilywanderlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
So pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy drinks and bunch at the hotel....2 things we really do well here at gramercy, not to mention the fabulous décor and service!! So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself at the property. Certainly a great destination not only for out of towners, but for the New York Locals as well!! We're like a staple here in New York City....Gramercy and Rose Bar are part of the City's DNA! Looking forward to welcome you back for another amazing weekend.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am one of the most discriminating clients anyone can have or fear. This hotel is simply superb! From their manager Daniel Entenberg whom displays the highest levels of personal attention to every detail and his great team that work tirelessly to make certain every guest is truly special. As for the property and location there are no words other then magnificence!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dytuhgfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I too am speechless! Thank you so much for your praise and admiration for Gramercy. Working here is truly a passion for all of us and seeing our guests as happy as you makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the property. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic. They've thought of everything. The room, linens, bath products...all amazing. The 2 hotel bars are the best. Outstanding drinks, great bartender. Maialino restaurant does a great weekend brunch, or go in earlier for coffee and pastries. Dinner there is great too. Wonderful location on the park - make sure to visit.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street - you can be over the park, street, or interior courtyard and it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 264melk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Mel! Thank you so much for sharing. So pleased to hear how much you loved the property. Glad you enjoyed the bath products as we just launched them in January and partnered with AESOP, a high end skin care company out of Australia, their products are amazing! We try to think ahead so all that is left is for you to relax and enjoy when you're here at Gramercy! Maialino is amazing, so I am glad you were able to enjoy the brunch....which is actually rated as one of the TOP 5 breakfast spots in the City!! Looking forward to welcome you back for another fabulous weekend here at Gramercy.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 468 in New York City
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#56 of 468 in New York City
812 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
944 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing