We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, quiet rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #90 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I find myself staying in Manhattan frequently and The Gramercy Park is one of my "go-to" hotels. If there is a new luxury hotel opening in NY, I'm there. However Gramercy Park is a constant for me because their back suites are very quiet and private. You would never know you are in the middle if Manhattan. If you are a light sleeper, this is your hotel! The suites are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are in need of a renovation. Maialino Restaurant is a must and The Rose Bar is a definite hotspot. Service is always excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Consistency is key in our service delivery here at the Gramercy Park Hotel, this is what drives our loyalty and customer base here at the property. Our guests return time and time again, to reconnect with the colored history of Gramercy and be a part of one of the most unique and special places that NYC has to offer. Tranquility in the city that never sleeps....well that's actually possible here at Gramercy. Tucked away in a residential area, on a tree lined street, but just a block from the action....you really get the best of both worlds here at Gramercy.
Looking forward to welcome you back for another great weekend here at the Gramercy Park Hotel.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    251
    100
    49
    31
See reviews for
236
462
91
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Comfortable, well located hotel with excellent, unpretentious staff. Highly recommended. Be sure to check out "owners only" Gramercy Park of which the hotel has a key. The history and elegance of this hotel make it a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Les! Such a pleasure to have read your wonderful feedback this morning. The team here at Gramercy is truly special. They work very hard to deliver special experiences to each and every guest that stays with us. They are humble about what they do and gravitate to their passion of hospitality. Checking out the only private park in NYC, Gramercy Park, is a must when staying here with us. Only the buildings right on the park have access to this unique and special garden, so exclusivity is an understatement! Looking forward to welcome you back for another great weekend here at Gramercy!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The rooftop terrace at The Gramercy Park Hotel is the most beautiful space in all of New York City! We recently hosted my sister’s engagement party at the Gramercy Terrace and it was the most gorgeous summer evening. The wonderful atmosphere, candles, strings of lights, open air and of course the amazing sunset over the Chrysler Building, made for a perfect setting. We could not have pulled off this party without the help of Kay. Her professionalism and ability to understand exactly what we wanted to achieve, made the event planning so much easier. I do not have enough positive things to say about how helpful she was throughout the entire process. The entire staff was wonderful . Kay met me one evening to show me how the space will be setup and she also took the time to suggest which menu options would be the best choice for our guests. Everyone could not stop talking about what a memorable evening it was. I highly recommend hosting an event at the Gramercy Park Hotel. It was a night that my family will remember forever!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CS8587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, Kay C, Special Events Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us and for your kind comments! Our event team takes great pride in making every event on the Gramercy Terrace a memorable experience. We are honored to have had such a wonderful impact on both you and your sister, for her special day. It was an absolute pleasure working with you! I hope we will have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future.

Thank You,

Kay Chittiappa
Event Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stay here every summer.Our travel agent booked through Signature Program, which gave us an upgraded room and great amenities. Loved our room, had a great meal at Maialino in the hotel, which the concierge was kind enough to book us. Had a drink at the funky hotel bar after dinner-all in all a wonderful stay. Great service across the boards-from reception, to bellman, to housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Linda! Thank you for the great feedback! Always a pleasure to have you back with us for the traditional summer escape! Gramercy is a special place, so I am glad to hear that you connected with the property. Maialino is fabulous, so pleased that you were able to enjoy it! Did you know we actually had a surprise dinner guest just a couple months ago....President Obama and the first lady arrived unannounced for dinner with a couple friends....what a treat having the President in for dinner! Looking forward to welcome you back for another trip to Gramercy!!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I love the hotel itself - rooms are really special, comfortable and different than anything else you'll find in NY.
The bar and the restaurant attached add alot to the experience. Everyone from the front desk to the manager to folks at the bar are wonderful - first class.

had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Wow thanks Tom! Appreciate the great feedback about the property. You are absolutely right, Gramercy is indeed very different, unlike any other property. From the design, to the history, sprinkle ion our $45M art collection and add that personalized service we have become known for....well that's quite the experience! Looking forward to welcome you back for another outstanding weekend here at Gramercy Park!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I travel extensively both for work and pleasure and have never left a comment on Trip Advisor.I recently stayed at the GPH and cannott recommend it enough .It is a true oasis of tranquililty in the heart of the World's most bustling city .
What really stood out for me (apart form the cool rooms and relaxed bar) was the concerigee's knowledge and contacts .I've been to Manhattan many times and feel I know the city reasonably well so I was looking for something a little "off piste".After spending a while talking to her we agreed on venues for dinner and drinks .At short notice on a Saturday night both a table and entry were secured .It was my wife's first trip to New York and the staff at GPH helped make it a memorable one.Sincere Thanks .

Room Tip: Spent a little extra -its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the Great feedback Roy! Finding tranquility in New York city is not an easy task to accomplish....of course staying at Gramercy, you get just that! So pleased to hear you had such a great experience with us, especially since it was your wife's first time in the Big Apple! Looking forward to welcome the 2 of you back for another fabulous NYC escape! Until Next Time....

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I make frequent business trips from my home in San Francisco to New York City where my employer and job is based. I'd grown accustomed to staying at another property close to my office but this particular week, that hotel was sold out. While initially disappointed, it just goes to show that things happen for a reason! I stayed at the Gramercy and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment I checked in until the moment I checked out, I was treated with just the right balance of professionalism and a personal touch. My room was well-appointed and comfortable. There was just enough urban buzz in the lounge off the lobby, which I enjoyed one evening. When I walked out of the hotel each morning for the office, I was sent off with a friendly "Have a great day" from the doorman. I felt like I was leaving my home each morning! The Gramercy will now be my home-away-from-home in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Gordon....Some things are just meant to be! I am overjoyed that you were able to stumble upon Gramercy, the property is truly an insider gem! The artistic flair the property has, the activation of the Rose Bar and of course Maialino....how can you beat Gramercy! I truly hope that you have discovered your new home and please keep the communication flowing. Myself and the team here at Gramercy are at your service. Feel free to reach out with any needs for your next NYC escape. Happy to welcome your colleagues as well, we will be sure to look after them!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing