We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Lombardy(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Carvi Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Delmonico(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,410)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveller rating
461
526
263
90
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
526
263
90
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopia restaurantcentral parkaveda productsthe concierge loungenew yorkmarriott propertychrysler buildingcozy roomlexington avenuerooftop terracerooms are smalljunior suiteupper east sidetwo blockscorner roomlocation is greattimes square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,410 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights, and was very happy with the choice. Location is great, close to Bloomingdale´s, Fifth Ave and Central Park. Subway station close by, and some nice restaurants as well.

We got a nice corner room, which was modern and nice. A small room, but nicely decorated. Large shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Renaissance. Valet curb drop off of my car and a fast and wonderful check in by Harrison. He was wonderful and welcoming and was able to help with changing our accomodations to meet our needs. We were in for the Voices Against Brain Tumors walk and we shared stories about brain tumors effecting our families. We tried to get him a Tee shirt...but couldnt:(. Our room was on the 12th floor, great view, great space and bathroom, very clean and we had a sofa which was made up for us upon a phone call so we could use it as a couch until we needed it for sleeping. We were with a fairly large group and Harrison even remembered someone's name in the group. I would highly recommend it. After reading Tripadvisor before booking it, I would definitely agree with the other reviews to request a high floor. They have double paned glass in all the windows now, but the high floors are quieter. The corner rooms are great, the sofa is comfortable, beds were comfortable, use your AAA rate if they have the rooms to save, concierge suggestion of the sophia wine bar to meet up with friends was perfect between where they stayed and the hotel. Hotel is spotless and very convenient for leaving bags after check out, calling 30 mins before departure for car to be brought around, assistance with luggage to the curb...Perfect! Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Renaissance New York Hotel 57! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate New York experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the carriage house suite, this is a room on the 4th (top) floor of the little townhouse at the corner of the hotel. I guess when the hotel was built the owner of the townhouse wouldn't sell and the hotel had to be built around it, pretty cool and not an unusual NYC strategy. Starting from checkin, it was a bit disappointing that there is no doorman, so we had to drag and wrestle our bags through the manual door. If there's no doorman can't you have automated sliding doors? That would make arriving a lot easier! The lobby is chic with lots of blown glass and trendy furniture, the small hotel restaurant is right there as well as a really nice club lounge. The club lounge is awesome, lots of private areas to sit, a great Jura automatic espresso machine that will make everything from a double espresso to latte to cappucino. Don't bother with the food, you're in NYC and you can do much better.

The actual suite is really cool, there's a wall of exposed brick in the sitting area, a desk, two cool leather egg-type chairs, a clean-lined sofabed, lots of lighting. One of the bulbs in the recessed lighting was out. There are pocket doors with frosted glass to close off the bedroom. The bed was really great, we were entirely comfy sleeping in the next morning. Windows have plantation shutters, nice homey touch. The bathroom is brand new and very nice, no separate area for the toilet but that's not a very big deal. No rain head in the shower but I thought it was fine. The Aveda products were good.

My reading light had fallen out of its hole in the headboard. But the main issue we faced on a super cold night was the heat was broken. It stayed just warm enough to sleep comfortably, the next day we had engineering come and they put in small space heaters that worked very well. But couldn't have someone noticed this before we checked in? I just felt there wasn't great attention to detail about the room condition/upkeep. Also, we went out for a long while from late morning to mid-afternoon but maid service did not come. I called and asked that they please strive to get the room cleaned while we went out for dinner and opera, when we returned it was finally clean. But I felt in an expensive, pretty high end hotel they should have gotten the room cleaned the first go-round. That would NEVER have happened at the St. Regis. Even the Mariott in El Paso I stay at for business can clean the room over the hour I'm out for a late lunch.

There was free bottled water in the lobby, that was good, doesn't paying for bottled water in the room drive you crazy? The location is really good, a two block walk to the subway, close to Bloomingdales, Central Park, Madison Ave shopping, etc. We were doing some uptown activities and some downtown so having a midtown base worked out great.

Overall, paying $620 a night for a stylish, spacious suite like this was really an exceptional value. I really loved the boutique/arty design of the hotel, fits in really nicely with Manhattan. The rooftop bar has drop-dead views of the Chrysler building and a good view of the Citicorp building. So, I wouldn't put this up against St. Regis, Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons, but it was also about 1/2 the price. On balance I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked the suite in the townhouse
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesR36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with two great friends for a quick two day vacation. The hotel lobby is a little small and the elevators can be slow, but overall the experience was great. The room was quite large with an amazing little balcony overlooking some of the best parts of NYC. Just around the corner there is shopping, coffee shops, yummy bakeries, and so much more. If you have the option, get the balcony, because it is worth the views!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearecured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a boutique hotel by Marriott, so the rooms are tiny, but very comfortable! Pricey, yes, but the location was worth it. The staff are all friendly and very helpful with directions and recommendations for dining. Our room was on the 7th floor, facing 57th...noisy street traffic. Rooms on the other side would have been quieter. We were comped a nice breakfast at the Opia restaurant, inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from 57th and Lexington to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews