We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Ranked #349 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Did a getaway for the NYC Food & Wine Festival and chose this place being I'm a Marriott member and it's proximate location to festivities. Close to the subways and good walking distance to the major attractions for us. Walking in we were greeted nicely and informed of all the hotel offered and it's unique layout. When you walk in off the street there's only 2 check in counters and elevator bank. The lobby is on the second floor where the concierge is located along with the bar/restaurant. We got a junior suite (I think she called it that) corner room that is slightly larger than a regular room, square footage still isn't huge since it is NYC after all. The room is nicely laid out with a big updated bathroom, large all tile, glass walled shower, and Aveda products. The king size bed was incredibly comfortable as most Renaissance properties are. There is the club lounge up on the top that has a great view of the Chrysler building and city plus there's a bar up there and outdoor couches. Unfortunately it started raining the one night we had a chance to use it.
If we're back in NYC we'd most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: It helps to be a Marriott elite member to get a "bigger" room but in NYC most rooms are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestressedA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose this hotel based upon it's location and we like staying in boutique hotels. The hotel was nice and the room was very cramped, but adequate. That was the good part of our three night stay. The first full day we were there, when we came back to the room at 4PM housekeeping had not been in the room. We called down to the desk and they assured us since housekeeping was there until 6 PM our room would be cleaned. We returned to our room later that night at 11PM and the room hadn't been touched. Instead someone had dropped off a gift of candied popcorn with an apology note. If they came in the room to drop that off they could have cleaned the room! We then called and went down to the desk again and housekeeping then cleaned the room at 11:30PM. They also advertised a concierge lounge for Marriott platinum members. They didn't have breakfast or the drinks and appetizers later in the day. It was often closed, ran out of coffee at 9AM and the staff was extremely unaccommodating. This was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had when travelling with the US and Canada. This is inexcusable especially in NY.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 602JGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate the detailed review. The experience you described surly does not meet our standards and I am sorry for your frustration. Partners like you help us improve every day as we share the feedback with our associates in a training environment.

We hope to welcome you back to demonstrate the qualities of the Renaissance hotel that you expected. If I can ever personally assist you with your next visit please feel free to contact me directly at manny.rappenecker@renaissancehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

From the first opening of the door from our friend Pernell, Renaissance 57th is a great stay! Our fifth trip back to R57 and we won't be changing locations as long as the same people are there to make our stay so fun (we've stayed in about 5 other hotels several times in the area). We love R57...bar staff always makes our stay comfortable, friendly yet professional. This year we did one night on our own the other through the concierge for dinner, we got exactly what we described that we wanted for dinner.
Arranging town-car service is always a breeze. Umbrellas when it's raining. Need something for the room, ask and in less then ten minutes it's there. SERVICE at it's best.
We've stayed in pretty much ever level room they have to offer from the COZY to the Penthouse. Even the COZY room isn't all that cozy (as in small), it's NYC small but plenty of space for your stuff. Most importantly it's always clean.
Can't wait to see them again soon...

Room Tip: Higher the better as far as noise but that's anywhere in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natorzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Renaissance New York Hotel 57! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate New York experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review! I can ever personally assist you with your next visit please feel free to contact me directly at manny.rappenecker@renaissancehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Immediately upon our arrival at the hotel, the pleasant surprises began. While I had requested a corner room at booking, when we checked in we were quickly upgraded to the Terrace Room on the 17th floor. The room also had a balcony. The room was very clean and served our needs very well. It was quite comfortable and despite having a terrace and balcony, we did not hear the outside noise once the doors were closed. Although we had been warned that the elevators were slow, we did not encounter any problems during our stay. The staff were exceptional. We were always greeted with a smile and a sincere greeting. This also included the staff at the hotel bar, The Opia, which served as our "night cap" location during our stay. Personally, I was amazed and thrilled with the staff's knowledge of their city. Regardless of who I asked, I was always provided with detailed yet easy to follow information in response to my questions. The location, Lexington and 57th, was ideal for our visit. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants or attractions. Also close to the subway if you wish to go further or simply do not want to walk. Or the staff will eagerly get you a cab. We have stayed at more luxurious, larger and much more expensive hotels in our travels. Yet, no where have we encountered the level of staff service that we encountered at the Renaissance Hotel 57. It is said that when you start at the top, there is only one way to go. Hopefully this will not be the case here as we plan our next trip to NYC, and once again stay at the Renaissance Hotel 57. After our experience during this trip, there is no other place that we will even consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Ang057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Room was small, but all rooms in NYC are small. We got a queen bed for my wife and I and they provided a roll away free of charge for my daughter. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was tile and granite and also very clean. The common areas were comfortable with a modern feel. The bar was expensive but the drinks were tasty and they have plenty of variety available.

The hotel is placed conveniently close to Central Park, and a lots of shopping including FAO Schwarz. Rockafeller center is also close, and times square is only about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a roll away, no charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family really enjoyed staying at this NYC hotel. The rooms were cozy (read: small) but typical for NYC. Everything was in great condition and well kept. The staff in the lobby, including the concierge, front desk, and bar/lounge were amazing. Friendly, helpful, cheerful and pleasant - made the hotel feel like a home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a desk - some just have a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here several years ago when it was offering bargain basement rates as an introductory promotion. It's still a very nice, trendy high end hotel in a good mid-town location. But, where else can you get a boxed travel size of name brand toothpaste as part of your bathroom toiletries? My husband and I are pretty seasoned travelers but this was a first for us. And, even better was the attentive service of a group of staff who seemed eager to please. We were particularly impressed with Daniel the bell man. We were very late for an appointment and after explaining our situation to him he literally jumped into Lexington Avenue traffic ( which is around the corner from the entrance to the hotel) to apprehend a speeding taxi for us. We made it with minutes to spare and when we returned, to a warm smile from him. Who says that New Yorkers aren't good to tourists?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your posting - so happy that you enjoyed the toothpaste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#242 of 473 in New York City
3,820 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#85 of 473 in New York City
780 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#288 of 473 in New York City
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#49 of 473 in New York City
1,387 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#328 of 473 in New York City
5,164 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#181 of 473 in New York City
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2726
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance New York Hotel 57 is a recently renovated Midtown Manhattan boutique hotel that has unveiled a couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. We offer comfort and style in one of NYC's most sophisticated neighborhoods close to top New York City attractions like Fifth Avenue and Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing