We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Ranked #292 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We'll definitely stay here again, location was perfect!

The room was small maybe even borderline cramped BUT well planned and nicely appointed. The bathroom was surprising large considering the room size, it too was nicely appointed; almost spa-like. Great view!

Public spaces are trendy but small, this isn't a hotel one "explores."

Plenty of room for 1, a little tight for 2 but I still highly recommend the property because of its location!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank atlblakek86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    493
    230
    68
    49
See reviews for
235
455
97
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, lots of shopping in the area and close to the subway. The room was very small, but were nice. The roof top had a bar/ lounge with great views of the New York skyline. Free wifi available in the lobby only. My overall was it was good but not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEUCE05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We're delighted you've enjoyed your stay. Although you've rated your stay with us as satisfactory, we will use your feedback to make sure we do all in our power to wow you on your next visit . Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Hotel 57.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Subway is only a couple of blocks away and buses are right outside, so you can get anywhere in the city from this hotel. Easy walk to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The Palace Restaurant next door has very friendly employees and good food...loved the coffee in the morning. The hotel has wonderful, friendly doormen, concierge and housekeeping -- the front desk employees left a lot to be desired. Front desk is at street level and the employees looked and acted bored most of the time. You must take an elevator from the street level one floor to the lobby...then walk across the lobby to another elevator which takes you to your room. Everything is very dark and unwelcoming but the concierge in the lobby always had a smiling face and was very helpful, especially Jason -- we thank you! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a King room which was quite large and had plenty of closet space. The bathroom was nicely appointed and had a large shower....wish there were more grab bars in the shower....only one near the controls which was rather useless. Beware the shower is slippery. The bed, bedding and pillows were extremely comfortable and we appreciated being on the 10th floor -- no outside noise at all. The room had a coffeemaker but the coffee was terrible -- this hotel needs to find a better coffee supplier. We went next door to the Palace for coffee every morning and were greeted with smiles and cheerful faces. The room was very clean and we were happy to tip housekeeping every day for a job well done.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and there was no outside noise. King rooms are wonderful with a futon-typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Greetings-

Thank you for taking the time out to review your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your experince and I a glad that our staff was able to meet and or exceed your expectations. I will follow-up on the other items you mentioned.

Thanks again!

#Live Life to Discover

Monique Hudson
Director of Hotel Operations
monique.hudson@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We go to NYC every year and usually stay a couple nights, so we've been around Manhattan a few times and have tried various areas and hotels. The R57 is not a bad choice for a 4-Star hotel, but can certainly improve in some areas.

We stayed with a 1-year old baby and had a room big enough for a crib. Rooms were clean and nothing disgusting was visible or jumped out at us. It was well decorated, warm, quiet, and typically a little smaller than normal as expected for NYC standards.

Location is good and just a few blocks away from all the craziness that is New York. A quick $5-$10 taxi ride from the hotel gets you just about anywhere you want on the island. Staff can certainly be better and appeared "robotic" which is fine since we don't come for the staff but it didn't help create a nice atmosphere in any way.

The hidden gem of this hotel is actually the roof top patio which seems to only open at night and the gym which is surprisingly nice. Unfortunately, I did not discover the gym until later on in my stay. Free WiFi in the lobby is nice but the $20/day room internet is still ridiculous! Prepare for a packed lobby with very limited chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Greetings-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you recommend our hotel.

When your travels bring you back to the New York area please feel free to contact me I would love to invite you back to enjoy a complimentary beverage on the rooftop.

Thanks again

Monique Hudson
Director of Hotel Operations
monique.hudson@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Rooms were well appointed. Bed was comfortable. Room did smell of after shave/cleaning solution. Front desk staff were great. Restaurant was nice but the food was overpriced and bland. Service was average. Staff was less than service minded and some struggled with english. Restaurant is privately owned. All in all i will stay again but eat elsewhere. Btw rooftop terrace closes at 11pm which is a pitty.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Greetings-

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us, we truly appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, you mentioned that you were not as happy with your service in the Restaurant. I will share your feedback with the Restaurant team so that they can make improvements were needed.

Thank you again for your feedback!

#Live Life to Discover

Monique Hudson
Director of Hotel Operations
monique.hudson@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel saw us experience a wonderful 'white Xmas' in NYC.
We stayed in a wonderful 2 bedroom area. Separated by an access door and totally secure. We have 2 kids (11 yo & 8 yo) and this allowed a room for them with ensuite and a room for us.
The location was fabulous. Around the corner from Bloomingdales and close to Times Square.
I would happily recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again soon.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank frazelledmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Greetings-

Thank you for taking the time to review your December stay with us, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our team is happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and we look forwarding to hosting your family again when your travels bring you back in to the New York area.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance.

#Live Life to Discover

Monique Hudson
Director of Hotel Operations
monique.hudson@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night last week while visiting NYC. Although the hotel is located near Lexington and E. 57th street, it is a bit of a walk to the Time Square and Theatre District area.

The receptionist at check-in was very nice and polite, however some misinformation and miscommunication was given that we found out later. Upon check-in and because of my elite Marriott status, she told us of complimentary drinks on the 18th floor lounge along with complimentary breakfast in the morning in the restaurant on the 2nd floor. What she did not tell us was that the complimentary drink was for just one of us, which was surprising and a bit awkward. In addition, the breakfast was a continental style breakfast located in a specific room, and not a full breakfast in their main restaurant. I do not believe she purposely mislead us, but she definitely was not clear and thorough when checking us in.

Our room on the 16th floor was nice and modern, and we had a very nice view of the Chrysler Building, however the TV did not work and we had to have maintenance come to the room to fix the problem. There was also one elevator out of service (out of 3) so the wait was a bit long at times.

With so many great choices of hotels to choose form in NYC, I do not think I will pick this place again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhotel57, Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent experience at our hotel.
Please accept my apologies for the miscommunication from our staff which ultimately caused you an unpleasant experience.

When your travels bring you back to New York I hope that you give us another opportunity to WOW you.

Please feel free to contact me at monique.hudson@renaissancehotels.com if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy Hotel
The Lombardy Hotel
#268 of 468 in New York City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 468 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#227 of 468 in New York City
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Property: Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2726
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing