We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #214 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a great stay. Clean. We didn't stay in the room that much but it slept well. Walks right out to Times Square.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clipcox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Clipcox2:

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear you had such a great stay and enjoyed the views and our location.

I hope you'll stay with us the next time business brings you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. Used Marriott points. Room was nice, very good kitchen facilities in the room. Bathroom was small and water pressure in shower wasn't great. Great view from room of Empire State Building and skyline. Neighborhood ok, about four blocks from Times Square.
Pros: location, value, view, size of room, friendliness of staff;
Cons: small bathroom, free breakfast VERY crowded to the point is wasn't worth going to; elevators completely jammed up at breakfast time.
SUMMARY- good hotel experience. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaelnwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Michaelnwhite:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly, location convenient, and rooms accommodating.

Our breakfast can become crowded on the weekends. Elevator delays are common on the weekends as well. I’m sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. It seems most guests sit for breakfast around the same time and leave for the day shortly after. We try our best to educate guests on potential crowding so that they can plan accordingly. Its sounds like you saw the worst of it being a holiday weekend.

Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your future visit.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I visited New York after 13 years again and wanted to stay in a hotel close to all attractions. This hotel is going to be definitely my choice for my next visit to NYC. Here some details.

Room:
As usual in Residence Inn the room comes with a small kitchenette and a huge fridge to keep all your drinks. The room was quite big for a hotel in Manhattan. I liked the bathroom ameneties - usually you find these ones only in saloons. Free wireless internet was very fast!

Breakfast:
BF had a good variety of offer from pancake to croissants. But it was as the hotel was fully booked always crowded.

Location:
Located between the 6th Avenue and 39th street it is the best location. Very close to Times Square and the subway stations it is central to all your destinations in Manhattan.

Car parking:
I mad a mistake and came with a car, the valet parking costs 56$ a day! But I heard that this is usual in New York.

Price:
As I searched for price comparisons in Manhattan and found out that there is no room cheaper than 350$. Therefore the price was ok for Manhattan. If you want to stay cheaper than I recommend to stay in New Jersey that has good bus connections to the city.

Room Tip: High floors might be a bit better than lower floors to see the 6th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Wolfgang_Frankfurt:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. It's nice to hear you returned to New York after so many years and had such a great experience! I hope you'll stay with us again soon. Next time be sure to leave the car at home!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was here for ten days, mostly on business that was spread out around the city. This is one of the smallest Residence Inn rooms I have been in, but it is large for a NY hotel room. My room on the 11th floor had a great view of the Empire State Building, but not all rooms would have that. The positives: 2 minute walk to Bryant Park/42nd street station, about five minutes to Times Square station, Good breakfast, Full sized frig, safe big enough for your laptop, comfy bed. Negatives: the curved rod on the shower made the bathroom even more crowded when the door was opened, during busy tmes you could wait up to 10-15 minutes for elevator, and the night snacks were minimal (had much more of a spread at other Residence Inns), and would have loved a small desk for my laptop instead of the kitchen bar. I stayed on a discounted promo, so I am not sure that I would pay full price for the room; however, I would stay here again if I could have that same rate. The concierge (Judy) was helpful with directions and arranging car pickups. There is a Pret a Manger on the corner across from the hotel for sandwiches and a small market next to the hotel on that side as well. Bryant Park is a great place for a little sunshine (when it is not raining) and it is about a half of a mile to Penn Station and to Grand Central as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the Empire State Building for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear TravelTexan1:

Thank you for posting your review of my hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that we were able to meet your travel needs and you enjoyed our full complimentary breakfast and convenience location. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Judy as well.

For future reference, some of our rooms do have a lower desk, rather than the counter height table. You can always request one on your next visit. Thank you for posting a photo of the view from your window!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We just returned from our weekend stay in NYC and stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square. While I must say that the staff was friendly and room clean, I cannot give this hotel high reviews. I had book two rooms for our girls weekend away, celebrating my niece's 21st birthday. I had requested 2 rooms next to each other and a view. We ended up on the 8th floor, a hallway away from each other, and a view of the gravel parking lot below. Our kitchen light did not work our alarm clock did not show the time even after adjusted the dimmer switch. The bathroom set up was difficult to move in and only two tiny bottles of shampoo and conditioner were provided. No lotion or shower cap, which I always thought were standard. While these aren't big things, I was disappointed when I spent over $500 per room for a standard room with 2 double beds. The room was clean, and they had left a cupcake upon arrival for my niece which was a thoughtful, but in no way did this hotel meet my expectations for the price we paid. We have stayed at Staybridge Suites for half the price per room and double the ammenities. I also have to comment that the breakfast selection was average, but there was not enough staff to keep up with the amount of people. I only saw one staff member clearing plates from tables. It was a complete turnoff to see dirty plates and bowls of half eaten cereal and oatmeal all over the place including tables, end tables, etc. A trash can was placed near where you picked up your plate-a huge turnoff. Other negatives included waiting over 20 minutes for an elevator in the morning. Since we were only on the 8th floor, we took the stairs, but we heard many other guests complaining of a wait over 40 minutes. It seemed that all four elevators were not working. I consider myself to have average standards as a consumer. I am not overly picky and feel I always give an honest review. Bottom line, I expect far more for $500 a night for a standard room. I would not stay here again at that rate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear kert1:

I'm so sorry to hear that you have a less than favorable impression of my hotel. I’d like to take a few moments to address your concerns.

Our rates are actually extremely competitive with most comparable hotels in the area. It sounds as though you stayed over a busy weekend when all rates in the city were significantly higher. May is traditionally a very busy month with most colleges graduating within days of one another.

We do try our very best to accommodate all requests prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, the room types you had booked (studio suites with two double beds) are all located in the same back end location of our building and therefore don’t have much of a view and are unable to be placed side by side.

I'm sorry to hear that you had some issues with your kitchen light and alarm clock. I hope you contacted the front desk so that we were able to send an Engineer to take care of it. We do try our best to take note of any burnt out lights or other engineering issues during room inspections. Unfortunately, it seems those were overlooked.

I’m sorry you felt that there were not enough amenities available in the room. We do not place some amenities such as lotion, shower caps, toothpaste, combs or deodorant in rooms, however they are always available with housekeeping and we are more than happy to send them at the your request.

Your comments and review are very much appreciated. I take your concerns very seriously and will be sure to share them with the appropriate departments. We are continually looking for ways to improve service and will be sure to use your review as a learning tool.

Again, I’m very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. If you would like to the opportunity to further discuss your experience, please don’t hesitate contacting me at 212-768-0007.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here for a week in early May 2012, and found that it was just as I remembered it from last year (stayed for a month in May 2011). The rooms are large, especially for NYC, and the kitchenette offers everything a business traveler needs. The breakfast is an added bonus, and I agree with others & management that you should try to get there early. The location is what I really enjoy. Right next to Bryant Park, within a few blocks of Times Square and only a little further to Grand Central or the Empire State Building, this hotel is ideally located. Staff were all very friendly, and quite accomodating to my request for a late checkout. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in NYC. I my mind, it would be ideal for families on vacation or for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor overlooking Bryant Park & Chrysler Building or the Empire Stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaNa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear MaNa99:

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. I'm sure you would agree that business travel can often be less than enjoyable. We do try our very best to help visitors feel welcome and comfortable while traveling to such a large city.

I'm glad to hear we were able to accommodate your request for a later checkout and that you found our location to be ideally located. It really does make navigating through the city quite easy.

I hope you'll stay with us again next May if your business travels bring you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem near Byrant Park. I've stayed in various hotels in NYC including some high end boutiques- you just can't beat this one for the value and service. I booked this hotel completely relying on other reviews on trip advisor. It seemed that for the low NYC price it would not be so nice. It met all my expectations. Large rooms, breakfast included, bar, helpful staff and perfect location close to everything-uptown and downtown. I highly reccommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of Empire State building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank naperville4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear naperville4:

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad to hear that we were able to meet your travel expectations and that you had such a wonderful experience. Our centralized location and close proximity to Bryant Park really are an added bonus for both first time travelers and frequent visitors. It's so nice to hear that you would highly recommend the Residence Inn. I hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#125 of 473 in New York City
1,359 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#220 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#156 of 473 in New York City
5,870 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#323 of 473 in New York City
10,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £162 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From weekend getaways to extended stays, Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square positions you in the beating heart of New York City. Embark on dynamic adventures to the Empire State Building, Central Park, Javits Center and Bryant Park. Encounter rejuvenation in our spacious suites. We deliver homelike comforts with our complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing