We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice, affordable hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A few blocks from Times Square, this hotel is affordable and clean. Rooms are comfortable and fairly quiet. Good breakfast buffet each morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel26x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Dawn_St_Charles:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad to her your enjoyed your stay and found value in our property. I hope you’ll consider us the next time your travels bring you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    881
    208
    58
    30
See reviews for
1,063
524
106
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Looking for a hotel last minute and we found this deal on line and were very surprised at the room for the price and location. Just two blocks Time Square, across the street from Bryant Park and near what seems like very thing else. We are most definitely going to come back. For a family of four make sure you get the proper size room. The comp breakfast is a bonus. Staff was very helpful as well. All in all very good place to stay in Manhattan!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodRod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear RodRod68:

Thank you for reviewing and recommending my hotel to potential visitors. I'm glad that you were surprised with our property and enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you will visit us again soon.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I traveled with two teenage boys for a 4-day visit to the Big Apple. The hotel was comfortable for us - Mom and son shared nice large king bed, friend slept on the pull out sofa bed. The sofa was fine for teenagers as they can sleep anywhere, but probably would not recommend it for 'mature' adults. The room was decent size for NYC, and for the 3 of us, and it was nice to have a full refrigerator, extra sink outside the bathroom, and microwave. Room did not have a work desk, but instead a sit up bar which was fine for a pleasure trip. Breakfast included was a huge cost savings with hungry teenage boys. It ended at 10:00 am weekend and 9:30 am weekday so good excuse to get them up early enough not to miss it and to get outside to the sights. Location was ideal for Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway shows and easy subway access a block away. Room was fresh and clean. Used Marriott points so it was a very economical stay. Paying rate was just about $200 a night. Memorable trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear peejay10:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. It sounds like you, your son and his friend had a great time in New York City! I'm glad you were able to stay on your Marriot Rewards points and found value in our complimentary breakfast. It really is a cost saver for traveling families!

If you ever return on business, we do have some rooms with a lower table, rather than the counter height bar. You can request one of these rooms at check in or in advance and we will do our best to accommodate.

Thank you again for sharing your review. I hope you'll visit us again soon.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was a little hesitant to count on the breakfast buffet included with the room after reading a couple of reviews here, but it turned out to be wonderful! Very complete - waffles, bagels, fruit, yogurt, juices, pastries, cereals, eggs, sausages, pancakes - all very fresh. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet; the in-room kitchen was well appointed, too. The view was not great, but that had more to do with the other buildings being so close. If you're a big TV watcher, you may be disappointed, as the TV in our room was on the small side - but hopefully, you're not there to spend much time watching TV. The front desk staff was very pleasant during check-in. The lower floor of the hotel has a nice gym and generous laundry room with lots of machines. If you have no problem with the statement they slip under your door the final morning of your stay, you simply pick up the phone, dial a specified number, state your name and room number and you are automatically checked out. It's all designed with an eye toward a hassle-free stay. We really enjoyed our time there, even if the price was steep - but again, every hotel in the Times Square area is pricey.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, of course, but ask for one at the front of the hotel if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaleel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Jaleel N:

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our full complimentary breakfast! I hope you'll stay with us again. If you do, be sure to let me know and I will try my best to get you into a high floor view room!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We planned a two day tour of NYC including a "Mary Poppins" matinee and this location was wonderful. Everything was in walking distance. We walked from Penn Station to the hotel, and were in walking distance from Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center, etc. The room was clean and spacious and the pullout sofa was just right making the room great for 3. We were able to store our bags both before the room was ready and even after we checked out so we could get in our last bit of sightseeing before the walk back to Penn Station. Concierge gave some great tips on restaurants near the hotel. Hotel breakfast was great too. The lobby could use some dressing up as the black curtains weren't that appealing but who cares when you get a great price for a great room and location. We will stay here again during our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerdy_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear nerdy_turtle:

Thank you for posting your review of my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. It's nice to hear that you and your family had such a nice stay and enjoyed the theater while you were in town. You will have to plan for a few more days then next time you visit with us; there is much more to see and do!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our family of two moms and two young daughters stayed here for 4 nights in April. The room was small, even though it is advertised as a studio, and we did not use the kitchen. When the sofa bed was pulled out, there was no room to walk around. Still, it was what we expected and we had no intention of staying in the room. It was easy to get around. The best part is the proximity to Bryant Park (one of the loveliest in the city).

Breakfast was standard Residence Inn fare. The coffee could have been better.

Our room had a nice view of the Empire State Building. The room was quiet.

The housecleaning staff was nice. One woman found out our girls liked smart food and she brought extras.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Sadie_NB:

Thank you for sharing your review of my hotel with potential visitors. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal for visiting New York City. It's so nice to hear that our housekeeper sent some extra snacks for your daughters. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to that department. I hope you'll visit us again in the near future.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn twice over the space of two weeks. Once was during the week and once included the weekend.

The main drawcard for us in staying at Resi Inns is the free wifi and the free breakfast. During the week both worked well on the weekend it all went pear shaped.

We went down to breakfast on the Saturday about 30 mins before closing time and there was no food left. Staff members were actually taking away the empty bins. Staff members stationed at the elevators were less than apologetic when we notified them that there was no food available. It wasn't even closing time!

The elevators are also extremely slow on the weekends. We waited about 20 minutes on the Saturday to get back to our rooms following the horrible breakfast experience.

Surely the hotel has by now noticed the many reviews saying the same thing about the breakfasts. Couldn't you open up a conference room or something with a second buffet on the weekends?

Will we be back? Yes, but only if we are staying during the week.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salman_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Salman_QLD:

Thank you for posting your second review of my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the weekend portion of this past stay. Weekends are generally busier than weekdays. We have many leisure guests and families visiting on weekends; therefore doubling or tripling the actual number of guests having breakfast and using the elevators at the same time. We do our best to help make guests aware of possible delays on the weekends and advise guests to arrive early to avoid any delays. We also open meeting rooms for additional seating on busier weekends.

I'm sorry to hear that the selection of food was minimal when you came to the third floor. I will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate departments. We are continually looking for ways to improve service and your comments are necessary and appreciated.

I'm glad to hear you would return with us again in the future. Please be sure to let me know when you will be returning.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#229 of 467 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#152 of 467 in New York City
966 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#132 of 467 in New York City
5,598 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing