We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #217 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn with my family. We were 5 and the room was very accommodating and the staff was fantastic. The view from our room was great, and of course you are in the heart of the action in NYC. Also you have everything you need with in a block, from food (great pizza across the street) to groceries a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Luis R,

We really appreciate the review you gave on our hotel! I am so pleased that you found the area and the staff to be excellent. I hope that you stay with us again the next time you are in New York City!

Sincerely,

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Burned a BUNCH (40,000/night) of Marriott Reward points to stay here for a little get away.

The location is unbeatable. It is truly in the heart of it all, a 5 minute walk to everything with major subway and railroad stations a short walk away. Times Square, the Fashion District, the Empire State Building, Broadway, and so much more are all easy walks.

We got off to a little bit of a bad start with being told that our room was not being ready. Desk clerk actually had the gall to tell us what time check in was... we're two Gold status Marriott Rewards guests burning over 100,000 points for Marriott to pay you full rack rate for the room and we're here; consequently, it's check in time now (and it wasn't even that early... after 2pm). But, the second visit to the desk did the trick, and they gave us the room they had available when we showed up and got the attitude instead of the room. But for that, the service was very good. Staff was professional and friendly. Happy to help with directions, special requests, luggage stowage, etc,

Room was actually rather nice considering where were (this wouldn't be a luxury hotel most places, but it was larger and better equipped than one generally sees in NYC). Well appointed, nicely furnished with everything working fine. Kitchen wasn't everything you'd find in a typical Residence Inn, but was more than adequate with a full size refrigerator, microwave, and full array of glassware and dishware. Internet (free to everyone) was consistently good And, the super-jumbo hearth room was comfortable, clean, and very nicely done

The free breakfast was very good... a variety of offerings which changed daily. One of the better breakfasts I've had in a hotel anywhere, and very impressive for free.

While most of what this hotel has going for it is location, it's actually a pretty nice hotel. Clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip to the Big Apple was made extra special by the gracious staff, clean and cozy rooms and very satisfying breakfast.
We used our Marriott points and booked a King Studio. Upon arrival they kindly upgraded us to a large double with a beautiful view. Room 1408 was lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BookTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear BookTrekker,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of our hotel! I am so glad that the staff made you feel extra special and that you had a great view of the Empire State Buliding! We hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you are in town!

Sincerely,

Christina Verdesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel room was nice. The location was perfect and next to Bryant park, close to Times Square but not in the middle where its too crowded and near everything. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Fresh eggs, sausages and fruit (etc.).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jasonv225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear jasonv225,

We truly appreciate your excellent review of our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our great location! We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you plan a trip to New York City!

Sincerely,

Christina Verdesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The standard room at this hotel was a very comfortable size with a small living room and dining room area, along with a kitchen. Exceptionally clean rooms and common areas and superb staff made this feel like a home away from home. Close to subway lines -- entrances to 42nd Street station were a couple of quick blocks away and several restaurants (both sit-down and fast food) were just steps away, as well as several coffeehouses and drug stores. Quick elevators, effortless check in and check out, and an all around pleasant stay for all manner of traveler -- from solo to family and business professionals.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 23rd floor and the views were spectacular. If you can get a corner room, try for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed there for four nights recently with my husband and daughter. Having stayed at the DoubleTree Hilton Times Square twice before, I am very surprised that this hotel has a higher rating. It in no way compared to the DoubleTree and the minor amount that we saved by booking this hotel was not worth it. The location is not really on Times Square, nor is it particularly handy to anything but Macy's and Herald Square. The view certainly doesn't hold a candle to that from the Times Square-facing rooms at the DoubleTree. The service at the front desk was slow and not very friendly. The rooms are a decent size, but the bathrooms are tiny -- you practically have to back into them to close the door. If you're looking for full kitchen facilities (we were not), you are in luck, because the rooms have full-size fridges, microwaves and dishwashers. Our room was kind of shabby, though -- the stainless steel fridge looked like someone had taken a baseball bat to it, given all the dents in it. Valet parking with no in and out privileges was $66 a night. The absolutely worst part was the "free" breakfast -- I have never tasted scrambled eggs like that in my life. They were absolutely revolting. After the first day, we went to Pret a Manger across the street for breakfast because we just couldn't face it again. All in all, not a great stay. Won't be going back.

Room Tip: We asked for one on a high floor away from the elevator. Got assigned one on the 11th floor (of a 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello Barbara M,
I sincerely apologize that your experience with us at the Residence Inn Times Square was subpar. This is certainly not the experience we want any of our guests to have.
If you can kindly reach out to me with further details about your stay with us I would greatly appreciate it. My direct line is 212-380-5019 and my email is Ashley.Deichert@marriott.com.
Again, my sincere apologies and I look forward to hearing from you and getting this issues resolved.
Ashley Deichert
Guest Realtions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of several Manhattan sites. Spacious and clean rooms. Bar on third floor has reasonably priced drinks at happy hour. Breakfast was good and had a variety each morning. The Bryant Market nearby was great for snacks and drinks. all employees were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#123 of 471 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#215 of 471 in New York City
1,478 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#326 of 471 in New York City
10,751 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From weekend getaways to extended stays, Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square positions you in the beating heart of New York City. Embark on dynamic adventures to the Empire State Building, Central Park, Javits Center and Bryant Park. Encounter rejuvenation in our spacious suites. We deliver homelike comforts with our complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing