We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose this hotel on a friends recommendation. We like Marriott because of the sleep quality. The beds were always consistently good. The location of this hotel is great. Our first time to New York and if you want to be right there then this is the place. We were fairly high up so did not get street noise. We did have noisy neighbours one night but that aside a good sleep. Lots of building going on around so pull your curtains. The breakfast is included and we were warned it wasn't that great. This could be improved but overall we were happy with the stay. The front counter staff were very helpful and we were welcomed each time we returned by very large guys on the door. It is reassuring that safety is factored in. The hotel has a coin op laundry which is great, especially staying for long periods. The rooms have kitchenettes and are well appointed. I would recommend this hotel as it is clean and well situated. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Take a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommiekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    849
    199
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,023
509
102
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The good: like everyone said in other reviews, the location is by far this place's selling point, close to a subway station, minutes away from Time Square and just a few steps from THE public library.
Th bad: Service seems to be lacking, it isn't bad, it just isn't what we are use to from other Marriott locations. Breakfast is poorly served, almost as if by obligation, it closes earlier that it says it does, overall quite unappealing.
The ugly: We had a few problems with the room, little things that accumulated. There where torn curtains (both window and shower), cut sheets, the bathroom door seem to be close-resistant, and for some odd reasons the sofabed sheets never seem to fit, always a bit too short for the bed.

Overall not an unpleasant experience, but not quite what we've come to expect from a Marriott hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Camilo M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and providing your valuable feedback. It is feedback such as yours that helps us as a business improve our operation and make us better hospitality professionals. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience and frustration caused during your stay.

You are a valued guest and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future, such as renovating our guest rooms and our breakfast area. We will also soon be incorporating two sepearte buffet lines in order to reduse traffic and running out of food.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will alow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,

Christina V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed for about 2 weeks at this hotel. First, Marriott always delights. They are very consistent in their service and there never is any cause to complaint. Marriott always has breakfast included in the rate and wifi is free and of good speed.

And now the location of this hotel. In New York, where you get tiny rooms with no windows, this hotel is an absolute delight. We got a room on the 18th floor and had two windows in the room, looking straight at Empire State Building. And Empire State Building would have different lighting every evening.

Room itself was large with two double beds and a mini-kitchenette and a very spacious bathroom.

Hotel had a lounge on 3rd floor with plenty of seating space, large windows and a pool table.

Great location as it was short walk to times square, bryant park and macys. Several metro stations and lines near the hotel. Airport shuttles at walking distance.

Will stay again and again at Marriott.

Room Tip: select a south side room, you will get view of empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Tabor, VT
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family has visited New York many times and knew what we were getting into location wise. This is not the case for everyone. The location is great and a quick walk to Times Square but it really bugs me that Marriott uses the name Times Square in the names of hotels that are not really IN Times Square. Anyway... Check in was overall fine but the lobby was way too small and people were carrying on about having to wait too long to check bags. Considering this is an extended stay property the wait did not seem terribly long to me. Our room was very clean other than the area that only shows when you are unfolding the sofa bed. There were all sorts of wrappers and crumbs under there. We stayed in the studio suite and have never stayed in a room that small at a Residence Inn. When we unfolded the sofa we could lie foot to foot in the two beds. Our confirmation stated that we would have a king bed but it was actually a queen bed. This was a relatively minor annoyance due to a beautiful view of the Empire State Building from our window. When we returned from the show we stopped at the pub for snacks and drinks but they were out of almost everything food wise. Service in this area was not up to par with the rest of the hotel staff. We had brunch reservations so we did not take advantage of the free breakfast which looked fine but way too crowded and chaotic.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location! The staff is super friendly and very helpful from the front desk to the servers at breakfast. Our room was large with a beautiful view of the empire state building. It was very clean and everything was in working order. The breakfasts are delicious and they used china plates instead of disposable..
The sofa bed was not good enough to sleep on even though they had recently put in new mattresses. I highly recommend getting two beds instead of a king and a pull out. Also, the line at breakfast is very long. You don't need to wait in the line at first. Go into the breakfast room and choose the drinks/cold cereals/ oatmeal or fruit and yogurt. Then, when the line goes down, wait for the hot food. You can't carry everything at once so it is easier to head on in and choose the stations without the lines. This is a great hotel for pets, they are treated very well!
The elevators are the biggest problem. They were all working but you can wait a long time and then they are often full. Ask for a higher floor so you have a better view and can guarantee to get on an elevator when it eventually arrives!
We enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay again. Thanks Marriott!

Room Tip: high floor with a view of the Empire State building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEllen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was good. However, I was totally annoyed by the lack of counter space in the bathroom (that may just be me). There was only a couple of inches on each side of the sink. There was a very small corner shelf, with about 5 shelves, across the room by the door. The bathroom itself was a good size, and the towels were over-sized.

It was nice to have a full sized refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker & dishwasher in the room. The elevators were reasonably quick. Housekeeping did a great job.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever seen...breakfast burritos, waffles, pancakes, muffins, eggs, bagels, fruit, cereal etc.

They had a managers reception a couple of times during the week. We only went once to the BBQ one night, but it was only hot dogs and mediocre beans. No drinks.

Room Tip: Room 1108 had a nice view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't see any recycling for paper or cans/bottles. They did have hand tags regarding the re-use of towels. Even though we hung up our towels to be re-used, it appeared that they gave us clean ones every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked this hotel as my extended family had booked it. It was above our price range but we wanted the convenience of all being at the same property. The front desk staff were super friendly and helpful, especially Damian. The restaurant recommendation by the other fellow for Becco restaurant was the best food we ate in NYC. Thanks heaps.

We were allocated a room on the 30th floor. The bed was super comfy. Room looked at Empire State which was illuminated red white and blue for Bastille Day. Handy to have a decent size fridge, microwave etc as the food in the US is dire. Proximity to the tourist hot spots was easy.
Housekeeping standards were excellent. Paul Mitchell hair products were an unexpected touch. New fluffy towels. Iron and ironing board in room. We didn't have to call down to Reception for anything which was fantastic.

The deli on the corner provided fresh fruit, salads, beers and all the goodies you need. The hotel bar was OK but the happy hour didn't materialise??? Drinks were super expensive. 3 G&Ts and a beer were $65. Breakfast was included and is the same sweet sugary fare as is offered wherever you go in the US - powdered scrambled eggs, sweet pastries/pancakes, softdrinks, sweet juices, tinned fruit, sweetened bread, sweet cereals complimented by weak coffee. But the staff were welcoming and super friendly.

We did get a shock as there was a yellow lab in the lift one day - (not an assistance dog). This is a pet friendly hotel. $70 in a taxi from JFK. The Big Bus leaves from the corner a couple of blocks away. Bryant Park is the closest subway stop. The accessories shop next to the hotel is awesome. Good prices and a fantastic range of costume jewellery, bags, glasses etc.

I would recommend this property, especially if you were taking your kids to NYC.

Room Tip: 3004 was great. Family had 610 which seemed a little smaller??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,462 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing