We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excllent property in times square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #209 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Marriott is extremely good property, given it's location which is in the heart of NYC - Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Central Park, Empire building etc. From this hotel, you can go any where in NYC. What impressed me was the superb service to my family. received from all the staff of the property. given this Hotel's location, it is always so busy. Nonetheless, when I spoke to any staff member, regardless of position, i felt that we were the only guests they were servicing,
there is good restaurents near by viz,chipotle,mcdonald subway etc

Room Tip: facing front are good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear saicap,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you felt the staff was helpful with all of your needs. We hope to see you the next time that you are in New York City.

Sincerely,

Christina V.
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 2,415 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Marriott is extremely busy and gets a lot of foot traffic, given it's location which is in the heart of NYC - Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Central Park, etc. From this hotel, you can literally do anything with your time in NYC. What blew my mind though was the superb service my family (2 families in fact) received from all the staff of the property. You see, given this Hotel's location, it is always so busy. Nonetheless, when I spoke to any staff member, regardless of position, i felt that I was the only guest they were servicing. However, one of the staff truly went above and beyond - Damian. He made sure our needs were ALWAYS met and when I asked what seemed to be repetitive questions, he never rushed with his answers and made sure I completely understood. This is a priceless feeling, especially in the most fast paced city in the world. Thank you Damian for making my family and I feel so special during our stay!!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask staff members their personal recommendations about anything you plan to do...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mjjjl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Mjjjl04,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us, and that Damian took such great care of you! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christina V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose this hotel on a friends recommendation. We like Marriott because of the sleep quality. The beds were always consistently good. The location of this hotel is great. Our first time to New York and if you want to be right there then this is the place. We were fairly high up so did not get street noise. We did have noisy neighbours one night but that aside a good sleep. Lots of building going on around so pull your curtains. The breakfast is included and we were warned it wasn't that great. This could be improved but overall we were happy with the stay. The front counter staff were very helpful and we were welcomed each time we returned by very large guys on the door. It is reassuring that safety is factored in. The hotel has a coin op laundry which is great, especially staying for long periods. The rooms have kitchenettes and are well appointed. I would recommend this hotel as it is clean and well situated. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Take a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pommiekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The good: like everyone said in other reviews, the location is by far this place's selling point, close to a subway station, minutes away from Time Square and just a few steps from THE public library.
Th bad: Service seems to be lacking, it isn't bad, it just isn't what we are use to from other Marriott locations. Breakfast is poorly served, almost as if by obligation, it closes earlier that it says it does, overall quite unappealing.
The ugly: We had a few problems with the room, little things that accumulated. There where torn curtains (both window and shower), cut sheets, the bathroom door seem to be close-resistant, and for some odd reasons the sofabed sheets never seem to fit, always a bit too short for the bed.

Overall not an unpleasant experience, but not quite what we've come to expect from a Marriott hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Camilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Camilo M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and providing your valuable feedback. It is feedback such as yours that helps us as a business improve our operation and make us better hospitality professionals. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience and frustration caused during your stay.

You are a valued guest and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future, such as renovating our guest rooms and our breakfast area. We will also soon be incorporating two sepearte buffet lines in order to reduse traffic and running out of food.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will alow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,

Christina V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed for about 2 weeks at this hotel. First, Marriott always delights. They are very consistent in their service and there never is any cause to complaint. Marriott always has breakfast included in the rate and wifi is free and of good speed.

And now the location of this hotel. In New York, where you get tiny rooms with no windows, this hotel is an absolute delight. We got a room on the 18th floor and had two windows in the room, looking straight at Empire State Building. And Empire State Building would have different lighting every evening.

Room itself was large with two double beds and a mini-kitchenette and a very spacious bathroom.

Hotel had a lounge on 3rd floor with plenty of seating space, large windows and a pool table.

Great location as it was short walk to times square, bryant park and macys. Several metro stations and lines near the hotel. Airport shuttles at walking distance.

Will stay again and again at Marriott.

Room Tip: select a south side room, you will get view of empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family has visited New York many times and knew what we were getting into location wise. This is not the case for everyone. The location is great and a quick walk to Times Square but it really bugs me that Marriott uses the name Times Square in the names of hotels that are not really IN Times Square. Anyway... Check in was overall fine but the lobby was way too small and people were carrying on about having to wait too long to check bags. Considering this is an extended stay property the wait did not seem terribly long to me. Our room was very clean other than the area that only shows when you are unfolding the sofa bed. There were all sorts of wrappers and crumbs under there. We stayed in the studio suite and have never stayed in a room that small at a Residence Inn. When we unfolded the sofa we could lie foot to foot in the two beds. Our confirmation stated that we would have a king bed but it was actually a queen bed. This was a relatively minor annoyance due to a beautiful view of the Empire State Building from our window. When we returned from the show we stopped at the pub for snacks and drinks but they were out of almost everything food wise. Service in this area was not up to par with the rest of the hotel staff. We had brunch reservations so we did not take advantage of the free breakfast which looked fine but way too crowded and chaotic.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location! The staff is super friendly and very helpful from the front desk to the servers at breakfast. Our room was large with a beautiful view of the empire state building. It was very clean and everything was in working order. The breakfasts are delicious and they used china plates instead of disposable..
The sofa bed was not good enough to sleep on even though they had recently put in new mattresses. I highly recommend getting two beds instead of a king and a pull out. Also, the line at breakfast is very long. You don't need to wait in the line at first. Go into the breakfast room and choose the drinks/cold cereals/ oatmeal or fruit and yogurt. Then, when the line goes down, wait for the hot food. You can't carry everything at once so it is easier to head on in and choose the stations without the lines. This is a great hotel for pets, they are treated very well!
The elevators are the biggest problem. They were all working but you can wait a long time and then they are often full. Ask for a higher floor so you have a better view and can guarantee to get on an elevator when it eventually arrives!
We enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay again. Thanks Marriott!

Room Tip: high floor with a view of the Empire State building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEllen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 469 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#231 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#150 of 469 in New York City
5,712 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 469 in New York City
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £175 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing