We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #208 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I went to NYC for our 30th wedding anniversary and we spent 3 nights here. Our room was on a high floor and had a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. I read other reviews of the views and must say that likely we got the good view since my husband is a Marriott Platinum Elite member. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is actually a few blocks from Times Square but it's in a very convenient location. The staff was courteous. I love staying at the Marquis as well but I've got to say this hotel exceeded my expectations.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LSnyder6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wonderful rooms, great location, good service. I agree with other reviews that breakfast was a madhouse. Hard to get an elevator down and very crowded once you do. Otherwise its great for families. We had a room for three which was huge. We also had a room for 2 for others in our party which was very big for NYC. We'll go low season next time so we can enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked a 2 bedroom suite on high floor and requested early check-in 6 months in advance. I have been a Marriott member for 7 years. We arrived 10 am Sunday morning checked our bags and left cell# to contact us when our room was ready.Arrived back at 2:00 room wasn't ready.Plenty to see and in NYC so no problem. Went back at 4:00 different desk clerk said our original room wasn't ready so he'd give us a different room. Two adults 3 teenager arrived at room 3305. Room was spotless. One bathroom was larger than the other.Plenty of room for 5.The view however was a building under construction and Battery Park. If you put your face to the window and look right you can see The Empire State Building. Horrible view for $750 a night and a loyal customer.We normally stay at the Marquis which is really in Times Square. I did enjoy early morning buffet.Lots to choose from better than other Residence Inn.I would stay here again if it was a large group,but if it was just my hubby and I my choice would be the Marquis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wakeandbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pros: Great location a few short blocks from times square. We walked everywhere in Midtown and subway'd to other locations without a problem. Helpful staff and concierge. Able to hold our bags for the day on Sunday so we could explore more before our flight. They were also accommodating to our requests for a high room. Free breakfast is decent and a big money savor. Nice dining area with TVs.

Cons: High cost for only average room quality. We thought we were getting the type of suite where there is a closed off bed and bath separate from the kitchen/pull out couch area. Small area for more than 2 people. Being 3 small females we fit fine but I can't imagine it being very comfortable for a family of 4. The bathroom is tiny and definitely only has room for one person to get ready at a time. Only one other narrow mirror in the main room. There were also gnats or fruit flies consistently throughout our stay. How they get to the top floor idk but they were annoying and a little gross.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the top floor to avoid the noise. We had a corner room 3402 and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HanPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear HanPT,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience at the Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location and that the staff was helpful. Hopefully you enjoyed the majority of your stay.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest service experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,

Christina V.
Front Office Supervisor
(212) 768-0007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our experience at the Residence Inn -Times Square was positive. We were a group of 5 which included a grandfather, mom and dad and two teens 13 and 15 years. The two bedrooms and sleeping couch in the common area served our needs perfectly. The hotel is well situated as it is close to Times Square as well as the shopping area (Macy's), the Empire State Bldg, 5th Ave and our energetic group actually walked to Central Park. There are restaurants near by as well as places to get a snack. The breakfast service in the morning was excellent, one of the best we have encountered, offering a wide variety of breakfast items. Finally, the friendliness and service provided by the hotel staff was exceptional. I am not at all reluctant to rate and recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: The suites are on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dnl_in_illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect for sightseeing and close to subway. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We were on a high floor with an Empire State Building view. Free breakfast buffet was great. We had drinks in the lounge each night where the service was very good. Only issues were that the room was a bit dirty ( seems like no one cleans under the bed) and shower went suddenly from hot to ice cold. So we took turns screaming.
We would stay again next time in town.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sarahbetripin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My 14 yr old son and I stayed at this property on 8/7/14 for one night. The hotel was convenient to Times Sq, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center and the Diamond District as well as the subway. Also, the hotel is right near Bryant Park which s a lovely park. This property is also walking distance to Penn Station and Grand Central Station. We arrived by Amtrak @ Penn Station and walked about 10 mins with our luggage to the hotel. It was an easy walk. We arrived very early, around 9:15 am but were able to leave our luggage and start our sightseeing. Our room was ready around 1:00 pm. We are platinum Marriott members so we were upgraded to a corner unit King room on the 22nd floor. The room was an average hotel room and the bathroom was small but clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was a small kitchen and a sitting area. You really don't spend much time in your room when in the city. They have a wonderful, complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning and it is quite large and we found it to be plentiful. We did not eat at the hot dishes but the food we did eat was quite good. There is fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, bread, bagels etc and about 5 or 6 hot dishes plus great coffee and juice. It really is nice to just go to the 3rd floor where the buffet is and have breakfast before venturing out. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The staff was nice and friendly, some definitely more so than others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa-Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Lisa-Marie O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were comfortable. We really do have an excellent location and breakfast. We hope to see you the next time you are in town. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Christina V.
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,301 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#221 of 469 in New York City
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#152 of 469 in New York City
5,764 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#72 of 469 in New York City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £154 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From weekend getaways to extended stays, Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square positions you in the beating heart of New York City. Embark on dynamic adventures to the Empire State Building, Central Park, Javits Center and Bryant Park. Encounter rejuvenation in our spacious suites. We deliver homelike comforts with our complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing