We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room and helpful staff at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #218 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This location has only been open for a month or two and it's staff are great. Very welcoming when I arrived and as it was early in the day, they held my luggage until check in was available at 3pm.
The lobby is small and there don't seem to be enough elevators for all the customers.
I rode up and down with bellman and housekeeping staff more than once during my stay.
The room I had on the 34th floor was a good size for NY and was really quiet, something that's important to me in NY. No middle of the night car and truck noises to disturb your sleep.
The bed was comfortable. The coffee maker worked. The wireless connection was fast and consistent.
There's also wireless internet available in the lobby and bar/restaurant next door which was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to acknowledge our great staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,154 - 2,160 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in New York. It is conveniently located to Central Park, Times Square, and several subway entrances. The room is spacious, exceptionally clean, and you can hear very little street noise. The staff are very friendly and efficient, making your stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your review and highlighting our excellent staff and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is in a great location. Close to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Time Square, etc. The hotel is new so it feels warm and updated. The room was clean and the furnishings were in good condition. The rooms are small but I think that is typical for city hotels. They had a Keurig coffee maker in the room and also had coffee available in the lobby. We would certainly stay here again if the rate is reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ann3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The room was surprisingly spacious for NYC, and very nicely appointed. The amenities in the bathroom were ones I would actually use (Neutrogena brand). Check in and check out was a breeze and the staff was helpful and courteous. I am staying here again later in the year because it was such a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank SLTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back as our return guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights two days after the hotel opened. We usually try and stay in HGI when in NYC.
We got a good opening deal on this one so we decided to give it a try and we were very happy.

As mentioned before, the entire staff of the hotel go out of their way to be welcoming, conversational, friendly and helpful.
We checked in early after a long flight from Israel.
The room was in good size for Manhattan hotels and had all the amenities.

At last at the Hilton hotels the WiFi was free...and it also has a very convenient and well stocked business centre with printing available.

The location couldn't be better - close to Central Park on the one side and Times Square on the other. Restaurants/diners/deli's all over the place and easy access to the subway lines.

Breakfast - we didn't eat at the hotel but at one of the places just round the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and sharing your positive feedback on our Awesome Team and Perfect location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staff were friendly and kind - always looking to help in some way. Room was quiet and comfortable with all mod cons - nespresso type machine and microwave plus fridge with room for food. Bed was super comfortable. Bathroom had plentiful hot water. TV had lots of channels including English soccer. Very clean. Gym was small but adequate - and if you need more, there is a gym opposite which no doubt would do a price for visitors. Downstairs washer drier meant we could do all our laundry. Strong wifi. Two supermarkets very close by on 8th. Opposite on the corner of 8th was a great open all hours deli which we got take out from for breakfast. Great staff, variety of food and well priced. I have stayed at lots of hotels in NY from the Sofitel to the Mark, the Morgan to the Hudson and I would happily return to this one. We were here the first week it re-opened and expected some hitches but there were none whatsoever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review and sharing your positive experience. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back as our return guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here for my March trip to NY. The location is good - I like this part of the city, just south of the park and off broadway. The rooms weren't large (large rooms are rare in the city) but good enough for a solo business traveller - comfortable and quiet. The room was very clean and well equipped. A huge positive was that the room was ready when I arrived at 1pm - I did request this in the booking and as a Diamond HHonors member I was very pleased it was ready, this is a huge bonus after a transatlantic flight.

However, it was a VERY cold week and I needed a bit of heat in the room, this is where the problem started. There was a fundamental issue with the heating control that as soon as you put the room temp up by a couple of degrees the heating would turn on then almost immediately turn off again. I figured out that the temperature sensor was faulty - as soon as the heat kicked in it reported the room temp to be climbing very quickly. I could put the temp up to 90F and within 30s the sensor thought the room was at 90F and turned off the hot air - at this point the sensor quickly dropped back down towards the real temperature, realised it hadn't met its target so started the cycle again. This meant that to gain any reasonable heat in the room you had to set it at 90 and listed to it clicking on and off ALL night. I did complain, and engineer came up and changed the filter (useless) - I didn't have the energy or motivation to ask for a room change so I put up with it, but it was very disappointing. Room 2801.

Another couple of small downsides - the elevators are too few and too slow - they seemed to continually be held down on the lower service floors by the staff. Another small point - as a Diamond member there is supposed to be water provided on checkin, it wasn't.

Putting those aside though, this hotel certainly wasn't bad and if the price is right I'd be back.

Room Tip: Not 2801 unless they can assure you they've fixed the heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We apologize for the issue you note with your HVAC. Please note that the issue has been corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#135 of 473 in New York City
1,192 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 473 in New York City
7,527 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 473 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#207 of 473 in New York City
1,674 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#168 of 473 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times Square South
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times...
#258 of 473 in New York City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing