We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #219 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

New hotel in a great location close to everything but far enough from most of the noise. The hotel is clean and in excellent condition (still new), good for a couple of nights, longer stays I would choose something else. The beds are hard and this is a 3 / 4 star hotel. Had dinner at the steakhouse restaurant, food was good but expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanGaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Rooms are nice because they are new. Refrigerator + microwave in room, free internet. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
Complaints:
1) the thermostats in the room are not really user-changeable. Guests have to call downstairs to get someone to change the temperature in the room which is frustrating
2) they sent back my Amazon order that was delivered to hotel. I had to change my reservation and when the hotel saw my original reservation was cancelled they promptly sent the package back. Not unreasonable and may even be helpful if plans are cancelled. so be careful: if packages are to sent to the hotel, make sure there is always a current reservation on file or they will return it.

Room Tip: I would not book with the 'terrace' room. its a 10'x10' boxed in area with high wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Please note that we are currently working to resolve the HVAC issues that you speak of.
Please accept our apologies on your Amazon delivery. As a security measure, we can not accept parcels for guests without a reservation in our system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had stayed here twice on business recently..
Good: Great location, close to everything, and brand new. Ed Sullivan right next door, radio city a couple blocks off... central park a few blocks away, same with times square. Desk check in super friendly and helpful. Good People.
Easy access to subway within a couple blocks as well.
Bad: Placed in room next to elevator twice, when preferences listed are away from elevator. and rooms aren't near elevator lobby, they are directly across the 4 foot hall. so a noisy night ensued. On second visit the AC system was faulty. Of course they said tell us and we will fix it, but I want it right when I get there, not sitting with AC repair man at 1130 pm when I figure out the thing isn't working.
Also - breakfast, if you pay for it, about $25 a head. For a standard buffet at a business class hotel I thought a little on high side.
I stayed again obviously after first impression, second time not so awesome and way too many other choices in the area. So I'll be giving those a shot on next visit and will report back.

Room Tip: The floors are tiny, try and stay away from the elevator if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ24R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Please accept our apologies for your guestroom being next to an elevator with your otherwise request.
Please note that we are working on the HVAC concern you note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel when it first opened and there were some hiccups pertaining to the cleanliness of my room, but my second stay was wonderful! I had no complaints. The hotel seems to have really worked out some of its opening issues and is really offering a great value. I fully expect to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review, returning to stay with us again and taking note of all our great improvements since opening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this lovely hotel and had a very pleasant experience. The room was very spacious, clean and quiet. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave available along with a keurig coffee maker. WiFi is complimentary and they will hold your bags after check out for free which was very useful. We hope to come back again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LuisMacondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and including feedback on our wonderful guestroom amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had Hilton points to use so I was looking for the best Hilton property in Manhattan that had reasonable point value,location,clean rooms,and didn't have noise issues. This hotel surpassed all my criteria. We had a tough time figuring out the AC unit so we called downstairs and in less than 5 minutes an engineer was in our room helping us fix our problem. Everyone is very friendly and the location is top notch in my opinion. Close to Central Park,Times Square,Theatre District, and subway station. Our room was on the 24th floor and we had no noise issues what so ever. The rooms are small but its NYC and probably something you should expect from most hotels. They do have a representative from the Hilton Club downstairs in the lobby asking you if you would like to come over to view their property for a 90 minute presentation. The Hilton Club is apart of the Hilton Grand Vacations club I believe. Anyway we decided not to do the presentation as we were pressed for time. I will definitely plan to stay here on my next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooseiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and sharing the details from your recent stay with us and highlighting our great service as you note within our engineering department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We came here on a family vacation. The location was perfect. The entire staff were extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean, sound proof and beds were excellent!!!. I slept great!! I felt like I was home. Can't wait until we can visit New York City again with our kids. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and sharing your feedback on our great staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,193 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#237 of 473 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#206 of 473 in New York City
1,675 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#168 of 473 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times Square South
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times...
#248 of 473 in New York City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing