We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$314
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$480
US$401
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$431
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$516
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$219
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,812)
Filter reviews
2,812 results
Traveller rating
1,152
1,143
322
132
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
1,143
322
132
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral parkempire steakhousegreat locationtimes squarenew yorkkeurig coffee makercolumbus circleattached restaurantbathroom doorlincoln centercarnegie hallfew blocksbroadway theaterslower flooraround the cornerrooms are smallcity view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,042 - 2,047 of 2,812 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had a reasonably good stay at this hotel. It is close to the Park and theatre district. Also very close to subway stations making it easy to get anywhere quickly.
The staff we dealt with--with HUGE one exception--were fantastic, helpful and very professional. Thank you Greg, Bianca, Kelvin, Nathan, and our cleaning people on 34.
The room was really clean and well thought-out considering the limited space in a typical NYC room. The room had enough room for easy access to suitcases and enough room for two people to be comfortable.
The bed was firm and linens had a nice feel. The bathroom was spacious, the shower had good water pressure. We were very happy with our room--and even though we were right across from the elevator it was extremely quiet.

We were on the 34th floor and had a few problems with the slow elevator being used by hotel employees. One night we were heading up to our room after a late dinner and an employees stuck his hand in, re-opened the door and took us down to the 5th floor basement. NOT cool.
We also asked for help with a cab on Thursday 6/19/14 about 9pm and were told by the desk person and a MANAGER on duty that the bell man was delivering room service so we were out of luck. It was pouring outside. Again not cool. Actually Hilton you should have bell/door people all night. When we arrived originally at midnight there was no one to help us with bags. This hotel is always busy so there is plenty of money coming in to pay for this position.
Also finding out there was a fire system test for two days as we checked in is really slimy. Send an email and give us specific details so we decide if we want to find some place else to stay.

Overall the glitches were out-weighed by the great room and central location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review and noting our great guestrooms and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is located close to Central Park and Times Square, a number of subway stations are close by. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment, tea and coffee are provided free in the reception in the mornings. Rooms are ok, decent size for New York, shower only, no bath. A coffee maker is in the room, with a microwave and a fridge. We managed to extend our check out until 2pm free of charge, which was a bonus.

A few niggles, the maid didn't turn up until around 5pm to make our room, so for a few days our room didn't get serviced. As other have mentioned, we waited an age for a lift and the water pressure in the shower is really poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

thank you for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue you experienced with housekeeping service. I have utilized your commentary as a training tool within our housekeeping department to ensure this issue does not re-occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel is fresh , opened 6 months ago lobby bar & restaurant where a bit better then expected & opened to the street just around the corner from times square, if you like that. convenient & quiet for my purposes.No robes or plush bedding, neutragena bath products but very serviceable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Tod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your recent positive experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We like hotels within walking distance of Lincoln Center and chose this one because of good pricing as well as location. It is in a busier area than several Upper West Side hotels that we like (Lucerne, Excelsior, NYLO) but we like this one for the following reasons: Hilton Honors points; free internet; near subway; easy walking distance to Penn Station / Port Authority / Lincoln Center / Broadway shows; small refrigerator and microwave in our room (and Keurig machine -- with tea as well as coffee choices). Front desk and lobby staff members were efficient and friendly -- and although they were busy, there were no lines of guests waiting for help. The only improvement we could ask for was for better elevator service. There are three elevators, and they must have been busy all the time; service was usually on the slow side. I expect to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. Please note that we have just completed an elevator upgrade to address your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pros: The staff were professional, friendly, and accurate. Clean, new hotel, well maintained. Great location, close to subway, Central Park, and theater district.
Cons: The light sleeper could not sleep due to the clicking sound of the AC clicking on and off inside the room. The heavy sleeper slept OK. Long waits for slow, small elevators. The included breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was below average; skip breakfast and take the HHonors points. Walk a block east to the Park Cafe diner for breakfast. Plus you'll pass two Starbucks on the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to highlight our clean, new hotel and wonderful Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews