We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and all the amenities you could wish for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #218 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal to stay here and chose this over other hotels because of its location. Although it says Midtown and Times Square it is close enough to Times Square but also not directly in all that craziness.

The staff were super friendly and efficient. We were particularly amazed at the level of service in terms of welcoming you in and out the building by the people manning the doors.

For Nee York I though the room was awesome. New and comfortable with a safe, microwave, coffee machine.

The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom amenities smelt great.

I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to positively note our great staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very good location near most of the theaters, walking distance to central park, Columbus circle, times square and good restaurants, delis and bars around. Good breakfast with outside seating and nice atmosphere. Nice surroundings and close to subway stations (3 to 5 streets). Small rooms and few closet space but comfortable, nice bed and good sleeping experience. Don’t expect a big and imposing lobby, it is rather simple and small. Service very good and staff very collaborative and friendly. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for positively noting our Excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had a reasonably good stay at this hotel. It is close to the Park and theatre district. Also very close to subway stations making it easy to get anywhere quickly.
The staff we dealt with--with HUGE one exception--were fantastic, helpful and very professional. Thank you Greg, Bianca, Kelvin, Nathan, and our cleaning people on 34.
The room was really clean and well thought-out considering the limited space in a typical NYC room. The room had enough room for easy access to suitcases and enough room for two people to be comfortable.
The bed was firm and linens had a nice feel. The bathroom was spacious, the shower had good water pressure. We were very happy with our room--and even though we were right across from the elevator it was extremely quiet.

We were on the 34th floor and had a few problems with the slow elevator being used by hotel employees. One night we were heading up to our room after a late dinner and an employees stuck his hand in, re-opened the door and took us down to the 5th floor basement. NOT cool.
We also asked for help with a cab on Thursday 6/19/14 about 9pm and were told by the desk person and a MANAGER on duty that the bell man was delivering room service so we were out of luck. It was pouring outside. Again not cool. Actually Hilton you should have bell/door people all night. When we arrived originally at midnight there was no one to help us with bags. This hotel is always busy so there is plenty of money coming in to pay for this position.
Also finding out there was a fire system test for two days as we checked in is really slimy. Send an email and give us specific details so we decide if we want to find some place else to stay.

Overall the glitches were out-weighed by the great room and central location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review and noting our great guestrooms and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is located close to Central Park and Times Square, a number of subway stations are close by. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment, tea and coffee are provided free in the reception in the mornings. Rooms are ok, decent size for New York, shower only, no bath. A coffee maker is in the room, with a microwave and a fridge. We managed to extend our check out until 2pm free of charge, which was a bonus.

A few niggles, the maid didn't turn up until around 5pm to make our room, so for a few days our room didn't get serviced. As other have mentioned, we waited an age for a lift and the water pressure in the shower is really poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

thank you for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue you experienced with housekeeping service. I have utilized your commentary as a training tool within our housekeeping department to ensure this issue does not re-occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel is fresh , opened 6 months ago lobby bar & restaurant where a bit better then expected & opened to the street just around the corner from times square, if you like that. convenient & quiet for my purposes.No robes or plush bedding, neutragena bath products but very serviceable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Tod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your recent positive experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We like hotels within walking distance of Lincoln Center and chose this one because of good pricing as well as location. It is in a busier area than several Upper West Side hotels that we like (Lucerne, Excelsior, NYLO) but we like this one for the following reasons: Hilton Honors points; free internet; near subway; easy walking distance to Penn Station / Port Authority / Lincoln Center / Broadway shows; small refrigerator and microwave in our room (and Keurig machine -- with tea as well as coffee choices). Front desk and lobby staff members were efficient and friendly -- and although they were busy, there were no lines of guests waiting for help. The only improvement we could ask for was for better elevator service. There are three elevators, and they must have been busy all the time; service was usually on the slow side. I expect to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. Please note that we have just completed an elevator upgrade to address your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pros: The staff were professional, friendly, and accurate. Clean, new hotel, well maintained. Great location, close to subway, Central Park, and theater district.
Cons: The light sleeper could not sleep due to the clicking sound of the AC clicking on and off inside the room. The heavy sleeper slept OK. Long waits for slow, small elevators. The included breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was below average; skip breakfast and take the HHonors points. Walk a block east to the Park Cafe diner for breakfast. Plus you'll pass two Starbucks on the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to highlight our clean, new hotel and wonderful Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#135 of 473 in New York City
1,193 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#237 of 473 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#206 of 473 in New York City
1,674 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#166 of 473 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times Square South
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times...
#253 of 473 in New York City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing