We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Midtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable Midtown Hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Comfortable business hotel. Decent hotel bar plus small lobby and outdoor seating area. Rooms and bathroom on the small side with average furnishings. Located on 54th street so on a side street. My AC was not working very well so my room was a little warm overnight. I did not eat on property so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Please let us know what we could do differently to earn your 5 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    968
    261
    103
    43
See reviews for
640
885
152
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was in New York for a 6 day business trip. The location of the hotel was just perfect. Located in Midtown Manhattan, with just a few blocks from Central park, Times Square and 5th Avenue, it was the best place for a first timer to get acquainted with the Big Apple. There is a subway station 1 block away which made moving around very easy. The rooms were clean and new. Free wifi is provided in the rooms. What I really liked was the coin laundry facility. I wanted to avoid unnecessary hotel charges so the self-service coin laundry was perfect. Apart from that, they have a modest gym and a business center (with computer, internet and print facilities). The staff were very friendly and

Room Tip: You can buy laundry detergent at the shop on Ground Floor, and get change for the coin-laundry at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imran_jaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review and highlighting our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location. Great facility. Great staff. Great price. This was my second stay and each time I was greeted promptly and kindly, checked in quickly, had a room that was very nice and comfortable. Just a wonderful place to stay. Will definitely go back every time I go to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank LLH180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and highlighting our awesome team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

First the people here were so friendly! Next the location was AMAZING! We walked to TImes square, Central Park and the subway. All broadway shows are within reach. Honestly the only downside to the place was that it was cramped. Rooms cramped,
Elevators cramped etc. But it's New York City so it's expected and we were fine with it. Recommend this place..

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa0463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review and taking the time to share your recent experience with us and highlighting our staff, clean guestrooms and great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal to stay here and chose this over other hotels because of its location. Although it says Midtown and Times Square it is close enough to Times Square but also not directly in all that craziness.

The staff were super friendly and efficient. We were particularly amazed at the level of service in terms of welcoming you in and out the building by the people manning the doors.

For Nee York I though the room was awesome. New and comfortable with a safe, microwave, coffee machine.

The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom amenities smelt great.

I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to positively note our great staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very good location near most of the theaters, walking distance to central park, Columbus circle, times square and good restaurants, delis and bars around. Good breakfast with outside seating and nice atmosphere. Nice surroundings and close to subway stations (3 to 5 streets). Small rooms and few closet space but comfortable, nice bed and good sleeping experience. Don’t expect a big and imposing lobby, it is rather simple and small. Service very good and staff very collaborative and friendly. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for positively noting our Excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had a reasonably good stay at this hotel. It is close to the Park and theatre district. Also very close to subway stations making it easy to get anywhere quickly.
The staff we dealt with--with HUGE one exception--were fantastic, helpful and very professional. Thank you Greg, Bianca, Kelvin, Nathan, and our cleaning people on 34.
The room was really clean and well thought-out considering the limited space in a typical NYC room. The room had enough room for easy access to suitcases and enough room for two people to be comfortable.
The bed was firm and linens had a nice feel. The bathroom was spacious, the shower had good water pressure. We were very happy with our room--and even though we were right across from the elevator it was extremely quiet.

We were on the 34th floor and had a few problems with the slow elevator being used by hotel employees. One night we were heading up to our room after a late dinner and an employees stuck his hand in, re-opened the door and took us down to the 5th floor basement. NOT cool.
We also asked for help with a cab on Thursday 6/19/14 about 9pm and were told by the desk person and a MANAGER on duty that the bell man was delivering room service so we were out of luck. It was pouring outside. Again not cool. Actually Hilton you should have bell/door people all night. When we arrived originally at midnight there was no one to help us with bags. This hotel is always busy so there is plenty of money coming in to pay for this position.
Also finding out there was a fire system test for two days as we checked in is really slimy. Send an email and give us specific details so we decide if we want to find some place else to stay.

Overall the glitches were out-weighed by the great room and central location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lori v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review and noting our great guestrooms and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,899 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing