We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #198 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel seems very new. All the staff were extremely nice... trust me, a rarity in New York. The room (two queens) was small... but that's what one expects in New York. The beds were very comfortable, with soft linens and pillows. There was a sliding door on the bathroom... which I really like, it makes the room feel a little bit bigger. The comments about the elevators are unwarranted. Big elevators, three of them. All working just fine while we were there. Good breakfast in the attached restaurant. And the location was just right. Walked to Cinderella, Newsies, Times Square, MoMA... ran in the park in the morning. (Relatively) short cab ride to the Met Museum of Fine Art. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tldearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive commentary on our newly upgraded efficient elevators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    967
    261
    103
    43
See reviews for
639
885
151
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here back in January, one week after opening. We were very impressed. Not so much this time. Few minor issues, some resolved, some not. We did have a front room and enjoyed the view. Would only stay here again if the rate was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank CTKaren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for not meeting and exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we may discuss where exactly we fell short so that we may correct our shortfalls for you and our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown Deer, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Not enough elevators. There always seem to be at least one broken one. Plus got stuck on one for 40 minutes. Nice hotel, but the elevators stink. Rooms are clean. Small rooms, but expected for downtown NYC. Hotel staff very friendly. But again, more elevator space. Waited 15-20 minutes for an elevator every time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the elevator issues you encountered during your stay. The hotel was undergoing a NYC annual elevator inspection over the dates in which you stayed, hence the disruption of our lateral transportation. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a great hotel with a good location. David Letterman is close around the corner. Quick walk to Times Square and Central Park. Close to all the attractions. Did not need to take the subway once to get to all the locations we wanted to see as they were in close walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and sharing your recent positive experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel had a great location! Just felt the bed was not as comfortable as other hotels & the sheets were stiff. The staff was friendly & overall it is a good hotel. It is on a quieter street, so you don't hear much of the hustle & bustle of the city from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMN-SSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review and please accept our apologies for the "stiff sheets". I have addressed your concern with our laundry department and we have taken corrective action in utilizing an enhanced softening cleaning product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent Hotel. Great location. Highly recommend. Staff is great - fast and efficient. Restaurant is ok, but this is very minor. There are so many places around this hotel. Fitness center is very well equipped. Business Center have 4 computers and two printers. Everything works great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Zenovy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and highlighting our great Team and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved this hotel! It is very recently opened and hence all facilities are new and clean. It is very conveniently located close to the central park and times square attractions. The room service is not very quick and the housekeeping staff do not clean the room extremely well. However, given that everything is new here, it was ok after all. The hotel offers free wifi, a microwave, and snacks bar, which even made our stay much more pleasant. The Empire Steakhouse located by the entrance offers a great breakfast buffet and delicious a la carte dinner menu with very large portions. The staff there are extremely friendly,too.

Room Tip: Pick a room at a high floor for a good New York view. However, note that you have to wait a bit for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ataha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. Please accept our apologies that our housekeeping department did not exceed your expectations, I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping Team and we have taken corrective action as we are committed to delivering top notch service in all respects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,890 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing