We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was there with my daughter for a couple of nights back in april. the staff were very friendly and truly exceeded our expectations. Parking was not a problem and you can park for free nearby, on some of the roads on weekends. Our room was very nice and clean. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Thank you guys :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    945
    256
    100
    42
See reviews for
624
863
147
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 5 nights on a recent trip to NYC. This hotel was perfect! It is centrally located and close to all subway lines. The staff was friendly and we always got a welcome back upon our return to the hotel. The hotel is very clean and we only had one time where we opted for the stairs due to long elevator wait times. (We were on the 9th floor and going down). Kudos to Bianca and Harrison on their friendly service! Would definitely stay at this Hilton Garden Inn again on my next trip to NYC.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank atrainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to highlight specific Team members for their Great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well, when people say things happen for a reason, that is truly the case with my most recent experience. All I can say is thank goodness for Hilton Hotels. I am a Hilton Honors member. I unfortunately had to take an unplanned business trip to NY, and found that all the Hiltons in the City were booked solid. So, I booked a room at the Lucerne. HUGE mistake! The place had a roach infestation, smelled horribly, DOES NOT have 24 hour room service, or secure wifi. I had the police called on me, and was asked to leave the Lucerne at 6:00 in the morning, because I complained about the roaches, and wanted a room change - which they never even discussed with me. After being at that hotel for only 5 hours, I was billed over $460 - even though they asked me to leave before I was supposed to. I first went to the Hilton on West 57th, and they were, unfortunately booked. After explaining my humiliating experience with the Lucerne, the young lady (sorry I forgot your name Sweetie) at the reservation desk worked to get me booked at the New Hilton Garden Inn on West 54th. Once I arrived at 8:30 am, I found the normal check-in time was 3 pm; but, was promised an immediate room once housekeeping opened at 9 am, and cleaned a room for me. Suffice it to say, I was in my nice, clean, comfy room by 11am, and was a happy camper. Everyone, except the evening concierge on Sunday - she was a pistol, was extremely professional, and it felt like being surrounded by family. Thank you guys for incredible experience!!!! Giving you all a shout out on my show!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bytheby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. While I am sorry to hear about the poor experience you had in the hotel you noted, we are delighted to learn that we hit a home run for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back as a return guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We couldn't be happier with our stay at The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park. It is so conveniently located between Central Park and Times Square and half a block off of Broadway. It was a great price considering the location and fairly decent size rooms for NYC. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and we appreciated having a fridge, Keurig machine and complimentary wifi which is was actually quite fast! I would most definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rupes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review and positively noting our awesome amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was a good choice. The location is close to everything without being right in the middle of Time Square. Our room was clean and fairly modern. The room does not have any bells and whistles, but who spends time in a room in New York. We did use the fridge. The lobby was well kept and the staff was great. The hotel breakfast was nice and the wait staff was wonderful. Although this is not at the top of the Hilton chain, the service was tops. I am already looking to book this hotel for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for posting your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Checked in with confirmed reservation for a deluxe terrace level through Hilton Hhonors app.

Front desk gives me a key to standard room next to the elevator. Does not explain that the room and rate that I have reserved and confirmed is not available.

Really?!? Just let me check in and hope I don't notice?

When I return to front desk to inquire about the room, the front desk guy asks me for a letter that confirms the specific room type. I offered to give him my confirmation number. But he says "No, I need to see the letter." What?!? Letter?

Shame on you Hilton... This type of used car salesmanship should not be a part of any Hilton property.

I will not comment on the quality of the rooms.

There is nothing worse than starting off your stay with a terrible checkin experience. Not the room that you reserved and agreed to pay for. And worse, they give you a lesser room and hope you don't notice.

Take my advice and double check to see that the room that they give you is what you paid or agreed to pay for.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jinsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please know that this is not normal practice of our hotel and we apologize for the mistake made with your room type.
Please feel free to contact me directly so that we may further discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel. The room looked very clean and was updated. The Hilton Garden Inn brand has been consistent in quality and standards no matter where I travel. I appreciate not having to pay a surcharge for wi-fi access and am far more comfortable here than the larger, more expensive city hotels. Great rooms and great value for NYC. Great location near everything. I will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: My room faced the front of the building. Not much to see in NYC but buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMXMetroLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing