We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Imperial Court Hotel
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Really great location. Had to change location from Chelsea to somewhere uptown due to Hurricane Sandy and found this place. From the get go, the staff were really helpful. Some guy called Chris was really helpful when we had called asking about the hotel.

The rooms are very small though but at least there is a kitchenette!the house keepers do a reasonable job of cleaning the room. Stayed here for 9 days. Really close to awesome cafes, Brother Jimmy's (!yum) and heaps of bottle gas and shops (Loehmanns is only a couple of blocks away), Beacon theatre is a short block up, really close to subway too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    157
    155
    64
    88
See reviews for
89
205
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This hotel should be condemned. I have to stay here 14 days because our house in Rockaway Park was completely destroyed by the hurricane. As someone else said, 1 star is too much for this hotel.

The entrance to the hotel, and the lobby look amazing, you would think it is a 5 star hotel. Our first problem was the luggage cart. It doesn't fit on the elevator. It is only good for taking your bags off the street and bringing them into the lobby. We arrived on the 3rd floor, and the smell immediately hit us. It smelled like old food and cigarettes. The carpet is indescribably disgusting. Old, stained, and dirty. The walls in the hallway are cracked and dirty.

The room itself is tiny and incredibly dirty. I am not exaggerating when I say this room hasn't been cleaned in years. The floor is sinking in, and sometimes I wonder if we will fall through. The ceiling has water damage, and the paint is peeling. The molding is covered in years of dust. The drapes are from the 70's and are filthy. We were promised a queen bed and it's a full bed at best. First thing we did was discard the sheets and blanket and went down to Tj Maxx and bought new bedding. The bed itself is hard and squeaky. I don't even want to know what's inside the mattress.

The TV is an old 19" tube TV. The refrigerator works but had hair in it. We asked for a kitchen since we are displaced from our home, and got a microwave, sink and fridge. I told the manager we were promised a kitchen, and he said "you have a microwave, that's a kitchen".

The bathroom is moldy and falling apart. It has a toilet that you would see in a public bathroom. The "sink" is more like a bowl. The shower is too small to even turn around in, and the curtain is covered in mold. Of course the drain barely drains. We are wearing shower shoes while showering so we don't catch a disease. We are also wearing sandals while walking on the carpet. The water is warm at best. It's only November 1st, not really that cold yet. The radiator does work however. It's piping hot.

All hotels are booked in NYC because of Sandy, we are forced to stay here. In the grand scheme of things, we still have our lives.

That said, if you are vacationing, or here on business, do not stay in this hotel. Don't even try to be a tough guy after reading this review thinking you will prove me wrong. I am not a picky person, I am an active duty Marine, I don't require a lot of amenities. This place is harmful to your health. I had better living conditions in Afghanistan.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casedizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

How come all the easy book.com guests at this hotel have good things to say about the dive.....the place is still a dive. It's dirty, unfriendly, and there are far better places around. I didn't bother checking the hot water. It's dirty dirty dirty......great area but this hotel should be closed......there is no excuse... For such appalling place

Room Tip: Was with a friend and as they had booked I had no say in the matter. However on arrival at the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC-newyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We checked into the hotel on Oct.4th.at about 9:00 P.M. I had booked 2 rooms on line as that is the only way reservations can be made. The desk clerk who was pleasant enough only had one room booked. We were able to get 2 rooms since I had the e-mail confirmation with me. When we entered room 320 the first thing we noticed was a dead cockroach next to the bed. better dead than alive. So on to room 420. This room was dirty ,with a filthy carpet that appears to have never been cleaned.The air conditioning unit was of the window type which was o.k. except when the drapes were closed ,the air from the unit never entered the room.The drapes needed to be closed a night to block out light and for privacy. Room 320 was not serviced one occasion and room 420 was not serviced on several occasion's.One evening we returned to the hotel at about 5 p.m. to freshen up for the night. the room had not been serviced so I wen looking for the maid to get some clean towels an wash cloths but could not find her. I did find another maid and explained my problem to her she graciously gave me what I needed and explained that our maid had to clean the rooms on three floors. One one occasion when our room was not left clean towels I asked the desk clerk for some and he told me that house cleaning staff was gone and we would have to wait until the next day for the towels.Now here is the kicker the hotel only rents for seven days so if you find yourself in a situation where you would like to check out early you can,however you are stuck with seven nights charges. our party decided to leave a day early knowing we would forfeit a nights charges,but it was worth it. So, I proceed to check out and the charges for our stay were greater than those confirmed on line. Even though I had proof that the price I was contracted to pay was less than I was being charged the manager would not reduce the hotel bill to meet the contracted price. I will e filing a dispute with my credit card company as well as informing the powers that be in NYC of this contract violation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 967Casey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#385 of 468 in New York City
648 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
4,854 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#237 of 468 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Court Hotel

Property: Imperial Court Hotel
Address: 307 W 79th St, New York City, NY 10024
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Court Hotel, with its grand marbled lobby, offers newly decorated and well appointed accommodations for the business or vacationing traveler who requires an extended stay. Imperial Court is a unique hotel, appealing to those who do not want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of congested Midtown. Yet they can expect front desk and security service, room service, two elevators, laundry room, and baggage storage. The kitchenette found in each accommodation adds to comfort, convenience and the affordability of your New York City stay.Location-Location! Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts - Central Park American Museum of Natural History-Hayden Planetarium-Cathedral St. John the Divine-Zabar's, Fairway, Trader Joe's-Broadway Boutique & Discount Shopping Columbia and Fordham University. Strawberry Fields - Children's Museum of Manhattan. And...The nightlife of the vibrant Upper West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Court Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing