We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food”

Tonic Bar - Times Square
Ranked #19 of 868 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2004. Tonic has been in the center of the action for over a decade, in the heart of Times Square, New York. A staple among both locals and international visitors, it has earned the name of "The World's Neighborhood Sports Bar." TripAdvisor ranked as one of the top 20 nightlife venues in the city beating out over 800 others! This three-level bar, lounge and restaurant offers a comfortable escape among the bright lights and flashy screens of Times Square. Giant TVs hang behind the first floor bar, where local business folks mingle with tourists. A striking red dominates the cavernous main floor, while the second and third feels more intimate. Nightly karaoke and DJs keep the energy moving. For beer lovers, the tap selections cover ample ground, from Bass to Yuelinging (30 in all). Of the fruity, brightly colored martinis, the mandarin delivers a nice kick without tasting too sweet. The menus are always fresh with weekly specialties and seasonal offerings. A perfect spot for Lunch, Dinner, or a Late-Night bite.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stopped here to re-fuel midway through the day. This was a great find. We were able to sit right by the door and people watch. The food and drinks were wonderful and very reasonably priced considering the location of the bar. The Tonic Punch is awesome! Good service as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank beens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    129
    35
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pincourt, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great food, price, location!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a late lunch here on a Friday. We each ordered a meal from the $9.00 lunch menu. We had the Tonic Burger, a chicken stir fry and the Asian salad. All were yummy with lots of flavor and ample portions (not over-the-top massive meals). We sat inside the door with a great view out onto Times Square. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. If we get back to NYC we'd gladly eat there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReviewByKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy hour! Great food!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place was great for drinks and food! We went twice while on our trip. It seems like locals place but it's in a touristy location. Happy hour was fantastic, the atmosphere was loud and you can tell its a after work spot! TV's are all around. I only had one complaint. We are not smokers but for some reason cigarette smoke was making its way through the bar from outside. A little annoying but we could have sat upstairs to get away from it I guess.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find in Times Square”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I went here for a few drinks as they had a fantastic happy hour. It was cheap great service and lively atmosphere.

We ended up going back the next night again for happy hour and decided to get dinner there as well. It was very well done, cheap and again the service was great! it was very busy both nights we went. There are a few big screen TVs over the bar if you are a sport lover. It was a place that seemed very versatile - go there to meet new people, after work drinks or for tourist like us that wanted a cheap happy hour and cheap yummy food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shara May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food at great prices in Times Square. We had lunch here for only $9 each and were so impressed with the food and the service that we went back for dinner! Excellent food and great value for money which is fantastic in such a tourist hot spot. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marysnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tonic Bar - Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Tonic Bar - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing