We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good midtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #363 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 December 2011

this is pretty much 'what it says on the tin'. basic facilities, for a reasonable price in a good central location. no frills, but clean, and a buffet breakfast to start the day. we had a double double, which was pretty close for comfort for three people, but to be expected this centrally.
(stayed October 2009)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel was updated and clean but cramped. I suppose that is a bit normal for that area of Manhattan, though. The proximity to attractions is really nice as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I didn't get offered an upgrade for being a platinum Priority club memebr member, however.

Overall, I'd stay again on rewards points. It would be very hard to pay $500 for a room less than 100 sq ft.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor that has the lobby right by the breakfast area and elevators. Avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCC868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The front desk didn't mention anything about the parking being blocks away and advise we leave our stuff before we park. We had to hull all of our luggage from the parking deck to the hotel. It was not fun. Then when we checked into the room there was not a mini fridge.The fridge they brought looked like to belonged in a working garage. IT was all beat up and huge. And because it was so big they had to take the chair out of the room to make it fit. The room is so small it doesn't even have a closet. I feel so cramped. Not looking forward to the next 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms are EXTREMELY SMALL so be aware of this before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ddana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We were a little dubious about staying here from all the reviews! On arrival for 8 nights we were told that the only room they had booked for us (we booked back in Jun 11) was a double bed.....um there are 2 adults & 2 children. It wasn't looking good but in the end he rearranged & we got 2 doubles - phew!!!!! The rooms are like a matchbox but hey we are in NYC & we only sleep here! The free breakfast is great, limited seating but we have not had trouble getting one & the hotel is completely dull! Location is good we are walking everywhere & it's about a 10 minute walk to Times Square (kids are 8 & 5!). The diamond district is interesting & if your not interested I suggest u avoid as they all stand outside trying to hustle u in. It's an absolute must to do the 9/11 memorial but make sure you book your tickets online that's the only way you can get the tickets. Also we used a go pass which yes saved us time buying tickets but there wA no express line as promised for any of the attractions! Also as we were here for so long we were desperate for a coin laundromat which noone could help us with - if you go to 9th avenue between 50th & 51st there are heaps of them!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel has very small rooms -- but that is normal for NYC. Our room was very adequate and included a 32" LCD TV and a coffee maker. The room was clean and quiet and we both got a good night's sleep. They have a free breakfast which is very good -- the usual Holiday Inn Express fare.

The location is excellent -- about a 7-10 minute walk to Rockefeller Center and Times Square. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a business center with a printer -- handy for printing a boarding pass. Since our flight was not leaving until 6:30 PM, we were able to store our luggage after checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyr1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in February 2011. The location was awesome mainly due to the price and location.

Pros:
1. I got a Friend and Family discount (but the original price was already very appropriate for the location and I would've stayed here either way)

2. Location - Very centrally located in terms of subway stations, right in between Times Square and Grand Central Terminal, very convenient. Close to 5th Ave for buses as well (and a Chipotle couple doors down!)

3. Free Breakfast! I am always impressed with free continental breakfasts that has more than donuts, toast, OJ, and coffee. It was a pretty good variety, there were days with biscuit and gravy, omelettes, sausages. I mean it wasn't an excellent breakfast, but I appreciated starting my day with some food in my tummy!

Overall, I had a great experience, the staff was friendly (not too friendly were it just felt pretentious, but friendly enough that I didn't feel neglected!). They addressed any needs and concerns that we had, informative staff. In terms of the room, yes they are small, but it's NYC! What did you expect?

Only complaint I have is that housekeeping was a bit noisy in the morning, but I think it's because my room was located next to a closet or something. And that's why I sleep with ear plugs, then it's no problem at all!

Room Tip: choose a room higher up or in the back of the building as there are lots of street noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrispyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our room was small, and the sink area has no place to put toiletries, but it was clean and the beds were comfortably firm. Service was outstanding. Each request (towels, kleenex, etc.) was responded to with lightening speed. The breakfast was decent and the location couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeHighlandsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,188 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#336 of 469 in New York City
2,806 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#286 of 469 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#206 of 469 in New York City
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, IHG, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing