We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$216
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveller rating
286
590
243
77
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
590
243
77
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe breakfast areathe holiday inn expressrooms are smallrockefeller centerfree breakfasttimes squaregreat locationfifth avenueyogurtnew yorkcentral parktwo blocksking bedempire state buildingbudget hoteltea and coffeehotel room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the smallest hotel I've stayed in all my 42 years. Small as in narrow, with petit furniture more suited to the borrowers than your averaged sized human. We had a double double room for our family of two adults and two children aged 8 and 14. A rollaway bed was definately not an option that could have been considered. I wasn't expecting a room of palatial sizing, after all this is New York and the rates at the HIE are very reasonable. But if you're going to book this place beware that the wardrobe is about 12 inches wide and deep and there are three small drawers. If you decide to unpack there is nowhere to put your suitcases/bags. Its the first time I've ever had to use the top of the wardrobe for storage space! The bathroom is tiny, standing in the middle of the room it was easily possible to touch each wall, and there wasn't enough space for toiletries. The hotel is around 22 stories high with 6 or so rooms to each floor so although a higher room means you don't experience street noise, you won't be far from the lift which ever floor or room you're in. Breakfast is complimentary - bacon, sausage patties, scrambled egg, omlettes, mini bagels and croissants, toast, pancakes, cereals, fruit, juice and coffee but as with everything here the breakfast area is small and cramped and doubes up as the hotel lobby.
Housekeeping start early as do the business guests, so expect noise including the slamming of doors and housekeeping from around 6:30.
What this place lacks in space it makes up for in location - its perfectly situated between 5th and 6th Avenue with Broadway and Times Square a very short walk away and the Rockerfeller Centre. Grand Central Station and Central Park within easy walking distance as are many subway stations. There are lots of places to eat and shop locally and after all, you don't come to New York to stay in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stressedoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The location was absolutely perfect to walk to everything, only a couple of blocks to Radio City Music Hall, Rockafeller Center, the Museum of Modern Art, Times Square and all the Broadway shows, and the Hop On/Hop Off buses.

Only two elevators to service 20+ floors though made waiting a pain, and the breakfast was absolutely revolting...greasy eggs and sausage and a pancake machine from a bag that didn't even work sometimes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for this response. We are glad you liked our location. Your review of our breakfast selections is highly valued. There are many other reviews that indicate a high level of satisfaction with our breakfast. We will take a close look and eliminate any inconsistencies that may exist. Our goal is to achieve 100% satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Close to everything without paying the big bucks! Stayed Easter long weekend 2012 with family of four. Booked it via Expedia. Friendly and helpful staff. Very small room but we managed to make it work! Very clean and quite modern. Great beds! The lobby / eating area is very small and it's very busy at breakfast-time with the free continental breakfast. You can manage ok if you can hit it before rush hour at about 8:30am, other than that - it's hell and you may have to just bring your breakfast to your room. No parking garage with this hotel so you need to find one; there are several within a few blocks. No issues other than small eating area. Will definitely come back if the price is right!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueyesOttawa_CANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Location location location - brilliant location. just a short walk to everywhere, empire state 10mins, rockefeller centre 5mins, Times Square 5mins, Grand Central 5 mins, most broadway shows within 15 mins walk. Barnes and Noble bookstore 1 minute, 5th Avenue shopping just around the corner. at least 3 good delis within 2 minutes in street. restaurants galore..try "ceci" italian at 46 West 46th Street with Saturday night crooner, (26,50 dollars 3 course evening meal) Subway at Grand Central to everywhere, at Rockefeller Centre up to Central Park - West Side. Hotel lobby is very disappointing but staff extremely friendly and helpful (luggage left all day until evening flight), they booked a car for us to airport (ends up about same price as taxi without the hassle of stopping one which will take you, but make sure leave enough time in rush hour and know which terminal you are flying from! Breakfast is self service in lobby which means you might have to stand at sort of bar as only about 10 chairs available(or go before 8 or after 9), Food and drinks at breakfast all quite tasty once you have got over the busy atmosphere. Some people took trays to own rooms to eat. All trays, plates cups etc throw away! View from our room was of a backyard - but we were only in there to sleep and dump shopping, get ready for evening out..family of four (ages 52, 48, 16, 11) sharing smallest double room available, Room quality was very good but small for 4 but we expected that,,, our bathroom with bath was brand new and quite spacious. everything very clean. We were very happy here - and teh price we paid was excellent too. (loud air conditioning out back if you are sensitive but New York is so exciting and tiring we slept like logs. Definitely good valu efor money if you get a good rate. other tips: go to empire state for 8am no queues. Ellis island always long queues (Citypass does not really help you queue jump anywhere as so many people have one or similar). Indian restaurant ruchis 120 cedar street)near ground zero brilliant( and gazala's behind natural history museu (israeli druze food!!!) and Ellen's Stardust diner on broadway just has to be seen to be believed.....expecially for children but need some culture shock ..go there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mp_dortmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for the review! we are happy to inform you that we have received new tables and chairs. We have 35 chairs and 8 stools for the breakfast area. We look for ward to having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed at this Hotel in March for 2 nights for a quick trip to the City. Great location. Had tickets to a play and it was a 10 min walk. Yes the hotel rooms are VERY small but also very CLEAN and new and had what you needed. There were 6 rooms per floor and we did not have any trouble with waiting for elevators. I really have only good things to say. I travel for a living and go overseas on average of 5 times a month. The room was not that much smaller than the room I have in London. It is just a room for sleeping in and I have to say the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was your typical express. I would stay here again as the location was great and the price was really good for NYC. The bigger chains were more than double (with no breakfast). I am a club member and really have good luck with Holiday Inn Express as a whole. If you are looking for clean, good location and a parking discount at a garage don't look any further. This really works.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, we did and never heard any street noise at all.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capecoddmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews