We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had an extended weekend at this hotel, the location is brilliant for all of the sights and sounds of New York. As I travelled with my daughter we had a 2 double bedded room and would not say it was cramped, small yes but room enough for us. Good large TV the only comment of the room was the lack of milk - there wasn't any to go with the coffee.

Breakfast - this could be reviewed as to how it is set out as the space is very limited and always queues, also a lack of tables, probably best to take it to your room.

We arruved early and our room was ready on the 18th floor so little noise from the streets.

Would I stay here again - probably as the location is good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    530
    203
    64
    50
See reviews for
374
318
71
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent hotel. The room was clean, big enough for a business trip. I had delivered 7 packages and had no problems with their delivery. I had to ask a few times for them, but they save them and store them for me. People were super nice too.
The best thing: the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatiasSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

From the outside, the impression is fairly average. Stepping into the cramped lobby with its crowded breakfast area does not bode well either. But once you get to your room the impression changes dramatically. Its actually quite nice! In fact, I would rate it on par with a full-service Holiday Inn room. But remember this is supposed to be a 'Holiday Inn Express', which is the pared back version, lacking many of the facilities. But I would not have guessed that from my room: it was no different from a good standard HI room. Yes, it was small, but it lacked for none of the expected amenities, and the bathroom was also quite clean, modern and stocked with good quality toiletries and bath linen. The reason I was there was because Virgin Atlantic delayed my flight to London by twelve hours, so I decided to head into Manhattan for a few hours sleep. This is where it got interesting. Unfortunately, the bed (though well turned-out with good linen) was worn and its surface was uneven to sleep on. End result: not much sleep.

However, I was impressed enough by the rest of the room and the location to say that I would give this hotel another try in the future (and definitely for longer than a few hours). So on that basis, I give it a 3* now, but am willing to concede that it could be a 4* stay in the future!

If my report helped in your decision-making, then please take the time to click the "was this report helpful?" button located below. This is the only feedback I receive from you and I fully appreciate your response, dear reader.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ExLibris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear ExLibris76,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at our hotel. It's great to hear your positive feedback on the quality and amenities of your room accommodation as well as our hotel location. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of our bedding. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very small, lovely large bed but no room to move around it without bumping into each other!

One small closet to hang clothes in which didn't really bother us all that much but may be a let down to other people. No safe in the room, but there are coffee making facilities.

On the plus side, room was clean, the King size bed was very comfortable, we had a decent sized bathroom (compared to the bedroom) which also had a bath and shower. Breakfast is included, but can be incredibly busy and hard to find a table and chairs to sit at. Breakfast was ok, we are not big on eating breakfast so it served our needs well with a good choice of juice, coffee and even hot tea - which comes with a take out style cup so you can take it with you.

Only 2 lifts which seem to ignore the middle floor rooms and go straight to the top which can lead to delays and annoyance! A few unfortunate people ended up in rooms below ground, so I would always ask for a high room when booking as these seemed to be very warm and just outside the communal computer area. It also took ages to get our luggage when we came to leave - check in is after 3pm and check out is before 11am.

Would I stay here again, probably not. I'd have been disappointed if this was the first time I had stayed in NYC, as the view wasn't great from our room. If this is your first trip I would recommend the Novotel in Times Square and again ask for a high floor as the views down to Times Square are amazing. This hotel is ok for a business traveller who doesn't have many things and people staying on their own. Location is spot on for the area, not quite Times Square but its nice to be outside of that hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: This hotel has rooms below reception level - ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goonerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Goonerette,

Thank you for your candid review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. Let me offer our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Really enjoyed my stay which was for work, but as this is close to Times Square - I also managed to visit the places in the evening and get some personal leisure time. I do plan to stay again at this hotel if I were to visit alone or with family.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalsharma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at this place using IHG points before the devaluation. Therefore, the points we used is significantly less than it requires now. The location is perfect. You are in the center of midtown. Walk distance to Grand Central and many other places of interest. However, the room is so small, Sometimes, it is hard for you to turn around. The breakfast is so so. It is in the first floor in front of the reception desk. The wireless signal was okay for you to check emails, twitter and facebook. It was not fast for you to watch video streaming.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Alan W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in NYC due to fly directly onto Arizona but due to a mixup at the airlines end we could not fly out for another four days. The Holiday Inn was a saviour for us. The location is amazing, we walked everywhere and it was perfect. The rooms are big especially by NYC standard and very clean. The staff were so lovely and helpful. Really could not fault it and we will probably go back here if we go back to NYC.

Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing