We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Midtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #359 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Good Midtown Location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Make no mistake, this property is NOT located directly in Times Square. If you're familiar with Midtown, this property is about 2 of the "long blocks" walk to the Times Square area. It's at the corner of Fifth Ave and West 45th. A couple of great delis across the street, as well as a tourist shop. Irish pub a few steps away. The property itself houses about 6 rooms per floor, with a two elevator bank system. The lowest level has a computer for guest use that will print a boarding pass. The main street level of the property has a breakfast area - typical HIE breakfast - rather large seating for NYC, but can't possibly accommodate all guests so many people bring their breakfast to their room. My room was comfortable, my stay quiet and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and other information. This location is an easy walk to anything in Midtown, and about 3 or 4 of the "long blocks" to the main theater district. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    549
    215
    71
    64
See reviews for
404
329
75
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Rooms are very small but comfortable. Breakfast was GREAT! Hot items, cold items - and in NYC, for a family of 4 we saved a lot of $$ by having a big breakfast at the hotel. Tip - get up early to get a seat for breakfast. Even on a weekend in December, there was no one eating breakfast at 8:00 a.m. Location is fantastic - easy walk to Rock Center, St. Pat's, Grand Central, Radio City. Another tip - Book the "First Skate" at Rockefeller Center Rink. Starts at 7:00 a.m. - no crowds! Includes hot chocolate. Get on, skate, get off, head back to the hotel for an early breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen14220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location of this place is just fantastic. You can walk to everything from Times Square to Radio City Music Hall. Just wonderful. They advertised their parking fee at $35/day, but when we arrived with a cross-over vehicle, they jumped the price up to $47/day due to having an "oversized vehicle." Hmmm… Still took up 1 parking spot. Not that big of a vehicle. So that was annoying.

The room was teeny tiny, but we squeezed in. It seemed clean enough. The free breakfast was good and saved us a bundle on food that morning.

We had a good time and would use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Annabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on online, and it was great! The location is awesome! You can walk everywhere. It is a tad small, but heck it is NYC. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. The only thing that I would say is not perfect, is the breakfast area. It is very cramped in the morning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kkurth_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was small (two double beds), but spotlessly clean. Friendly and helpful staff. There were two adults and two young children in our party, so it was a bit crowded in the room, but the cleanliness and location were certainly worth it. The breakfast area is super tiny, so we took our selections up to our room; there were many choices of food items. All in all, nothing fancy but it served our needs perfectly. Location was perfect for the places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I arrived last night with a confirmed reservation only to have the front desk tell me my room was no longer available (“taken out of service”…likely overbooked) and that they were moving me to another hotel 19 blocks away (no longer in Times Square). They did this to a Priority Club Platinum member who probably has stayed at their property 25 times over the past few years, so I would recommend picking this hotel (not the Holiday Inn on 26th either, same ownership).

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0Fr0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue! I apologize that we were unable to accomodate you upon your arrival. We take our loyal members very seriously and appreciate the loyal business. I'm not sure what happened but would love to further discuss with you and see how we may gain your trust back. Please reach out to me at fom@expressfifth.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over thanksgiving. The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is that the room we stayed in was very small! There was also a mix up with my as I requested a non smoking room but didn't receive that but having booked through an Internet site there must have been some miscommunication. However when we went in to the smoking room there was no trace or smell of smoke so it was fine.

This hotel is not actually located on 5th ave but is about a 1-2 min walk to it! I couldn't ask for a better location it is also app 10-15 mins to time sq and along the street there are some nice Irish bars to get some food and drinks. We went to a pub called connollys which was really nice and fairly reasonable!

The staff in this hotel were really nice always had a smile on their face and always ready to help. Also included in the price was a free breakfast which was from 6am until 10am and 24hrs tea or coffee also free. For breakfast there was a great choice of pancakes, which were made fresh as you wanted them, fruit, eggs,sausages, bacon, toast, cakes, yoghurts and juice. All the food was really nice and fresh.

I would gladly stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anybody wanting to stay close in the city. It is a perfect location and also quiet at night as its just off the main street.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 467 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#99 of 467 in New York City
757 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#186 of 467 in New York City
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 467 in New York City
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Property: Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing