We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in New York” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas in New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Spent a week staying at the Holiday Inn over Christmas. We had 4 people in our 2 double room and we were very very cosy! There was no space to move besides getting into bed. Was a fun stay though. Bar down stairs was awesome. Became friends with two hilarious bartenders Larry and Ron who ended up showing us New York nightlife. Restraunt has great food too. Location was away from the hustle and bustle.
Would go back again but this time would get two rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestoholiday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Brittnee J,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are pleased you did enjoy your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Although, there is not much that can be done with the room size, it is New York City and real estate is at a premium. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    531
    203
    64
    50
See reviews for
374
318
72
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

First let me say this is a hotel in NYC so space is at a premium. If you only want a place to sleep after walking around the city then this hotel is an excellent find and probably the cheapest you will get for the cleanliness and safety of the area. If you plan to spend your vacation in your room then this hotel will be too small for you. The Holiday Inn Express is about a 5 minute walk from the New York Public Library (you can see what it looked like before it flooded in the movie The Day After Tomorrow) It's also about 15 minutes to walk to Time Square (get up early and watch them broadcast Good Morning America). One of the positives for this hotel is a complimentary breakfast and 24 hour coffee on hand. Clean rooms but small. Hung Yip Chinese Buffet next door make for a cheap lunch after your free breakfast (weekdays only though)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandCrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in NYC for 9 days and then the day before we were scheduled to leave our flight was cancelled and well, we needed somewhere to stay that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg!
After considering all the factors Holiday Inn Express turned out to be the best value. With a nice hearty breakfast and free wifi included in the price, you really can't argue.
During our 9 nights we got the opportunity to experience two other hotels as well, and I would have to say that Holiday Inn Express is leading the pack. The facility is well kept. The rooms were clean. And the hotel is quite comfortable over all.
If there is one area for improvement, I would say it's (some of) the staff.
The night we found out our flight was cancelled we decided to walk over to Holiday Inn and check it out, as we would be needing to make our move the next morning. We went inside and talked to the woman at the Front Desk and explained our situation. I told her, I'd found a rate of X dollars on hotels.com and asked her if she could match that, because I would have rather just booked there. The woman very matter-of-factly told me "no" and that I had to book online. What I really gathered was that she didn't want to stop whatever she was doing behind the desk to help me. I worked as a manager at a hotel for several years and I know that any hotel would rather take all of the money than pay a third party a portion of that reservation. Because that would make sense (and cents)!
Anyway, we needed a hotel quick, so we went ahead and did the booking online. And it turned out that there was lots of other staff that was quite helpful.
In the end, I do think we made the best choice. And I would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
1,028 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

You can't beat the location or the price, and there are sensational Turkish and Brazilian restaurants right nearby. The hotel is clean and well-run. The rooms are as compact (tiny) as I understand Japanese homes to be. The two double beds take up approximately 98% of the floor space, leaving a narrow pathway to a small desk space and about 10 inches to either side of the beds. If there are two of you, it involves dance moves to get to/from the bath. The bed we used wasn't the most comfortable ever, but we survived without serious problems. The most interesting thing about the hotel is the diverse clientele at the included breakfast: African gents here on business, two Eastern European tourist families with young children, a couple of Asians in their 20's or 30's....it was fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Dlosea,

First and foremost I wanted to thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue while in New York City; we know you have many choices while staying in NYC and appreciate to have been able to serve you. I am also very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and yes, Diversity is what New York City is about. Hopefully we will see you in the near future again and be able to provide another exceptional stay for you. Know that our hotel rooms recently under went a cosmetic renovation which we hope all of our guests will enjoy. Thank you once again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

As most travelers know, HI can vary widely since they are privately owned franchises.... My experience has been mostly positive considering the prices are almost always reasonable... in this case, the price was great... $100 cheaper a night than the Hilton I had stayed at... stuck in NYC b/c flight cancelled, I swapped hotels to save a few dollars. Didn't regret it.
Hotel itself is on a small footprint, so don't expect wide open spaces.... Staff friendly and helpful, great recommendations and directions. Nice lounge area doubles as breakfast area 6AM-10AM. Computer area in basement clean and easily allows you to print boarding passes.
My room was small (1 Queen bed), but I was solo no problems. Room was extra clean, bed comfy and no problems. Each floor only has about 6-8 rooms (I said it was a small footprint)... so rooms higher than my 9th fl might have a view... not that It really matters.

Did I mention you get a continental breakfast included? Sure, there are delis everywhere in Manhattan that might have better food, but they want money! Suck it up, have a bagel, and splurge on dinner!!!

Wish I would have stayed here instead of the Hilton at $240 a night...

Decent access to subways (B/D/F/M trains) within 3 blocks. Good bus access.... you really don't want to drive in Manhattan, do you?

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a great stay here. Superb location, comfy rooms, lovely & helpful staff. This hotel was great value considering you're in the middle of New York City. You don't need much more than this as you are only in the room to lay your head.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for this wonderful response and feedback! We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue. I will absolutely share your awesome comments with our team members. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit to NYC so that I can ensure another perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel is very close to times square. The rooms are very comfortable with the space thats available. Housekeeping was great, no issues. Breakfast was free and the cinnabuns never disapoint. Checkin was easy and checkout was a breeze.

Room Tip: request a room not facing 45th, the bars on the street and garbarge trucks are a little loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing