We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very small room and very crowded breakfast bar in the morning.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very small room and very crowded breakfast bar in the morning.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

The rooms are very small for the money and even though breakfast is included in the stay, the breakfast area gets very crowded during morning. This is in the main lobby so you also keep bumping into travellers checking out. Overall not very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VS_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    531
    203
    64
    50
See reviews for
374
318
72
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

The hotel is at 5th Avenue and 45th st. There is a deli/store across the street and one two doors down. We had a clean bedroom with king sized bed. The room is very small, but we spent three nights so unpacked our case and put it in a corner. This is the best thing in such a small room. There is a hanging wardrobe and three large drawers as well as two nightstands, desk and storage in nightstands and on top of wardrobe. You need to organize a bit to make it comfortable but we were fine. There is NO safe. There was no noise from street or outside our room, but the air conditioner was noisy. The bed was very comfortable and the linens extremely good. They supply a breakfast downstairs and it is a bit cramped when busy but is adequate. During the day it makes a useful place to sit after you have checked out. Wi-fi is free and fairly fast. The location is really great - walk to Times Square and most other places. Will definitely stay here again. We booked through the Holiday Inn website with no problems except they were full and our choice was a bit limited.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I booked through Hotwire. I indicated we were 3 adults. They booked us in a one bed room. The hotel never noticed that in the reservation it does say 3 adults. I even phoned holiday inn express to clarify this 1 week prior to departure. The hotel was full for 4 days and they brought us a sleeping bag instead of a roll in bed. Camping? at this hotel yes! at least for one of us. I paid more than 700 dollars and stayed for 4 days like this. I opened a case with Holiday Inn customer service. Nothing. No refunds. Same with hotwire. I am still waiting for another refund from them for another mistake. No news yet. Now I am in Boston. Hotwire and Holiday inn in the same situation. Booked in a single bed room. Fortunately there were other rooms available this time. Again, Holiday Inn front desk person told me that when you get discounted rates you can't pre select your room. That's why despite of my 3 phone calls before arrival, the room was still single one because that is what hotwire did 3 times! I would not use them when you are more than 2 adults. Period. Still... waiting for the other reund... and I don't think Holiday Inn will compense me in any way. Here you have the pictures.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariscdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

I pre-booked this hotel with 4 people and non-smoking room. I got there and had a King Size bed and smoking room. I could not get my money back and they would not put us in a different room. Parking stated $35 per day but that is only for the first day and the parking is around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliachild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We spent the first part of our holiday in another hotel which provided a bigger room for 4 people. On our return to New York for our last night we stayed in this hotel. The Hotel is in a great spot, clean and pleasant staff. The only negatives were the size of the breakfast room which was really far too small to accomodate the amount of traffic and our room size. We could only open 2 suitcases at a time and then could not walk past each other without one person backing into the bathroom to allow the other past. Also couldn't open the door with case open.This is impossible to see on the internet when booking. It was just by luck that our longer stay was in a bigger room. It's a shame one can't get dimensions of rooms before booking. I don't know if all rooms for 4 people are that size but for longer than an overnight stay it would be really uncomfortable. Not wanting to finish on a negative note we also booked through the Hotel Reception a car to the airport which was good value, arrived at Hotel on time even a little early and our driver was a very pleasant chap.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusfamItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was our first visit to New York and being unfamiliar with the area needed somewhere to stay that was value for money, functional and within a reasonable walking distance of all the tourist destinations. Thankfully, this was a first class choice based on the original criteria. Yes, there were some blips (very minor), but this is to be expected as I did not expect five star service for two star costs. However, all issues were always promptly sorted out by efficient staff, who, in the majority were courteous and polite. I would never expect, or want, gushing service in America, especially in New York and with one or two exceptions (reception staff - not the whole team - one or two individuals ), most staff were fine and helpful. If you are looking for a base in New York that will not break the bank, is clean, comfortable and safe, I would doubt that you could beat this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotspurharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado and ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

I brought a group of college students to NY and we stayed here. The service was great - everyone was very friendly. The rooms are tight, but nicely updated and clean. Breakfast was included - and its a decent breakfast - eggs, bacon, etc. not just stale bagels like some places. i recommend it.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank moac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing