We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in NYC”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
Ranked #4 of 1,099 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best views in NYC”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A must - the views were brilliant - the service and welcome was also excellent, and I really loved seeing the skyline from this location. It is firmly on my itinerary for the next visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank McAllisterandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45,365
    12,894
    2,342
    368
    203
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was on my bucket list. I liked it better than the Empire State, as it had a better view of Central Park and a few benches where you could sit on. We went in early May, boy I couldn't IMAGINE what the lines are like in July. I don't think I would do the tourist thing in the summer months, the lines would be CRAZY.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zorka3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great 360 degree views of Manhattan”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The views from Top of The Rock are actually better than from the Empire State Building and the lines to access the observation deck are shorter as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hgreenleaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing views at night”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We were advised to do this at night. I can see why now.

We'd done Empire State the day before so had a good idea of the views but TotR at night is amazing, especially the view of the Empire State Building illuminated.

The lift/elevator up to the top is interesting and fun.

Beware that if you turn up to buy tickets on the day you'll be given a time slot when you can go up. We arrived to buy tickets at 8:45pm and had to wait until 10:05 to go up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a building art deco at its best we bought tickets in the uk so queue jumped best way todo it As there where queues

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing