We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would happily stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would happily stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Surprised to find accommodations so welcoming in NYC. Staff exceptionally attentive and personable. Seemingly aware that a weekend in Manhattan is a special occasion for guests, they go out of their way to make the hotel part of the experience and create a sense of luxury at a budget-conscious hotel. I suspect Hilton hand picked some of their best for this new assignment.

Double room slightly cramped but that's to be expected. Everything is fresh and clean. Comfortable beds, quiet AC, no noise from the neighbors or the street. Uninspired generic decor a little disappointing; could easily look more urban and upscale. Already feels a little dated even though it's brand new.

Conveniently located, very safe. Valet parking good for 24 hours. Appreciated luggage check at front desk before 3pm. Booked through the Hilton site, easily $50 less than any comparable room on discount travel sites.

Did not try the breakfast (Ess-a-Bagel is just a few blocks over...)

Room Tip: Long wait for elevators - stay on lower floors if you're in a hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback and your stay with us. The staff will always make the difference and ours are empowered to "go the extra mile"! We appreciate the elevator comments, we are working with the operational flow to minimize impact on the guests. Look for huge improvements for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    371
    108
    42
    28
See reviews for
364
291
91
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Brand new hotel. We stayed for the weekend. Great rate, great service, great location. The E train/subway is less than a block away. There is a self-serve ICON parking less than a block away on 53rd between 2nd and 3rd. The beds and bedding were comfy, room temperature control was perfect, and the place was spotless. Very quiet overall. Free wireless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saratogahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and 5 STAR review. Our location is perfect for all stops in NYC. The charm of the local area and easy access to NYC. Plenty to do next time you visit! Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I just came to the city for the night and the stay was amazing! This hotel is brand new and very clean! It's in a great location & the staff were always delightful. One staff member stuck out the most, his name was Eddie. He's so cheerful and nice. He was very personable and made sure that if we needed help, we got it. He's an amazing worker. Really made us want to come stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcapecelatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
5 STAR review! thank you so much. We enjoyed being your host. Eddie is always ready to assist in any way. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and new. Great location. Best for business and vacation. Small rooms, clean well equipped. Outstanding team, you never experience such devotion. Eddie and Michael are the stars.
The week point is the elevator, long waits again and again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Wissam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. Michael and Eddie make a great first impression and they will take good care of you for the entire stay. We are still working on the operational flow regarding the elevators and expect to see an improvement for your next stay! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great hotel. Close, convenient, and Brand New. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! Michael Brain was welcoming and cordial, and helped us solve a minor issues with the shower door (it wouldn't close all the way - it was out of alignment). He had the engineer on in that day and the problem was solved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyMcG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
WOW! thank you for the 5 STAR review! We really appreciate that you mentioned Michael and proud of him for taking ownership of your requests. Plenty to do next time you visit! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here for five nights as a family with a toddler. Staff is one of the best we have experienced, dedicated to excellent customer service - this includes every staffmember we have met (starting from the three very nice bellmen to checkin / guest services - thanks Thira at the front desk). They give you the feeling of staying at a boutiquehotel, at the same time making sure to meet a very high and reliable Hiltonbrand standard. Rooms are brandnew, therefore very clean and well equipped. We had a lot of luggage and placed the suitcases on top of the small closet. We enjoyed the view from the higher floors on the backside. We never heard the elevator. Considering you are in the middle of the city, we could even sleep with an open window. Two-beds-rooms seem to be a little bigger. Breakfast was very good, Jeffrey makes great omelettes. Location is another plus: subway stop around the corner in case you do not want to walk, a lot of nice restaurants and bars and a supermarket on 2nd Ave. Coin laundry, a fridge in the room, excellent free wifi in the room, free water and coffee in the lobby are very convenient. Expect to wait a little longer for the elevators in the morning and afternoon when housekeeping is also using them.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmuc309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We hope you had a great trip home! We enjoyed being your host for your 5 day stay and looked forward to seeing Leo every morning! We appreciate the 5 STAR review and have shared the wonderful feddback with the team. Thanks for mentioning Ty, Michael, Eddie, Rashone and Jeffrey, we are proud of them for making such a nice impression. See you next March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is brand new and has a beautiful lobby and business center and friendly staff. I believe I was the first person to ever stay in the room I was in, so needless to say it was very clean. The room had two full beds and was good sized for a NYC hotel room. The bathroom was nicely appointed and there was a flat screen and several reading lamps in the room. It is in a great location in Midtown East and is close to Central Park South, FAO Schwartz, the Trump Building and Grand Central. The rate was high, but not bad for a clean, lovely hotel in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shutterbug44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 STAR review. We're so glad you enjoyed the wonderful and NEW accomodations! Please watch for our special summer rates coming out soon to add even more value to your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Address: 206 E 52nd St, New York City, NY 10022-6201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing