We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On balance a good hotel, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On balance a good hotel, but.....”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms were well equipped and average size for New York but we did have a problem on checking in. We arrived at 3 o'clock having pre booked 2 rooms but only one was ready. We were told the second one would be ready by 5 but we had to wait until 6 o'clock for access.
The position of the hotel was good for travelling around the city on the metro. Breakfasts were quite expensive around 17 dollars so we went to a lovely place around the corner called The Morning Star serving all day breakfasts.
The hotel staff were very helpful but we did have a few problems with the housekeeping side of things. Towels were changed daily despite the fact we hung them up indicating we would re use them. On one occasion the towels were taken away and not replaced because they had run out. This seemed illogical. We also had problems with replenishment of tea and coffee and toilet rolls, there seemed to be a lack of a check list for the staff servicing the rooms.
The hotel had 28 floors but only 2 lifts so the service staff had to use them as well. We were ok being near the top floor but anyone on the lower floors sometimes had to wait for ages before there was room for them at peak times.
We enjoyed our stay at this new hotel and although the friendly staff did their best to help us there are a few niggling details still to be sorted out.

Room Tip: Top floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. We are always working on the operational efficiencies and will continue to improve with your thoughtful comments. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    390
    118
    47
    28
See reviews for
394
309
93
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great place to stay in NYC. The location is perfect, right near the E train coming in from JFK. There's a Duane Reade's, Chipolte and lots of other things right outside the door. And it's close enough to walk right over to the heart of midtown. The staff is wonderful, very helpful. Any question I asked they were there to help, giving me a subway map and showing me the best way to get around, even telling me which subway stop by the hotel had an elevator down so when we left for the airport we didn't have to carry our bags down. The rooms are nice, maybe a little small but perfect for us. The only problem is our room was right next to the staff office for housekeeping (housekeeping was awesome by the way). But if you're there in the day you can hear them talking (which they have to do - you might just avoid that room if you plan on taking a nap in the day. We were so tired we didn't mind) Also the shower has no shelf or anything to put your soap or shampoo. You have to put it on the floor. But this is a great place to stay - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Billie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for the nice comments. I'm sorry about any disruption from staff. We will continue to fine tune the operation to maximize our guest experience. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excelent locations, excelents rooms (new, clean and good size) and a very good and fast service. I would definitely recommend this hotel, however be aware that it is just starting so there is still a few things to fix: elevators are working slow and might be insufficient for the amounts of floors/rooms. They might forget towels sometimes but they fix any problem in a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thoughful feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My 5 night-stay at this pretty new hotel was a memorable experience !
My room ,located on the 8th floor, had enough space to move around, the king-size bed was exceedingly comfortable, with a resting chair on its side,the bathroom was well equipped with plush towels and the coffee-making machine, the fridge and the microwave oven were definitely a plus.
However, the two elevators, catering for clients AND staff were clearly not sufficient and resulted at times in long ,long wait !! As for the staff, rather pleasant and helpful, they should be up to (high) standard in a month or two.
The location of the HGI was ideal for anyone wanting to visit most major museums in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamid z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Great feedback. Thanks so much for the candid comments. We enjoyed being your host and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

room was excellent, brand new linens, soft comfortable bed, location is great, will stay here again.close to the subway and excellent restaurants and other key areas. I just thought it was just a little pricey. but I guess that is what you get for all this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 STAR review! We appreciate that you took the time to share! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been open for only a month. There are still some grand opening kinks that need to be resolved. My room, 1706, the air was not working. After two failed attempts to fix, they moved us to 506. The third day of our stay they ran out of bath towels. After 3 calls and 45 minutes later, we received towels.

I am a HH Gold member and fully understand that some things just can't be helped. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The water pressure on the 17th floor was much greater than that of the 5th. May have something to do with the gravity flow system?

All in all, once the hotel gets "settled in" it is a great location for those wanting to be away from the crazy touristy area of the city. The subway is literally around the corner, so you can get anywhere, anytime.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank butler46203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate the feedback. There are certainly some areas that we are focused on as a new hotel. We will improve with your thoughful sharing and welcome your return to see. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozrah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel was in nice location - far enough away from times square that it was not too noisy. Subway right there. Staff and room were great. I recommend it. Irish Pub right next door. Must have 200 characters ans I've said all I want to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Carmelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
WOW! A 5 Star review. We appreciate that you took the time to comment on our new hotel and team! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#140 of 467 in New York City
1,022 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#146 of 467 in New York City
2,261 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#213 of 467 in New York City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Address: 206 E 52nd St, New York City, NY 10022-6201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing