We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Memphis, United States
1 review
“New Hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very nice new hotel which opened 6 weeks ago; a quiet place to stay in NYC; however, showers not yet finished, no where to place soap or shampoo except on floor. Shower stall door leaked badly. Excellent fitness center. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for commenting on your stay. We are still working on the finishing touches and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    390
    117
    47
    28
See reviews for
392
308
93
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just spent 4 days in New York and loved this hotel. Clean, modern, and great location. The staff is EXCELLENT. Very helpful and friendly. Eddie, the concierge, was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. We had a late flight home on our last day, and at checkout, Eddie made arrangements to hold our luggage while we did some final shopping. The only reason I didn't rate the hotel with 4 stars is that housekeeping is lacking. We found trash from previous guests underneath the bed. Also, they would only leave 2 bath towels for 3 registered guests. However, the most upsetting issue was we found our room unlocked and the door ajar upon returning to our room after it had been cleaned. We did speak to the front desk immediately and they were extremely apologetic. We were assured that they would speak to housekeeping.
Even with the housekeeping issue, I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We enjoyed being your host. Thank you for the nice words regarding Eddie and the team. I'm sorry for some of the inconsistencies with your room preperation, I have shared your feedback and we will continue to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to comment. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very new, but not that new anymore that all can be forgiven.
The "+" : 1) its ideal location if you want to stay in Midtown (you can walk to nearly every interesting point in the area and if/when too far, there is a metro station 1 block away that will take you absolutely everywhere; 2) the decent size and amenities of the (king/city view) rooms, 3)the friendly staff;
The "-" : 1) the waiting time for the lifts is really a killer, especially so as there is no air conditioning in the hallways (you can at times really wait for 10 full minutes and walking the stairs is not really an option when your room is up in the 20's); 2) the unfinished bathrooms (although mentioned several times, there still is no support for your amenities in the shower, which means either use the floor - no fun for your soap brick, or your imagination like a plastic bag hanging on the towel rails), 3) the absent mindedness of the cleaning teams (day 1: coffee and sugar not replaced, day 2 bath carpet not replaced, day 3 plastic bags not replaced in bins, day 4 cleaning cloth forgotten in the bathroom - nothing serious, just not right) and 4) but not least : very bad sound insulation which means if you are unlucky, you'll be awake all night for the doors and corridor talks of your floor neighbors. Having booked the hotel as part of a flight/hotel deal, I cannot form an opinion on the value for price of the hotel, but I regretfully doubt I'll be back if/when I next come to NYC.

Room Tip: City view simply means higher up (not sure where they start but 15th floor was still "standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We are just starting the finishing touches regarding the showers and will have them completed in time for your next visit. We are also makeing progress with the elevators by shifting operational timing more to off hours so as not to conflict with guest use. thank you again for sharing the feedback, it's a gift we will use to improve.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent 5 days at this hotel. Very modern, very clean, and great location.
Staff is excellent and specifically Eddie was most accommodating. Greeted my every day by name, provided excellent recommendations on how to go places, and just took excellent care of me any my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
WOW! Thanks for the 5STAR review! I will pass your kind words on to Eddie and the team! Hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We just stayed here for 8 days, and LOVED IT! Loved the location, the staff was incredibly friendly, and it was great! My main complaints are definitely lack of shelving in the shower. So gross, and annoying to have to put everything on the floor. The windows were sort of thin, no real radio in the room, and the elevators were horrible. We were lucky to be on the 3rd floor, and never used the elevator. We always took the stairs, and it was really fast. the room was new, and fresh. Good TV, comfy linens, and I really enjoyed staying here! The late night bartender (I forgot his name) was the most friendly guy ever. He even made my daughter a cheesecake after the kitchen was closed. Very nice and friendly = - almost wish I could have hung out with him longer! All in all, a very great hotel - will definitely stay here if the price was as good as I got it this last time.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on lower floor to avoid the elevators - since there really isn't that gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imdesired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 STAR review! Your feedback is really appreciated. Tomazs is the evening bartender, I have shared your kinds words. We are just starting the finishing touches on the showers and have taken steps with the elevators as well. Hope to be your host again in the near future!
thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in md June (Saturday Sunday). Extremely courteous staff. We landed at 7AM and were allowed to check-in immediately. Very friendly staff. Great location for all attractions. 15 minutes walk to Times Square. The entire family loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
thank you so much for the 5 STAR review! The staff will always make the difference and I'm proud of ours! Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We selected the hotel for the location and for the amazing promotion. Brand new facility with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was plentiful with omelette bar and waffle iron. Short walk to the subways and only a few stops from 5th Avenue and all the midtown Manhattan attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Yu-Min S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Great 5 STAR review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to enjoy the Garden Grille and Bar for dinner next time you visit!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#141 of 467 in New York City
1,019 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#149 of 467 in New York City
2,259 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#213 of 467 in New York City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Address: 206 E 52nd St, New York City, NY 10022-6201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West is close to exciting shopping, dining and entertainment for which New York City is known. Our hotel is located near top NYC attractions like Central Park, Times Square, Broadway and Columbus Circle Shopping. The Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South-Midtown West hotel offers two flexible meeting spaces with latest A/V technology and complimentary 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and onsite dining at the Garden Grille & Bar with room service options available. Feel at home in our inviting guest room with comfortable beds, 40-in LED TV, premium channels, complimentary WiFi and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. Rooms also include microwave and mini-refrigerator. Upgrade to one of our suites for more space and city views. The hotel offers baggage storage at the front desk and area shuttle for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing