We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! We'll definitely be coming back.”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay! We'll definitely be coming back.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Blue Moon is a renovated historic hotel with lots of charm and warmth. The rooms are larger than the average in New York, clean, comfortable and decorated with antiques. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about NYC and the lower east side restaurants, shopping etc. The Tenement Museum is next door...definitely a "must see" if you're interested in NYC history. Many music venues within easy walking distance as well as shopping areas in SOHO and Orchard Street. In short, if you want a more intimate, historic stay in New York, we'd say BLUE MOON HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    133
    45
    33
    64
See reviews for
107
199
83
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Blue Moon because we wanted a different experience from the touristy midtown/Times Square stuff. This hotel situated us beautifully to explore the Lower East Side and still have easy access to the subway to get up to a Broadway show on Sunday. The rooms were very spacious by NYC standards and nicely appointed. Very clean, quiet. Charming integration of artifacts found during the renovation (my bedside table was a tiny antique stove!) Breakfast is sparse but fresh. Lots of nice touches for lovers of the entertainers of the past. What you see on their nice website is exactly what you'll get. Be sure to get pizza at Rosario's (2 blocks away) and say hi to Sal!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kisuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The rooms are large for NYC, and they're very clean. The bed is comfortable and the extra pillows are a nice touch. The bathroom is compact, but our room had an extra sink, so getting ready in the morning wasn't difficult.And the towels were awesome. Breakfast is excellent for a continental breakfast. The team that manages the front desk are very friendly and willing to help you find restaurants, transportation and tell you the history of the area. And if you find that you need to stay in, they have some vintage CDs that can be fun to watch. We'll definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: We reserved and paid in advance to get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestlessInBrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This is a great location, with nice rooms and bathrooms, and overall a nice helpful staff. It could be a fabulous place, but a few things are missing. For this price, you expect the little extra effort.
- Had to ask to have a ripped, plastic mattresss pad replaced.
- There are not lamps or tables on both sides of the beds - Asked if we could get a second lamp for bedside reading and was told that all the rooms were booked and there were none available...however it was clear that they were way less than half occupied for the entire weekend.
- Breakfast is bagels and small pastries with butter and cream cheese, orange juice, and very weak coffee...every day. There is a Starbucks 2 blocks away for real coffee - but good coffee is not that hard.
- Still, we will probably return - we had a lovely time, and felt quite safe wandering in at late hours.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WGG0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a business trip. We were greeted upon check in with a glass of wine (complementary of course) and had a continental breakfast upon departure. Everything in between was as wonderful. Being in Manhattan, at the price we paid, we got more than expected, both in service and cleanliness as well as quality of the room, quite charming!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank iluv2trvl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I have stayed 6 days in the Blue Moon (11-17 oktober 2010).
Next to China Town and Little Italy, this authentic thirties/forties design hotel is the ideal location in downtown Manhattan!
You are going 60 years back in time! Even the music in the lobby is taking you back!
The feel is 1930/1940, the features are modern.
I had the Marx Brothers Room, that had a big balcony with awesome views. Waking up, seeing the sunrise on your balcony, what more do you want!
The personnel is caring and sophisticated without an annoying slick attitude. So, real people!!
The price of the room is not for everybody, but it is worth it!
This hotel really is Hors Categorie!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy_Dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This renovated tenement with period furnishings is very cool and the service very good. However for the rather high price, it's not quite the luxury adverted. The bathrooms are kind of ordinary with plastic cups and rather thin towels. The mini bar is a refrigerator with a some soda and water to purchase and the in room coffee maker came with 2 decaf coffees only. And watch out for the late check out fees. With a ridiculously early 11:00 checkout they charge $25 for the first hour beyond that and 1/2 day charge beyond noon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
We’re glad to see that parguy99 appreciates the concept of our hotel, and more importantly, the service – for which we are known and which keeps our loyal guests coming back for more.

With regard to:

The prices: are median range for New York City. Our rooms are huge, and free continental breakfast is included in the price.

The bathrooms: they are anything but ordinary, with period-appropriate fixtures, deep tubs, and all bath amenities

The plastic cups: are individually wrapped for cleanliness and safety. Glasses in the bathroom are accidents waiting to happen.

The mini bar / refrigerator: is a generous 4.5 CF refrigerator, more than twice the size of most hotel refrigerators.

The decaf coffee: it was a forgivable human error that his room had only decaf. This could have been rectified with a simple phone call to the front desk. Did we have to find out about it on TripAdvisor?

The late check out fees: are clearly listed on the policies page of our web site, and which are necessary to keep traffic moving out and in of our 22 room hotel.

The check out time: is average for New York City, and again, it is necessary to enable the rooms to be cleaned on time for check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 467 in New York City
1,551 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 467 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing