We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with a soul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hotel with a soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Situated in my favourite street in my favourite area of NY this is a boutique hotel with a bohemian chic atmosphere. A beautiful building, the rooms are really large and furnished with character. The staff is is part of the hotel charm: it has something of a family business. Only minus is breakfast a little basic but otherwise a great place to stay if you hate corporate chains.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    125
    40
    33
    56
See reviews for
102
195
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is my new favourite place to stay in NYC! It is more like staying in a B&B but in the heart of the LES. The Blue Moon hotel was converted from a tenement building and still retains many of the original features as well as original artwork by the owner. When we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of wine which was a nice touch. Our room was large which is hard to find in NYC and had two floor-to-ceiling windows with a juliette balconey. In terms of location, it is about 2 blocks from the subway (F line) and there are a ton of boutique shops and restaurants nearby. Even though hotels claim the best rates are found online, I called this hotel and got a special rate that beat Kayak and similar sites. If you like the vibe of the Lower East Side and don't want to stay in a hotel with a corporate feel, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Our room (James Cagney) faced Orchard and got lots of light. The rooms on floors 6-8 may have smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveCaribbean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Learning that the Blue Moon Hotel is your new favorite place in NYC is a wonderful compliment to us. Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions of your stay, as we're pleased that you've kindly named us a little gem on the Lower East Side. We feel that the small details can make a big difference, so we're happy that you enjoyed our complimentary glass of wine upon your arrival. Did you know that our guest rooms are twice the size of the average New York City hotel room? This ensures that our guests always receive a spacious stay while visiting with us. Thank you for pointing out our close proximity to the subway. We'd like to mention that we are conveniently located near six subway lines F, M, J, Z, B, D. When booking with us, we know that our guests are going to receive the best possible rate and that is something that we're most of at the Blue Moon Hotel. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you'll visit with us again, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Blue Moon is a wonderful place to stay to enjoy what New York has to offer. As soon as you walk in you automatically feel like home. The lobby is filled with history,friendly staff and beautiful designs. The hotel rooms are bright and very spacious!!! From our room we could practically reach out and touch the Williamsburg Bridge- You cant beat it!!!- Each room has its own personality and has amazing views of the city. Great location to experience NYC.We will definately visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Learning that you felt at home as soon as you walked in our door is truly one of the best compliments that we can receive. Colorfully named after celebrities of the 1930's and 40's, each guest room offers its own charm and personality and we'd like to thank you for sharing your beautiful description regarding your stay. We especially appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the view from our guest rooms, as we couldn't agree more. Our balconies attached to most of our rooms provide our guests with breathtaking views of the Williamsburg Bridge and NYC skyline that are hard to find anywhere else in the City. We're happy that our location on the Lower East Side worked out well for your NYC experience and we look forward to your return to the Blue Moon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I am perplexed by the negative reviews of this hotel. My husband and I stayed there in June for a short layover before going to Europe. The front office manager, Louise, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful as was the charming Antonella. The room was spacious and comfortable. Coffee maker in room and very good breakfast in the morning. Transportation requests cheerfully accommodated. Charming, safe neighborhood for strolling. I just booked again for a night in October on our way back to Europe and looking forward to the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimilynn1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I just spent 2 days at this hotel and have found my new favorite place! It really is staying in
a museum. When we checked in, we were greeted as though we had come to see family. The
concierge Antonella spoke perfec sapanish,which is my firs language. Got free glasses of wine
and a history of the building, Which is fasinating;it was built as a tenement, and when the
hotel owner bought it, he renovate it but kept all the original ditails intact. everywhere you
look there are relics from the tenement days, such as refinished wood paneling, marble tiles
.and iron stoves. on display in the halls and event space are news clippings from the 1930s
collaged whith green stamps. Our room the molly picon on the 7th floor front had a balcony whith
a great view of the city.i had read about the views but seeing is believing.We could see the freedom Tower, Woolworth building, empire state building and chysler building. it`s the type of place you want to stay for a special occasion.Nex time I` d like to come with just my husband and me, and in the future I would love to have a family reunion wit my two sisters. thank you blue Mooon for a great memory

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith Fabiola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

One need only read management’s surly responses to the less-than-stellar reviews to get a good feel for the Blue Moon experience. Staff is eccentric, inhospitable, lacking in grace, and they view their establishment through rose-colored glasses. I can attest to the veracity of the poor reviews; believe them. Granted, the views are great, the morning bagels are yummy, and you won’t find many other NYC hotel rooms this spacious, but these attributes are equally matched by serious lapses. The beds, pillows and linens are sub-par for a hotel at this price, and the toilets don’t flush – definitely not a low-flow/environmental issue. The common lobby area, where a meager continental breakfast is available, is grimy – sticky floors, finger-print covered glass tables and dust. It simply was not clean. Management seems to take pride in the museum-like quality of their establishment, touting the art, the history and the preservation – all very cool. But the Blue Moon is, after all, a hotel and a hotel exists to care for its guests. The Blue Moon isn’t horrible; it would be a decent place to stay if rates were quite a bit lower. But travelers looking for “luxurious” and “lavish” accommodations (descriptions found on their website) will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We are a small local family owned business. We have only to do the right thing to please our constituents and we do. We are not part of a conglomeration, we have no board or shareholders. All reviews are subjective. You say the bagels are yummy while the previous reviewer says they’re awful. Only the facts count: they are made by Kossar’s a venerable institution. Truth, integrity, and respect are paramount and comments that are inaccurate, uncalled for or libelous demonstrate bad behavior. We do not reward a slanted perspective by groveling or feigning a perfunctory amends as typical chain hotels might for their anonymous customers. In fact people have come to stay at the Blue Moon because they found our candor refreshing.

Perhaps it is not as evident to you but there are reviews that are disingenuous or not straightforward. There are outright fabrications and vendettas. There are people who draw an imaginary line. Their mothers couldn’t please them and I certainly can’t. No normal person sets out to be deliberately offensive. If you see people and they make a mistake or are offensive it is better to correct them than to talk about them. Therefore we answer each reviewer accordingly. Please don’t confuse my straightforward NY style for surliness.

Regarding the beds and pillows: these comments are subjective as well and although the odds are in our favor I will simply tell you we use the finest mattress, Sealy Palatial Crest Pillow Top, the same as the Sheraton. However, it may not be to your liking. Our sheets have the count and our pillows have the fluff. Furthermore, our fabrics are custom and chosen to add warmth, color, and a homey serenity to the rooms. Mostly everything you touch is made by another human being. There is nothing sterile, cold, industrial or generic; even our “Do Not Disturb” signs I crafted out of wood and rope and graced with the fair face of the mistress of the Blue Moon. I selected and purchased fine fabrics and had all of the decorative throw pillows and quilts made exclusively for our rooms. I also must add I have six kids and visit and stay at the hotel from time to time in the family Deluxe (a rare find in NYC with space enough for 4 trundles, a queen and a 300 sqft rooftop terrace) and will confidently tell you the toilets are Kohler Devonshire and they flush. Just hold down the handle for a second or two. This is addressed in a framed list of helpful hints of the environmentally friendly products we feature.

Your expectations of breakfast as well as the value of a NYC hotel room are not in sync with reality. This is a city where you can pay $12.00 for a hotel muffin or $8.00 for a cup of milk for your child. Although our continental breakfast is gratis, taste is subjective and if not to your liking there are a myriad of choices right outside our door. In our elegant historical lobby, we have daily fresh deliveries of Kossar’s bagels and Gertel's fine Eastern European baked goods, as well as fresh fruit, spreads, juices, gourmet coffee & fine tea. We offer 5 varieties of rugelach and 8 varieties of tea. A complementary glass of wine is available on arrival or at your leisure and a free gym pass at a close by state-of-the-art facility.

Regarding the cleanliness of breakfast this is a first; usually Javier puts it out and he is impeccable. However, if during the course of the three hour breakfast the front desk and the cleaning staff were busy transitioning a full house I apologize. Nonetheless it couldn’t have been too bad because you still enjoyed your bagel.

NYC real estate is the highest in the country, not to mention the taxes; every square each must be paid for nowhere does 320 huge apartment style sqft translate as $250.00, our current season start price, plus 20% off advance purchase or any of the other yearlong specials. All our rooms feature: a queen-sized bed, secretary desk, state-of-the-art HVAC with individual thermostat, Sealy Palatial Crest Pillow top mattresses dressed with 300-thread count linens and draped with custom bedspreads and pillows, table and chairs, bar sink, lavish, period-appropriate bathrooms with deep tubs, hair dryers, all bathroom amenities. 4.5 cubic foot refrigerator, coffee & coffeemaker, free Wi-Fi, voicemail, cable, safe, alarm clock, iron & ironing board, and iPod dock.

This plus all the amenities and the most vibrant neighborhood in the city make a stay with us incomparable. Additionally, we have some of the most lavish rooms in the city. You stayed in our opening tier; however two thirds of our rooms have terraces; in fact the upper tier terraces are huge and have commanding views of the city as well as hydro massage tubs.

We have prestigious accolades and over 40 major articles and one unflattering article. You may support the less than stellar reviews and this one bad article but most people prefer the good reviews and the good articles. Quite frankly I do too; after all I gave five years of my life pouring my heart and soul into this project. I’m proud of what I accomplished; it was at great personal expense and against all odds. You cannot spend 5 years in this city without a hefty price to pay. This was a labor of love and I will say it till my dying day. Yes and that is why having this experience of staying in a former Tenement transformed into a stately 8th story hotel is priceless.

Yes, you are correct; at the end of the day the Blue Moon is a hotel. My wife Shain and I, as well as the charming Antonella, the erudite Larry, the happy and good natured Javier, and all the great staff fret daily about how to make our guests’ stay a more pleasant and meaningful experience. It is now 3:19 AM and I must bid you adieu; but don’t worry, we’re open 24/7.

Best wishes,
Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer of the Blue Moon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

As a man who was holed up In a five star Hilton in Liverpool for two months through work last year and in all that time felt no connection or above the minimum standard of hello good morning.This hotel was a breath of fresh air located in probably the coolest part of NYC the staff were attentive conversational and interested in what sights we saw in there fine city.A lovely room with excellent facilities always cleaned when we were out (even for a few hours) lots of advice what to see and what's good from the staff.Big thanks to Larry the concierge and antonnela the manager (I think very hip and laid back) for making our stay at this little gem so welcoming.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank domino d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonHotelNYC, General Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
When we read a review such as yours, there is a tremendous sense of pride that we feel and we're truly appreciative that you have taken the time to share your review with us, as well as our future guests. The Lower East Side is certainly an incredible area to explore and we're delighted that you have expressed such an appreciation toward this part of NYC. With trendy boutiques, fine International restaurants and attractions that embody the culture of our neighborhood, our staff is always willing and eager to direct our guests to the best places to go. It was our pleasure to make your stay here so warm and inviting and I will certainly pass along your kind comments to our staff members. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Blue Moon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing