We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York in Spring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New York in Spring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Last March I stayed a week at the Blue Moon and felt almost immediately at home. Upon arrival, the lobby / breakfast area / living and breathing heart of the hotel opened its doors and took me in, a home away from home.
The fantastic location in the heart of the LES is truly special and has a neighborhood which will make you feel welcome. The people at the Blue Moon are what makes this hotel special and stand out in a most positive way. Regardless whether you need information on transportation, tips for shopping, directions on where to get what (ask Antonella, she will know), where to eat (ask Xavier), you will be treated kindly and expertly and go away feeling like family.
The rooms are big and charmingly furnished. Each room is named after a great musician ranging from Benny Goodman to Duke Ellington.
If you expect the ultra modern and stylish outfit, this is probably not it for you. But if you are looking for some TLC in the LES, this is definitely the place to book.

Room Tip: The balconies on higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonHotelNYC, General Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
How wonderful that our staff made you feel right at home! Spring is a great time to visit our city, especially the month of March, and we're glad that you've taken the time to relive your visit with us. Since we strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service in all areas, we truly appreciate you sharing your experience at the Blue Moon Hotel and for mentioning our staff members by name. With intriguing attractions to explore and many hidden gems on the Lower East Side, we're always willing to direct our guests to the best places to go. With guest rooms that are twice the size of a NYC hotel room, luxurious bath amenities and the best assortment of breakfast items in the morning, it is our hope to create a home-away-from-home environment for each and every one of our guests. Learning that you walked away feeling like family is one of the best compliments we can receive. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your week-long visit to NYC and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lower East Side. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    125
    40
    33
    56
See reviews for
102
195
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have been to NYC a number of times but our most recent stay at Blue Moon Hotel has given us a new home away from home. It is a small boutique hotel with character. Located in an old tenement building and converted to a hotel, it is like visiting someone's home. The rooms don't have numbers, rather they have names. We stayed in the Jimmy Durante room. Large by New York standards, we had a large bathroom, sitting area and comfortable bed. Also a fridge was provided. The location is convenient to Katz's deli and Donut Plant on the East side with the subway very close. They serve fresh New York bagels every morning and offer. A glass of wine in the lobby. The decorating is kind of old but the black out curtains won me over, even if the room is orange! There is no doubt we will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam4est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Situated in my favourite street in my favourite area of NY this is a boutique hotel with a bohemian chic atmosphere. A beautiful building, the rooms are really large and furnished with character. The staff is is part of the hotel charm: it has something of a family business. Only minus is breakfast a little basic but otherwise a great place to stay if you hate corporate chains.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is my new favourite place to stay in NYC! It is more like staying in a B&B but in the heart of the LES. The Blue Moon hotel was converted from a tenement building and still retains many of the original features as well as original artwork by the owner. When we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of wine which was a nice touch. Our room was large which is hard to find in NYC and had two floor-to-ceiling windows with a juliette balconey. In terms of location, it is about 2 blocks from the subway (F line) and there are a ton of boutique shops and restaurants nearby. Even though hotels claim the best rates are found online, I called this hotel and got a special rate that beat Kayak and similar sites. If you like the vibe of the Lower East Side and don't want to stay in a hotel with a corporate feel, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Our room (James Cagney) faced Orchard and got lots of light. The rooms on floors 6-8 may have smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveCaribbean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Learning that the Blue Moon Hotel is your new favorite place in NYC is a wonderful compliment to us. Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions of your stay, as we're pleased that you've kindly named us a little gem on the Lower East Side. We feel that the small details can make a big difference, so we're happy that you enjoyed our complimentary glass of wine upon your arrival. Did you know that our guest rooms are twice the size of the average New York City hotel room? This ensures that our guests always receive a spacious stay while visiting with us. Thank you for pointing out our close proximity to the subway. We'd like to mention that we are conveniently located near six subway lines F, M, J, Z, B, D. When booking with us, we know that our guests are going to receive the best possible rate and that is something that we're most of at the Blue Moon Hotel. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you'll visit with us again, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Blue Moon is a wonderful place to stay to enjoy what New York has to offer. As soon as you walk in you automatically feel like home. The lobby is filled with history,friendly staff and beautiful designs. The hotel rooms are bright and very spacious!!! From our room we could practically reach out and touch the Williamsburg Bridge- You cant beat it!!!- Each room has its own personality and has amazing views of the city. Great location to experience NYC.We will definately visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Learning that you felt at home as soon as you walked in our door is truly one of the best compliments that we can receive. Colorfully named after celebrities of the 1930's and 40's, each guest room offers its own charm and personality and we'd like to thank you for sharing your beautiful description regarding your stay. We especially appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the view from our guest rooms, as we couldn't agree more. Our balconies attached to most of our rooms provide our guests with breathtaking views of the Williamsburg Bridge and NYC skyline that are hard to find anywhere else in the City. We're happy that our location on the Lower East Side worked out well for your NYC experience and we look forward to your return to the Blue Moon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I am perplexed by the negative reviews of this hotel. My husband and I stayed there in June for a short layover before going to Europe. The front office manager, Louise, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful as was the charming Antonella. The room was spacious and comfortable. Coffee maker in room and very good breakfast in the morning. Transportation requests cheerfully accommodated. Charming, safe neighborhood for strolling. I just booked again for a night in October on our way back to Europe and looking forward to the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimilynn1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I just spent 2 days at this hotel and have found my new favorite place! It really is staying in
a museum. When we checked in, we were greeted as though we had come to see family. The
concierge Antonella spoke perfec sapanish,which is my firs language. Got free glasses of wine
and a history of the building, Which is fasinating;it was built as a tenement, and when the
hotel owner bought it, he renovate it but kept all the original ditails intact. everywhere you
look there are relics from the tenement days, such as refinished wood paneling, marble tiles
.and iron stoves. on display in the halls and event space are news clippings from the 1930s
collaged whith green stamps. Our room the molly picon on the 7th floor front had a balcony whith
a great view of the city.i had read about the views but seeing is believing.We could see the freedom Tower, Woolworth building, empire state building and chysler building. it`s the type of place you want to stay for a special occasion.Nex time I` d like to come with just my husband and me, and in the future I would love to have a family reunion wit my two sisters. thank you blue Mooon for a great memory

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith Fabiola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing