We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at the Blue Moon”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #403 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second time at the Blue Moon”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I spent a night at the Blue Moon in 2009 (6th floor with a view of the Manhatten Bridge ) and 3 nights again in Jan. 2013 (5th floor with a view of the Manhatten Bridge). Much has happened in the neighborhood since last time. Lots of new fun shops (karma popcorn, cigar shop, superb restaurant called The Fat Radish....) and Tenement Museum has a new visitors center and more tours.
My daughter and I shared a room - the room as well as the hotel has lots of character with furniture and artefacts from the turn of the century. Some of the receptionists (2 men) were very service-minded and told us the history of the hotel, showed us around, gave us tips to local takeaways, etc. One female receptionist was less service-minded as private calls on her cell phone had top priority (rather than we guests). I love the location. I appreciate the architecture and many of the choices that have been made at the Blue Moon. But there are also certain things that could be improved. Please, give your guests top priority. Please serve breakfast that is a bit more interesting and healthy (I'm fine with a basic breakfast on bagels and cream cheese as it fits in with the concept - but couldn't there be some small yoguhrts and good cakes rather than those bought by the bag in a supermarket?) Please make the reception area more comfortable to relax in with better chairs that have the same high standard as the rest of the setting - and it would be appreciated if there was always a cup of coffe / tea in the reception for guests:) The otherwise nice reception area would be used more by guests for reading / socializing with other guests.
All in all, I would still recommend the place as is, but it wouldn't take much effort to improve the hotel imensely with these simple suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
We are delighted that you returned for a second stay and that our helpful and convivial staff could help make your NYC trip so enjoyable! Our cozy, yet spacious suites are uniquely designed with all of the luxurious amenities to make our guests feel right at home. Incidentally, the lovely Louise on the phone is a new first-time mom with a precious baby at home who she periodically checks in on. The project’s distinction is that we gutted a 5-story tenement and gave it a second life as a stately 8-story hotel, for which we have received over 40 major articles, accolades, TV and radio segments based on the sheer merits of the property.

The Blue Moon, an award-winning art history and design project is much acknowledged for our premium size, premium view and accoutrements.

Although continental breakfast is gratis; taste is subjective and if not to your liking try a myriad of choices right outside our door. Regarding the baked goods, there must be some confusion; we do not serve nor have we ever have served any commercial baked goods. The breakfast is gratis and beautiful, in a city where a simple hotel breakfast for two can easily be extravagant ($12 muffin; $8 glass of milk). We provide what are considered the finest pastries for your palate, embodying the culture of the Lower East Side. Our bagels are from Kossar’s, and Eastern European-style pastries (5 varieties of addicting ruggelach) from Gertel’s Bake Shop, as well as fresh fruits, juices, gourmet coffee, and fine teas (8 flavors). These hot beverages are available in the lobby anytime, and additionally each room has a coffee maker. Guests can regularly be observed having breakfast over their laptops conducting their meetings right in our lobby. In our elegant historical lobby you can lounge comfortably in the window seats or on our custom cushion packed benches.

I hoped you enjoyed your complementary glass of wine is available on arrival or at your leisure and a free gym pass at a close by state of the art facility. Rest assured: as we fret over our responses, so did we fret over every detail in creating the Blue Moon Hotel and making your stay a most enjoyable one.

P.S. 3 is a charm. We hope to see you soon.

Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    131
    45
    33
    63
See reviews for
105
198
82
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A lovely little hotel if you are into kitch, but there are some items travelers of which travelers should be aware. Top floor hot water pressure is lacking: how they expect one to fill the tub is beyond me. That tub also didn't drain worth a darn. Biggest problem is that the hotel is adjacent to "The DL," which advertises itself as "the newest hipster hangout in the Lower East Side." That may be, but what it really is, is LOUD until about 4:00 AM. The view from the top floor is nice, but I can't see anyone getting any quality sleep except maybe in the front rooms.

Room Tip: Seriously consider taking rooms in the front half of the building, and pack ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grumpysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your review. Kitch is not an appropriate description for the Blue Moon. In fact, it undermines the labor of love that went into creating a 5-year award-winning art history and design project. Blue Moon, more like a museum than a hotel, was a long sought-after vision where every detail was fretted over; and that is how we were chosen by National Geographic Traveler, and Allen Sperry’s 100 Best Little Hotels and over 40 articles including NY Times, LA Times, Toronto Star, etc.

Most recently the Blue Moon starred in a segment by Sino TV, which is now featured on our FB and website. The Waldorf and Trump were the previous choices of Sino TV. You could say the BM has been in good company. Furthermore “Grumpysix” didn’t mention the room’s 15 foot cathedral ceiling, hydro massage, and balcony with a view that made you feel like you are sitting on the Williamsburg Bridge . (Please see photos of view and room.)

Therefore, let’s just say a different adjective other than kitch is in order.

The Blue Moon wants to create a beautiful and unique experience for everyone; that is why we are saddened to hear about the inconveniences of “Grumpysix”’s stay. The Blue Moon is an 8 story building with a high tech pressure pump; on a rare occasion it needs to be adjusted. A simple increase in pressure automatically remedies the situation. Occasionally a hotel drain can slow up and is likewise easily cured. However, we need to be apprised of any snafus in actual time. The nuisance of a new club in the city that never sleeps coincides with the New Year celebrations. On that night most of our guests were in the lobby until 4AM. None the less the LES is notorious for running out of business any new establishments that test the limits of its neighbors. We will be on the lookout.

Thank you for the tip and sharing your review with us. Obviously it wasn’t all bad, since you gave us 4 out of 5 (if only we could approve of our loved ones accordingly) so if you want to give it another shot, call Antonella and next time we will try harder to please. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a terrific little jewel of a hotel. The rooms are spacious, the staff is amazing, warm, friendly and very helpful. Tons of great restaurants in and around the Orchard/Delancey neighborhood. Right across the street from the Tenement Museum. Great find. We'll stay there again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiyiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Spent an extended weekend at the Blue Moon in early December - our first stay in the lower east side. You'll feel like one of the family and part of the neighborhood by the time you leave. It's a busy area - so expect traffic and some noise. Close to Chinatown, Katz's Deli, the subway and the Meatball Shop! Safe and secure, a 24-hour desk clerk and a very helpful staff. Don't miss the Tenement Museum and gift shop just across the street, or the LES Welcome Center and the Roasting Plant for great coffee - both one block south on Orchard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had some fun in the neighborhood. Guests like yourselves are our raison d'etre. We hope to host you on your next visit to NYC. PS: the upper floors afford guests spectacular views of NYC as well as even larger spaces -- great for an extended stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Last March I stayed a week at the Blue Moon and felt almost immediately at home. Upon arrival, the lobby / breakfast area / living and breathing heart of the hotel opened its doors and took me in, a home away from home.
The fantastic location in the heart of the LES is truly special and has a neighborhood which will make you feel welcome. The people at the Blue Moon are what makes this hotel special and stand out in a most positive way. Regardless whether you need information on transportation, tips for shopping, directions on where to get what (ask Antonella, she will know), where to eat (ask Xavier), you will be treated kindly and expertly and go away feeling like family.
The rooms are big and charmingly furnished. Each room is named after a great musician ranging from Benny Goodman to Duke Ellington.
If you expect the ultra modern and stylish outfit, this is probably not it for you. But if you are looking for some TLC in the LES, this is definitely the place to book.

Room Tip: The balconies on higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonHotelNYC, General Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
How wonderful that our staff made you feel right at home! Spring is a great time to visit our city, especially the month of March, and we're glad that you've taken the time to relive your visit with us. Since we strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service in all areas, we truly appreciate you sharing your experience at the Blue Moon Hotel and for mentioning our staff members by name. With intriguing attractions to explore and many hidden gems on the Lower East Side, we're always willing to direct our guests to the best places to go. With guest rooms that are twice the size of a NYC hotel room, luxurious bath amenities and the best assortment of breakfast items in the morning, it is our hope to create a home-away-from-home environment for each and every one of our guests. Learning that you walked away feeling like family is one of the best compliments we can receive. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your week-long visit to NYC and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lower East Side. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have been to NYC a number of times but our most recent stay at Blue Moon Hotel has given us a new home away from home. It is a small boutique hotel with character. Located in an old tenement building and converted to a hotel, it is like visiting someone's home. The rooms don't have numbers, rather they have names. We stayed in the Jimmy Durante room. Large by New York standards, we had a large bathroom, sitting area and comfortable bed. Also a fridge was provided. The location is convenient to Katz's deli and Donut Plant on the East side with the subway very close. They serve fresh New York bagels every morning and offer. A glass of wine in the lobby. The decorating is kind of old but the black out curtains won me over, even if the room is orange! There is no doubt we will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam4est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Situated in my favourite street in my favourite area of NY this is a boutique hotel with a bohemian chic atmosphere. A beautiful building, the rooms are really large and furnished with character. The staff is is part of the hotel charm: it has something of a family business. Only minus is breakfast a little basic but otherwise a great place to stay if you hate corporate chains.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
838 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing