We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel BUT.......”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lake Placid, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel BUT.......”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

OK. I really really wanted to write a 5 star review BUT something has to be said about the noise. There is a nightclub (mentioned before in reviews) that is facing the EAST. So if you are in a room facing the east and its a night that the club is open. YOU WILL NOT SLEEP until 3:30 am. Floors 1-6 ( we were on the 5th) are 10 feet from the club walls and you might as well get up and dance, because there is no sleep happening. The lady at the desk told us we should have called and they would have TURNED IT DOWN! very funny. Anyway, cool hotel, great fun staff and clean rooms, but be very picky about which side your room is on and ASK about the club. Doesn't hurt to ask. They gave us 10% off our next visit. Thanks.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in rooms facing east on weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, General Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Andy, thank you for your review. Our front desk person Louise told us how much you loved the hotel and are looking forward to a return stay. We appreciate your sentiments about the 5 star as well since that is a more appropriate rating for a world renowned award-winning hotel.

I was disappointed that although you were told by Louise that this is not a regular occurrence, you made it the main thrust of your review. Your isolated experience is not an incontrovertible fact; otherwise, we would have dozens of disparaging reviews prior to yours. Unfortunately, most people take the time out to write about the bad as opposed to the good.

I stand by Louise, who told you we could have quieted our neighbor down had you called the front desk. In fact, I spoke to Paul Seres, a principal at the Dinner on Ludlow, who assured me that he would of course lower the volume at the venue in the rare instance volume would become an issue. He was very apologetic and said he cared not only about you, but about the hotel, the other neighbors, and even passers-by in the street. In fact, he will be extending an offer for you to come have dinner at his establishment in an upcoming review here on TripAdvisor.

By the way, all return guests receive 10% off.

Best wishes,
Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    127
    41
    33
    58
See reviews for
103
195
79
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Booked this hotel for a quick one-night getaway to the city over MLK weekend. Sure glad we did!

As many reviewers have stated, the location of this hotel is just great-- right in the heart of the Lower East Side. We drove in to the city and found parking around the corner- $50.00 for a day and a half with the hotels validation. I suspect you can find cheaper rates with a little research, but it was only a block from the Blue Moon. The Tenement Museum across the street is a must see and there are plenty of dining options close by. I loved the area as its within walking distance of both Little Italy and Chinatown. For you runners out there, it's a close jog to the Williamsburg Bridge with its bike/jogging lane over to Brooklyn featuring great views of Manhatten and the East River!

The hotel itself was beautiful-- freshly painted, clean, warm and comforting. We booked the very affordable Pied-a-Terre room on the 2nd floor (the "Sid Caesar Room") and it was perfectly adequate for a couple. The bathroom was roomy. I think a couple with one child could stay in this size room without a problem. We didn't have a problem with street noise even being on the 2nd floor, but it was a Sunday night. The room was spotless upon our arrival.

Front desk service was good and the continental breakfast pretty standard coffee, tea, fruit, bagels and danish. That type of beakfast is fine with me. As has been said, the lobby is great place to hang around and read the morning paper.

I will definitely be returning to the Blue Moon - both because the area itself is so neat and the hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My husband and I recently stumbled upon the Blue Moon Hotel; we stayed there in mid-December, 2012. After a long day of business in the city, we were greeted by a smiling host and immediately offered a glass of very decent wine: an auspicious start of a wonderful stay.
Our room was adequate and almost spacious in size by NY city standards. Within walking distance of excellent dining, the neighborhood is interesting.
We very much liked and appreciated the history of the building and the lovely, appropriate renovations. For a second generation immigrant whose grandparents came through Ellis Island, this part of NY city is dear to me. It was somehow special to sleep in a building that may have been home to an immigrant family like my ancestors.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I recently spent 5 nights at the Blue Moon Hotel (Jan 2013) and chose it based on the reviews found here. The hotel met all our expectations-good sized rooms with a fridge and views of the Manhattan Bridge (we stayed in a deluxe room); great, friendly and helpful staff; kosher, continental breakfast (although I did buy some of my own condiments to put on the bagels). I loved sitting in the lobby eating breakfast and reading the NY Times. The hotel had lovely and interesting decor, even walking down the stairs. The lower East side was a fascinating part of town to be in. We loved the Tenement Museum across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin22228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
We are delighted that you chose us and you are precisely the guest that our hotel is best suited for. Your appreciation for art, history and design had led you to us and I’m pleased that our efforts did not disappoint. Although you are halfway around the world (or perhaps we are), we hope to see you if you do have a hankering to come back to our great city. Best wishes to you and your daughter. Much success and love from the Blue Moon Hotel.

Very truly yours
Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I spent a night at the Blue Moon in 2009 (6th floor with a view of the Manhatten Bridge ) and 3 nights again in Jan. 2013 (5th floor with a view of the Manhatten Bridge). Much has happened in the neighborhood since last time. Lots of new fun shops (karma popcorn, cigar shop, superb restaurant called The Fat Radish....) and Tenement Museum has a new visitors center and more tours.
My daughter and I shared a room - the room as well as the hotel has lots of character with furniture and artefacts from the turn of the century. Some of the receptionists (2 men) were very service-minded and told us the history of the hotel, showed us around, gave us tips to local takeaways, etc. One female receptionist was less service-minded as private calls on her cell phone had top priority (rather than we guests). I love the location. I appreciate the architecture and many of the choices that have been made at the Blue Moon. But there are also certain things that could be improved. Please, give your guests top priority. Please serve breakfast that is a bit more interesting and healthy (I'm fine with a basic breakfast on bagels and cream cheese as it fits in with the concept - but couldn't there be some small yoguhrts and good cakes rather than those bought by the bag in a supermarket?) Please make the reception area more comfortable to relax in with better chairs that have the same high standard as the rest of the setting - and it would be appreciated if there was always a cup of coffe / tea in the reception for guests:) The otherwise nice reception area would be used more by guests for reading / socializing with other guests.
All in all, I would still recommend the place as is, but it wouldn't take much effort to improve the hotel imensely with these simple suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
We are delighted that you returned for a second stay and that our helpful and convivial staff could help make your NYC trip so enjoyable! Our cozy, yet spacious suites are uniquely designed with all of the luxurious amenities to make our guests feel right at home. Incidentally, the lovely Louise on the phone is a new first-time mom with a precious baby at home who she periodically checks in on. The project’s distinction is that we gutted a 5-story tenement and gave it a second life as a stately 8-story hotel, for which we have received over 40 major articles, accolades, TV and radio segments based on the sheer merits of the property.

The Blue Moon, an award-winning art history and design project is much acknowledged for our premium size, premium view and accoutrements.

Although continental breakfast is gratis; taste is subjective and if not to your liking try a myriad of choices right outside our door. Regarding the baked goods, there must be some confusion; we do not serve nor have we ever have served any commercial baked goods. The breakfast is gratis and beautiful, in a city where a simple hotel breakfast for two can easily be extravagant ($12 muffin; $8 glass of milk). We provide what are considered the finest pastries for your palate, embodying the culture of the Lower East Side. Our bagels are from Kossar’s, and Eastern European-style pastries (5 varieties of addicting ruggelach) from Gertel’s Bake Shop, as well as fresh fruits, juices, gourmet coffee, and fine teas (8 flavors). These hot beverages are available in the lobby anytime, and additionally each room has a coffee maker. Guests can regularly be observed having breakfast over their laptops conducting their meetings right in our lobby. In our elegant historical lobby you can lounge comfortably in the window seats or on our custom cushion packed benches.

I hoped you enjoyed your complementary glass of wine is available on arrival or at your leisure and a free gym pass at a close by state of the art facility. Rest assured: as we fret over our responses, so did we fret over every detail in creating the Blue Moon Hotel and making your stay a most enjoyable one.

P.S. 3 is a charm. We hope to see you soon.

Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A lovely little hotel if you are into kitch, but there are some items travelers of which travelers should be aware. Top floor hot water pressure is lacking: how they expect one to fill the tub is beyond me. That tub also didn't drain worth a darn. Biggest problem is that the hotel is adjacent to "The DL," which advertises itself as "the newest hipster hangout in the Lower East Side." That may be, but what it really is, is LOUD until about 4:00 AM. The view from the top floor is nice, but I can't see anyone getting any quality sleep except maybe in the front rooms.

Room Tip: Seriously consider taking rooms in the front half of the building, and pack ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grumpysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your review. Kitch is not an appropriate description for the Blue Moon. In fact, it undermines the labor of love that went into creating a 5-year award-winning art history and design project. Blue Moon, more like a museum than a hotel, was a long sought-after vision where every detail was fretted over; and that is how we were chosen by National Geographic Traveler, and Allen Sperry’s 100 Best Little Hotels and over 40 articles including NY Times, LA Times, Toronto Star, etc.

Most recently the Blue Moon starred in a segment by Sino TV, which is now featured on our FB and website. The Waldorf and Trump were the previous choices of Sino TV. You could say the BM has been in good company. Furthermore “Grumpysix” didn’t mention the room’s 15 foot cathedral ceiling, hydro massage, and balcony with a view that made you feel like you are sitting on the Williamsburg Bridge . (Please see photos of view and room.)

Therefore, let’s just say a different adjective other than kitch is in order.

The Blue Moon wants to create a beautiful and unique experience for everyone; that is why we are saddened to hear about the inconveniences of “Grumpysix”’s stay. The Blue Moon is an 8 story building with a high tech pressure pump; on a rare occasion it needs to be adjusted. A simple increase in pressure automatically remedies the situation. Occasionally a hotel drain can slow up and is likewise easily cured. However, we need to be apprised of any snafus in actual time. The nuisance of a new club in the city that never sleeps coincides with the New Year celebrations. On that night most of our guests were in the lobby until 4AM. None the less the LES is notorious for running out of business any new establishments that test the limits of its neighbors. We will be on the lookout.

Thank you for the tip and sharing your review with us. Obviously it wasn’t all bad, since you gave us 4 out of 5 (if only we could approve of our loved ones accordingly) so if you want to give it another shot, call Antonella and next time we will try harder to please. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a terrific little jewel of a hotel. The rooms are spacious, the staff is amazing, warm, friendly and very helpful. Tons of great restaurants in and around the Orchard/Delancey neighborhood. Right across the street from the Tenement Museum. Great find. We'll stay there again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiyiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#436 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing