We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Moon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
261
144
50
39
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
144
50
39
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstenement museumlower east sideorchard streetwilliamsburg bridgebagelsnew yorkshared roomboutique hotelthe penthousefront desk clerkaround the cornerrestaurants and barssofa bedyour luggagestreet noisechinatownkatz
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

i was here on a monday , on the 8th floor. the sound proofing was bad, could hear traffic all night long. the door lock was very tricky to operate. the beds were creaky and old. the wifi signal was weak. i will not return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The neighborhood of this hotel is really great, day and night, and the rooms (comfort category) are really large and equipped with a fridge. The free wireless internet and the A/C worked well.
However, the window glasses are really thin, so it’s quite noisy at any given time.

Friendliness of staff varies a lot. You have to ask for everything, from housekeeping service to clean cutlery during breakfast (apparently, there are not enough knives for more than 8 guests at one time). The advertised pass for the gym across the street (which indeed would be very convenient – in theory) is never available: One day they claimed that they did not receive the gym passes for that day yet (at 5:30 pm), the other day they just called the gym and mentioned my name (that was the only time that I actually went there), the next day front desk staff browsed through the entire paperwork in the desk without finding any passes. Then they tell you there is only one gym pass available per room during the entire stay.

There was no welcome glass of wine as mentioned in the reservation, and watching DVDs was definitely not possible because the DVD player was not properly connected to the TV (But I ended up being tired of asking every single time something went wrong or was missing, I actually got the feeling that I was annoying the staff). I also couldn’t find the advertised iPod docking station.

If you can get a good rate and like an old-fashioned spacious accommodation in a nice location very close to several Lower East Side subway stations, then this hotel can be a decent option, but don’t expect too much dedication to customer service from them.

Room Tip: Many different categories and lots of confusion. When I made the reservation, a room on an upper floor with a rear view was confirmed in a personal e-mail to me from the front desk. We got 2nd floor with a street view and the noise. I guess upper rooms are the better choice, but don't count on confirmed special requests.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAH-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Blue Moon Hotel and will definetly return. If you like a more personal experience this intimate boutique hotel is for you. The tenement building has obviously been lovingly restored and provides a realaxing little oasis in the city. I stayed in the Ella Fitzgerald room , towels changed daily , coffee making facilities and complimentary breakfast of bagels provided in the lobby. A great start to a busy day eating breakfast against the backdrop of jazz music I felt I had stepped back in time. located close to Little Italy, Chinatown and Soho and with funky local bars this is defintely the place to stay in NY. Loved it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for two nights in a double room on the fourth floor with breakfast included. The room was comfortable enough without being too large. Good en suite facility. Breakfast was awful, luke warm coffee and only bagels on offer. No toast. Self Service in Reception Lobby, when there is a side room down the hall they could use. Good location in Lower East Side, we loved the area. We paid $638 dollars after taxes, around £450 pounds, which is a rip off for the facilities and room on offer. Would not stay again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On our second night the next door room had a fight and were slamming doors etc. Reported to reception who did little to prevent it.

Room Tip: Stop somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tintinmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We've stayed at the Blue Moon several times. This boutique hotel was converted from an old tenement and has the historic charm to prove it. Beautiful wood and stone carvings, antique furniture, and many rooms with terraces make it a one of a kind hotel. We love the location, across the street from the tenement museum. It's close to Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho. We also easily walk to Greenwich Village from here. The TVs are tiny - don't try to watch sports here. The internet is ok - not super speedy, but functional. This place is for people who want something different - it's a far cry from a chain hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side with the terraces face the Williamsburg Bridge. It's a gorgeous view - but there is a nightclub that is open late which makes for a loud night if you don't close the doors. The 6th floor terrace is larger than the penthouse terrace. Our favorite room is called the Marx Brothers.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews