We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet little hotel”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #411 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Blue Moon works hard on being adorable and it mostly works. The hotel is tiny and since I was driving into the city went around the block twice before I found it. The rooms are named after movie stars and are all individually furnished with name specific memorabilia. The rooms are enormous, particularly by NYC hotel standards and come with a refrigerator. Service is highly personalized. For example, even though breakfast is usually served at 7, when I asked if we could get it at 6:30, they happily accommodated this request. They offered me a complimentary glass of wine at the end of a
particularly long and grueling day. They don't valet park, but they offer a discount with the garage around the corner - it only cost me $25 a day to park, unheard of in NY! The place is very clean and in the heart of the east village, so if that is your destination, Blue Moon is a really good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is not your average boutique hotel. It takes a certain personality to enjoy this level of quirkiness. We loved our room on the 4th floor rear room. No view, but a nice balcony and quiet. The tub was big enough to soak in, which we did after days of walking through the city. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The elevator was slow at times, so we used the stairs a lot. I am gluten free, so the breakfast didn't do much for me, but luckily, there is a gluten free bakery around the corner! Babycakes Bakery. This is a very hip neighborhood- they were filming "Girls" in front of the hotel one day!

Room Tip: If you want quiet- get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jstarr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arrived at 1am and nervous that my booking would be lost. No problems at this hotel. Very charming. We had a great suite called the Fanny Bryce room (it was much much bigger than a room and included a balcony which unfortunately did not have any view, but was a great space for contemplate being in New York!). The building was also a great place to spend some time reading all of the prints on the walls, especially in the back area, which provided a rich history of the tenement and the area). I loved the story pertaining to the framed cards which were delightful, if you like that sort of thing.. and I do). Incredibly reasonably priced, which included fantastic breakfast of bagels and coffee. Staff were great, especially Louise, who loved a chat.
Would definitely love to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Did hear some complaints from other visitors regarding noise from a nightclub at the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

i was here on a monday , on the 8th floor. the sound proofing was bad, could hear traffic all night long. the door lock was very tricky to operate. the beds were creaky and old. the wifi signal was weak. i will not return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The neighborhood of this hotel is really great, day and night, and the rooms (comfort category) are really large and equipped with a fridge. The free wireless internet and the A/C worked well.
However, the window glasses are really thin, so it’s quite noisy at any given time.

Friendliness of staff varies a lot. You have to ask for everything, from housekeeping service to clean cutlery during breakfast (apparently, there are not enough knives for more than 8 guests at one time). The advertised pass for the gym across the street (which indeed would be very convenient – in theory) is never available: One day they claimed that they did not receive the gym passes for that day yet (at 5:30 pm), the other day they just called the gym and mentioned my name (that was the only time that I actually went there), the next day front desk staff browsed through the entire paperwork in the desk without finding any passes. Then they tell you there is only one gym pass available per room during the entire stay.

There was no welcome glass of wine as mentioned in the reservation, and watching DVDs was definitely not possible because the DVD player was not properly connected to the TV (But I ended up being tired of asking every single time something went wrong or was missing, I actually got the feeling that I was annoying the staff). I also couldn’t find the advertised iPod docking station.

If you can get a good rate and like an old-fashioned spacious accommodation in a nice location very close to several Lower East Side subway stations, then this hotel can be a decent option, but don’t expect too much dedication to customer service from them.

Room Tip: Many different categories and lots of confusion. When I made the reservation, a room on an upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAH-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Blue Moon Hotel and will definetly return. If you like a more personal experience this intimate boutique hotel is for you. The tenement building has obviously been lovingly restored and provides a realaxing little oasis in the city. I stayed in the Ella Fitzgerald room , towels changed daily , coffee making facilities and complimentary breakfast of bagels provided in the lobby. A great start to a busy day eating breakfast against the backdrop of jazz music I felt I had stepped back in time. located close to Little Italy, Chinatown and Soho and with funky local bars this is defintely the place to stay in NY. Loved it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for two nights in a double room on the fourth floor with breakfast included. The room was comfortable enough without being too large. Good en suite facility. Breakfast was awful, luke warm coffee and only bagels on offer. No toast. Self Service in Reception Lobby, when there is a side room down the hall they could use. Good location in Lower East Side, we loved the area. We paid $638 dollars after taxes, around £450 pounds, which is a rip off for the facilities and room on offer. Would not stay again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On our second night the next door room had a fight and were slamming doors etc. Reported to reception who did little to prevent it.

Room Tip: Stop somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tintinmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 469 in New York City
1,582 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 469 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £52 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing