We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non corporate, individual & quirky 8)”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #410 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a fabulous stay, the hotel staff were extremely helpful - the lady at the front desk gave us lots of tips & info on the local area & free times for museums, arranged airport transport, etc. No problem with air conditioning in the rooms, bed very comfortable. Good size room & value for money - particularly if you've ever stayed in a London Hotel ! Added to this is the fact that you are staying somewhere beautiful with some history to it, which the hotel is rightly proud of.
We stayed with our teenage daughter - younger children also appeared to be accommodated well by the looks of several who came down to breakfast. Breakfast was simple, but adequate - there are several places nearby if you wanted anything more.The hotel is placed well to many interesting areas - galleries, eateries, smaller shops, etc. It is also less than 5 mins walk to Delancy/Essex St Subway to get directly uptown.
Definitely enjoyed our stay & would recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in Sophie Tucker - it had a small balcony which you could sit out on, but surrounded by ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 335bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I liked the look of the hotel, but making an honest booking seems to be difficult. I had hoped to log on to a web site see a price and make the booking. Well like they say "you got two hopes and Bob's dead"

The price was shown in UK Pounds and seemed fine, right up until after I had completed my credit card details when the price switched to US Dollars, ex Tax, ex City Tax and a note that my card would not be billed until I arrived.

That may be standard practice and I might have accepted those terms if I had been given the information in the first place.

I tried to contact the hotel but they said that the booking could not be cancelled. So now I am left with the choice of accepting an additional cost for taxes and what ever exchange rate fluctuations happen or contact the credit card company and explain that I was given a headline price that may not be the price to pay and ask the credit card company to block the transaction.

It is bad enough when the final price is shown at the last second but to not be shown the final price at all is down right disgusting.

Am I being naive? I think not. All through the process one UK Pound price was shown on the page in a large font specifically giving me one message. If the final intent was to charge in US Dollars plus taxes at a later point then that message should have been given prominence during the booking process.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as a guest at our stunning boutique hotel. Please Note That Our Guestroom Rates Per Night Are In U.S. Dollars. There Is Also The Hotel Tax and Occupancy Tax Per Night That Is Charged As Well--Also In U.S. Dollars. Issues Regarding Exchange Rate Fluctuations Have Nothing To Do With Our Hotel Here In The U.S. Our Guests From Every Corner Of The Globe Are Seasoned Travelers. We hope you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked a room here because I needed to be on the lower east side and didn’t want to pay the $400 a night for the Bowery Hotel. This renovated tenement is oozing with personality and charm. Rooms don’t have numbers, but names of jazz musicians. I was in the Duke Ellington. From the out spoken hostess (the owner, I believe) to the incredible view of the Williamsburg bridge from the tiny terrace in the room. This boutique hotel is an experience in itself. I would happily return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Such a pleasant place. Nice size rooms pleasing decor, free breakfast at a good price. And the location...across the street from the Tenement Museum, good restaurants all around, and the subway just 2 blocks away. A friendly staff greeting you with a glass of wine and willingness to answer any questions. Altogether a gem of a place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffBreatenTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you just need a place to sleep, don't choose Blue Moon. If your want the accomodation to be a part of your experience of New York, you have to try Blue Moon. The style is old Manhattan luxery, and compelely done with old furniture, spacial rooms and spectacular views of Manhattan. We had a luxery room at 8 level, with a 300 degree view from the Chrysler building to Number 1 at ground Zero from our balcony and windows. Amazing! The breakfast is basic, but the neighborhood just outside the hotel has many small cafe's and restaurant if you need more. There is 100 meter to the nearest subway with many lines, and the wifi is perfect, so Manhattan is just outside the windows. Go try it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hojland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Staff was friendly and attentive. Louis made us feel very welcome when we checked in. Rooms were comfortable and felt much more "homey" than your typical hotel room. I have already recommended your hotel to family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsbacalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Blue Moon for two nights. We stayed in the Duke Ellington room.

First the good: Nice staff, friendly and helpful. The Hotel was relatively clean in appearance. Good location in lower Ease Side Manhattan. Unique entrance and decor.

Now the disappointment: No one asked how we enjoyed our stay. They seemed to be in a hurry to get us checked out so I did not voice the problems. The closet door handle was previously broken and fell off when we opened the door. The handle on the bathtub faucet also fell off every time we turned it on. It made me wonder if the cleaning staff was diligent enough to notice these problems and did not tell the management or just didn't notice, which made me question how well they clean. And if the management was told, did they ignore the problems instead of fixing them.
The breakfast on the first day was gone by the time we got to the lobby at 9:40 am. It was supposed to be served until 10 am. The second morning, there was no orange juice left and only very little else to eat. The television reception in the room was terrible as was the wifi. The noise level from the street and in the hallway made it difficult to sleep.
This is a 3 star hotel and we were not expecting much but were still disappointed.
If the price is right (it changes), it may not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our clean hotel, and nice, friendly, helpful staff. Our complimentary daily continental breakfast and complimentary guest wifi are extremely popular amenities. Every effort is made to accommodate our guests, because at the very least, we want each and every guest to have a comfort level whereupon they will be a repeat guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#293 of 469 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £58 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing