We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Moon excellent”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Blue Moon excellent”
Reviewed 12 December 2008

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at the Blue Moon Manhattan in December 2008. Its location in Lr East Side is some way from the main tourist areas of Manhattan but the subway service both uptown and downtown was very good. The area in some ways represents more authentic New York than much of midtown. Manhattan hotels are very expensive but this was better than most, worked out at €485 per night including tax. This was their most basic level of room but still very spacious with a good size balcony.

Breakfast was provided free, unusual in Manhattan though they do not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner. It's a small hotel with just 20 rooms - the upper level ones are fabulous with brilliant views but quite a lot more expensive. The managers are delightful, nothing was too much trouble and we got complimentary wine on arrival. The place had a great feel to it and we will certainly stay there next time we go to New York.

  • Liked — Friendliness of managers, spaciousness of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    133
    45
    33
    63
See reviews for
107
198
82
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We passed this hotel by chance last year while exploring the Lower East Side and were intrigued by its charm and character. On this visit, we stayed here for 3 nights and it fully lived up to our expectations.

This converted tenement is obviously a labour of love for the owner whose meticulous attention to detail can be seen in every part of the hotel. The design of the spacious room was in keeping with the concept of the building, past and present.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Larry and Antonella, both a source of invaluable knowledge on the history of the hotel and surrounding area.

We specifically wanted to stay in a downtown hotel to escape the usual midtown locations, preferring the feel of LES and the Village etc. However, you can quickly reach any part of the city from here as there are a few subway stops close to the hotel, the easiest being the F train from Delancey.

Would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation recommending the Blue Moon Hotel for anyone planning to visit the staple NYC landmarks or those looking to experience Manhattan from a different perspective.

  • Liked — Design details.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank downtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Why stay anywhere else? I found this little gem by chance back in Nov 2006 and I was immediately impressed. The Blue Moon hotel is like no other hotel in NYC from the location, décor, history to the cleanliness and superb staff this is a must stay. Oh! Let me not forget to mention the great price for a room that is HUGE. This is not one of those places that only posts pictures of the biggest and nicest rooms on their website, all the rooms look like that.
I just stayed there for the third time a few weeks ago. Coming from Washington DC I was greeted by Larry (and a glass of wine) who is not only a perfect gentleman put a great resource. He should write a book on customer service. He is truly and asset at the Hotel and I thank him for the great service and awesome dinner suggestions.
The night I arrived I ran into Randy the owner. To my surprise he remembered me and welcomed me back. Then he said he was going to check on upgrading my room for the following night. The next day we got back from touring around to find they put us in the penthouse Eddie Cantor room. Words really can’t describe this room and the view. I could write and write about this place but you will just have to stay there for yourself. Let me just say if you want to get a true sense for this great city this is the place to go. The nightlife is energetic, neighborhood like and very safe and the service makes me think of what it must have been like in and what my parents would refer to as “the good ole days”

  • Liked — The decor of this historic hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank djmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We didn't know too much about this place before booking, but were delighted when we stayed there. It's stylish, charming and quirky, and even the lower grade room we had booked turned out to be spacious and well equipped.
Activity bustles in the lobby which also serves as the breakfast area. Take a window seat and soak up the atmosphere with a very generous continental breakfast.
Manager Larry couldn't have been more helpful. He provided us with info and maps for getting about and took the trouble to walk us part way to a restaurant that he recommended close by - one among a number of very under-statedly fashionable bistros and bars in this area.
We'll definately return to the Blue Moon. With the dollar/pound exchange rate it's not a cheap option for Brits at the moment., but on leaving we were promised a great discount on our next trip there.

Mark & Juliette

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Markqwertyuiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We took a chance and stayed here last weekend due to the proximity to my daughters apartment a block away..... and I'm glad we did. We arrived at 9:30AM, which was well before the normal check in but no problem with Larry at the front desk. Larry looked after us throughout our two night stay and was more than happy to tell the history of the hotel and surrounding area. This is a small property with larger than norm room size for a hotel of this type in New York. Decor was in keeping with the Lower East Side tenement district which made for some intersesting and pleasing viewing. If you like real deli bagels and pastry you will really appreciate what's put out for breakfast each morning. All fresh and local. The Hotel is very clean and we found the entire staff to be friendly and supportive. We had them call us a car to JFK and am pleased to report no upcharge for this service. This was our fourth stay in New York in the last 15 months. All of our previous visits were spent in Midtown, which is about 40 blocks away. I liked the location of the Blue Moon, more of a neighborhood feel versus the touristy Midtown.

  • Liked — Ownership visibility.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rehokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2008

After staying at this hotel I must say that it was of the most pleasant and comfortable experiences I've had. I was very impressed by the large size of the room that I stayed in and the warmth and pleasantness of the service. Everything in the hotel is bursting with character, from the colorful art pieces and fascinating artifacts from the late 1920s. Most importantly it was a comfortable and unique experience, one that I would very much like to have again.

  • Liked — Very Comfortable, Facinating History.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alivingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

I travel frequently for business and this time it was New York. I was very pleased with the beautifully decorated room, the relaxed atmosphere and the very helpful staff.
So much better then these hotel chains: it was a memorable place to stay and I will definitely revisit when i'm back in New York.

  • Liked — the beautifully decorated rooms and lounge, the helpful staff
  • Disliked — plastic cups for breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchessNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,851 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,547 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
632 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
838 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing