We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
drmarc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Beautiful Rooms
Charming Ambience-Feels like the old Lower East Side

Very helpful staff
Only downside is we did not want to leave the hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    125
    40
    33
    56
See reviews for
102
195
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

I stayed at the Blue Moon Hotel downtown on Orchard Street with my girlfriend on Valentine's Day this year. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is hidden in a great neighborhood full of awesome places to eat brunch. The hotel is historic but romantic and very cozy as well. The hotel staff, headed by a very affable and informative man named Larry, greeted us and cordially helped us throughout our stay. The room was fantastic with a beautiful balcony, clean bathroom, confortable bed and very spacious. I highly reccommend this hotel for couples and/or anyone who wants to stay in NYC but away from up/mid-town and close to BK. Awesome location!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhpavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago.IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

I stayed for two night at the Blue Moon Hotel the weekend of January 16 - 18. My room was charming and meticulously clean. Everyone was as kind and helpful as could be desired. This hotel is for people who love the unique and the original, and a flavor of New York from long ago. I will definitely book a room at the Blue Moon next time I visit New York.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaldsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

Blue Moon ranks at the top of all my travel experiences, and I'm a frugal, well-traveled, picky person. I am a self-employed writer, and every travel dollar has to be well spent because I don't have an expense account. But I like to treat myself well and feel safe, while experiencing whatever city I am in. Blue Moon met all my requirements, provided me with many special surprises: I'm a Hitchcock fan and Larry recommended a rarely seen film from their free-rental video collection. When I visit NYC (which is about once a quarter) I HAVE to have a good bagel, and the breakfast served downstairs every morning were some of the best bagels I've ever had (and even though I missed having whitefish salad, I'm glad they didn't have the smelly stuff in their lobby!). And the coffee was delicious, even though there was a Starbucks across the street, I felt no need to leave the hotel. The room was HUGE in NYC standards. I've stayed in many very nice hotels in the city from the Upper West Side to Park Central, I have never had a room this comfortable with a balcony and city view from my window for this comparable price.

When I arrived I received elegant care from all the employees. Each one had their specialty, from sharing the history of the building to DVD recommendations to restaurant recommendations. I came and went several times throughout the day and into the wee hours of the night and yet whenever I arrived I was always greeted like I was a family member.

I just realized, I probably should have been a better tipper, but I honestly felt so much like I was in a house full of my family that it didn't even occur to me. My bad. I hope they'll forgive me. But I guess that's another sign--that I never felt like anyone was doing anything for any other reason than they all just loved their "home" and wanted to make me feel comfortable. Larry did say he was from the South, so perhaps his innate sense of hospitality just came with ease. But that doesn't explain the rest of the staff.

Besides the fabulous treatment, the rooms and lobby and particulars are all meticulously renovated in keeping with the 1920s or earlier (I may have the date wrong) history of the building, everything is very modern and well-equipped. I heard Richard Price the author stayed there for 3 months while looking for an apartment. If my fantasy of having a pied a terre in NYC ever comes true, I'll be living in the Blue Moon Hotel and taking my time picking out a residence.

Blocks to Chinatown and Little Italy and Soho, it's the perfect location. If you need to be somewhere faster than the subway or your feet can carry you, the staff will call a car service for you in seconds. No more pricey than a taxi, and also very nice drivers.

I could gush more, but I think the truth is in the fact that I already know where I will be staying when I return in July, and Oct , and next January.

  • Liked — the hospitality of the staff (owners?)
  • Disliked — I can't think of one thing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLizCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

What a fabulous surprise the Blue Moon Hotel is. Its tucked away in the Lower East Side with no big flash frontage. But the minute you step inside the cheerful lobby, you feel as if you've been one of the family for ever.
Coffee, tea and a glass of wine are on offer as a welcome. Everyone who worked there went out of their way to help with advice, restaurant recommendations, information about the area and background to the historic aspects of the building. There is a great sense of respect and admiration for the history of the area amongst the people who work at The Blue Moon and they love sharing this information with those who have an interest.

The rooms are decorated in the period of the actors they are named after and each has its own distinct character. Rooms are well fitted out and have practical and aesthetically pleasing furniture which make them feel like a home from home. Great coffee supplied for the coffee makers in the room and a well appointed bathroom make the Blue Moon a very comfortable place to stay.

I would happily go back next time I visit New York City.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank member023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

The Blue Moon is a wonderful gem of a hotel—comfortable, ideally situated in Manhattan, and with a classy, artistic charm. The furnishing were all new, the rooms nearly soundproof, and the staff gracious and solicitous almost to a fault. The tastefully unified décor celebrates the history of the building, the neighborhood, and the stars of the early NYC theater. The location was perfect for our purposes, near Chinatown and Little Italy in the prime historic territory for tracing our ancestral roots.

Even better than the facilities, though, were the people. Our family of two grownups and two teenage girls came from Orlando in December but were faced with what could have been a vacation from hell due to luggage that was not just misrouted but totally lost. The Blue Moon staff, thankfully, was tremendously helpful in easing our problems, even going so far as to lend me a topcoat so that we could buy clothing rather than having to face the NYC weather in our Orlando short-sleeves (we had packed our heavy coats in our luggage). They eagerly provided well-informed histories of the area, the locations of excellent restaurants of all flavors, and suggested sites to visit with simple directions.

In all, we cannot say enough positive about the hotel and above all its people. You cannot go wrong by staying at the Blue Moon.

  • Liked — The gracious, intelligent, and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Grouse77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

My family went to NYC for a rare weekend getaway this past August.
We went to The Blue Moon in the lower east side. What a trip to my youth . The hotel is a living museum. The entire place was painstakingly and lovingly restored. Art adorns every wall along with collages of actual newsprint and memorabilia. The lobby is so quaint and fun. Each room carries the name of the stars that I grew up with. Molly Picon,Jack Benny, Sid Ceaser.I found myself smiling, and enjoying the atmosphere. The rooms were well appointed,with a well stocked fridge,and coffeemaker, marvelous mattresses, indiv air conditioning controls, a DVD player and a T V. The lobby had a lending library of things to watch. Breakfast was informal. As soon as we went downstairs a fresh pot of coffee was prepared, the bagels and danishes were fresh and delicious.The entire family had a great time and everyone wants to go back again.We brought a car, but it is closely situated near many trains, and it's easy to get around the city from there.

  • Liked — friendly comfortable environment
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing