We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NYC experience EVER”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #409 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Blue Moon hotel was just what we were looking for to celebrate a Californian's 40th bday. The accomodations were perfect. The ambiance was flawless. The staff was amazing! Andy & Francesca were great to us. We had such a great time that we are planning another 40th bday visit September 2010!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mik333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

My wife and I recently had the “Blue Moon experience” – which was really fantastic. We stayed at this small hotel tucked away in the Lower East Side of New York City. It gives a real taste of the city – not the kind of hotel that could be picked up and placed in any city in the world. It really had everything we wanted, and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate the guests. The facilities were clean, the furnishings comfortable. The ambiance was friendly and warm. The service was truly great. It’s one of those places that when you leave you realize how much you really enjoyed it, and you know you will return.
-Meyer and Hana

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chevyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Preservationists will love this place. The owner has assembled an unbelievable collection of real history which is woven into the decor of the building. The WWII era and Yiddish Theatre posters really bring you back to the good old days. Talking to him is a history lesson in and of itself. He has a real passion for what he has accomplished.

Stayed: April 2009
1  Thank MMRNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our stay in the blue moon was a last minute booking. We were coming to NY to get married and had booked in to a very hip and expensive hotel further uptown for 4days of our stay. We were supposed to be staying with a friend the rest of the time but this fell through so the blue moon chosen after a rushed flick through a guide book. And what a brilliantly happy impulsive choice to make! We loved everything about it. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The downtown location is great for more bohemian bars, restaurant and retro shops - a great area for wandering around. But more than anything this hotel has soul. Clearly the owners have taken great pride in refurbishing this old tenement block, taking great care to retain as many original features as possible, and displaying old relics from former inhabitants. Sure it might not be for those who like a bit more bling, but you know what? When a proprietor takes this much care with a building and its history then you know you are dealing with deeply respectful people of integrity, and you can be sure that you will be treated well. I was very sad to leave the blue moon, and although our posh hotel was very pretty and glamorous, it had no heart. I would come back to this hotel in a second. My deepest respect and thanks to the owner and staff for creating this little gem in downtown NY.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BixandGins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed at Blue Moon because we liked the location. We nearly fainted when we got the bill! With taxes, it was over $600 per night. It just wasn't worth it. New York and the Blue Moon have no clue about what is going on with this economy! If they keep charging these rates, they won't be open for long!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpk334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

From the time I walked in I felt it was going to be a good stay and it was. The people are very nice always at your service, hotel is stunning and it is in a great spot in the Lower East Side. You cant ask for more. Very neat, clean annd friendly. I would forsure stay there again. Thanks Blue Moon!

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
Thank stonish02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

As soon as we walked into the lobby we fell in love with the place. Lovely decorations and a feeling of the past surrounds you. We stayed in the Jimmy Durante room, clean, cozy and fresh. The owner and staff were very friendly and they made our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berneyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#293 of 469 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £56 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing