We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Home Away from Home”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #419 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My mother, sister and I feel incredibly fortunate to have stumbled upon the Blue Moon Hotel on the lower east side. I found the hotel online and was attracted by its historical flavor, positive reviews and location. It couldn't have been more perfect! The rooms were immaculate and large with a charming balcony, all for $250 a night! Our concierge, Larry, was super patient, helpful and friendly and so was the rest of the staff whose suggestions for where to go and what to do really enriched our stay. The staff and owner were so welcoming that it really felt like a home away from home. Why stay at a generic hotel, when you can enjoy personalized service and a warm, friendly and historicall significant atmosphere instead? Another bonus was the chance to bond with other guests over the free coffee, bagels and rugala breakfast each morning. It was an outstanding experience.

A final word about the location of the hotel: the Lower East Side is really the city's best kept secret. It's away from the crowds and in the center of a vibrant area within walking distance of SOHO, East Village, NOHO, Chinatown and Little Italy. If you are interested at all in Jewish history or immigrant history, you can walk next door to the Lower East Side Tenement Museum and tour a preserved tenement building located across the street; tour one of the city's oldest synagog's at http://www.eldridgestreet.org/; and walk the streets of the East Village where my ancestors grew up. Don't miss the chance to eat at Katz's Deli http://www.katzdeli.com/ and check out the $10 lunch at Il-Carollo Trattoria in SOHO (172-176 Prince Street where you can get delicious homemade pasta, soup or large salad and bread for $10!

Do not miss the opportunity to visit this extraodinary place. It will truly make your visit.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank chi-townsentiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

Amazing hotel, Perfect location for artist, musicians, families. If your a fan of Jeff Buckley the hotel is just a few blocks for a Jeff Pilgrimage. If your a fan of Chinatown/Little Italy your just a couple of blocks away. Katz's Deli, St. Marks Place.

Clean, Historic, Charm, Mystic, Value, what else more could you say? We stayed in the "George Raft" room perfect. The images on there site say it all.

We stayed in the Pied-A-Terre and it is perfect for a couple.
Will be back time and time again,

Special Note: Larry was the best of the best we never had such a kind, thoughtful, person to make our New York visit simple and problem free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starsandthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Three of us couples stayed in the cheapest rooms, and we were very pleased. They rooms were clean, bathroom spotless, (i took 2 baths in the deep gorgeous tub). It's quite clear the owner did not skimp on the refurbishing of this hotel. Everything is of good quality. The beds werent the greatest, and my aunt said her's felt like it was going to bite the dust. That's the only thing negative to say, although for the price, location, etc.. it shouldnt deter you from this little gem. Have stayed in the city for three times the price and this was better. The area is great area to exlplore, dont miss the Tenament Museum and adorable shop right next door with lots of little things to indulge and buy (although not pricey) The concierge was very friendly and helpful and the owner a very interesting person with a beautiful family. I would definitely stay here again and recommed to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neri212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I loved this hotel. It was in a great location and it was like a home away from home. I loved using the laptop in the lobby and watching the world go by. I stayed in the Marx Brothers room which was perfect for me. 500 sq ft with a huge balcony. Besides the queen size bed, it had a pull out sofa. I love having comfortable seating in a hotel room instead of being restricted to a hard chair or a bed. The concierge/manager Larry was so down to earth and welcoming to all the guests...he is a great asset to the ambiance. If you are looking for a stuffy and self important hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want an interesting and comfortable room in a great location, try out the Blue Moon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The location and price of this hotel are quite good, but I was disappointed by the quality of the room, the cleanliness, and most of all, the service. Perhaps I caught them on an off day, but I found the previous occupant's dirty socks in the closet and the concierge was glum and unhelpful. I am not sure how this hotel got so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor, but I would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentFlyer040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I had such a nice time here.....the staff were friendly, rooms gorgeous and the location is the best!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skids089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Prior plans fell through and i checked into this quaint. welcoming boutique hotel at 12:30 AM.. Larry checked me in and he and the other staff provided outstanding,caring service The room was lovely and the decor most unusual.The owner and restorer is a very interesting young man. I will stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbles1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,074 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 473 in New York City
660 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 473 in New York City
874 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 473 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £48 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing