We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel-Excellant Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel-Excellant Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel and staff was amazing! We had a Times Square view room on the 56th floor and it was well worth it! Our concierge Edwin the best hotel front desk person I have EVER dealt with. Anything we needed or wanted, there it was. If you go, ask for Edwin and all of your needs will be taken care of.

My only complaint was that like everyone one else, the sheets. We had read the reviews and that wasn't going to stop us from going, but boy, that was an experience. I ended up putting 2 shirts over the pillows to soften the sleep.

Very good location of the hotel, subway is one block away.

Overall, I would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I just asked for the highest floor possible, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobux927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    346
    88
    29
    21
See reviews for
236
597
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

First & foremost I have to say that the staff were amazing! Every single person we came in contact with was super friendly & helpful! Edwin was so sweet. We had mentioned that we were there for our 1 year anniversary & on the day of our anniversary he himself brought up a platter of fruit & cheese along with a small bottle of wine. What a nice personal touch that was & so thoughtful! The room was beautiful with a great view of Times Square. We were on the 56th floor so we got a great view of the Hudson as well.

The few things they need help with are the rough noisy sheets. You cannot open the fridge if the bathroom door is closed. The bathroom door is a slider door & doesn't give you much privacy because it doesn't stay closed all the way. I also noticed that the closet door would hit the front door arm when we opened it.

With all that said, I would definitely stay here again! The location is perfect & there are subway stations close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The external view of the hotel was spectacular, you couldn't help but look up at it from Times Square. The staff were brilliant, we were greeted by George, who put us in room 5202 which has a corner position, with views out over the whole of Central Park, plus views over Manhattan and Times Square.

The room itself was lovely, fitted out well and a fab kitchen, although we were baffled to see pans, but no stove? Maybe they are portable and brought to the room (we thought?).

The free breakfast was ok. I say just ok as it was never fully hot and being in America, when it comes to eggs you think American bacon, but there was none? Always a sausage pattie?

But, when you stay at a hotel, the main purpose is to have a place to sleep! The bed looked fab.. Large and comfy ... Until we got into it. The sheets were terrible. Noisy and itchy! I have never experienced noisy sheets before, but they woke you up when turning over or woke the person next to you if getting up to use the bathroom. Also they were scratchy. Meaning you itched as you lay there. We complained and were told that they'd had a lot of complaints so the hotel knew all about this. You can also read other peoples experiences of "the sheets" within other reviews (some of which are a month or so old). Needless to say, we didn't sleep very well at all.

I would love to return to this hotel, but the sheets were really a problem, so would need to know this issue had been rectified first. I can appreciate its a new hotel (opened end of Dec 13), so given the level of complaints, you would think this issue had been sorted... But not yet. We stayed there 27th Feb - 2nd March.

Would have been wonderful otherwise!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I spent a night between meetings at this new Residence Inn. I was greeted in the lobby and checked in by an effusive fellow New Jerseyan. It was an excellent check in experience. I was given a room on the 63rd floor with a view south into Times Square and Manhattan. The view was spectacular. The room itself was very modern, clean, quiet, and comfortable. It would be ideal for a longer stay as it had a small kitchen, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, etc. Being Manhattan, there are many restaurants and theaters within blocks of this hotel. I very much enjoyed my brief stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a 5 night stay with my husband to see the city and a couple of shows. This was out 4th trip to the city and we decided to try this brand new hotel. First, it is quite impressive in appearance and the lobby is simply beautiful with very unique artwork throughout the lobby and common areas. My early checkin was easy and my request to change rooms to a higher floor for a better view was accommodated quickly.

I was in room 5206 and although around the corner from the elevators, I agree with a previous reviewer that the elevators do make quite a bit of noise. Ummm, it sounds like ducks quacking actually and my husband and I found ourselves looking out the windows for ducks before we actually figured out what the source was.
The room is quite small but inline with other NYC hotel room sizes. They do manage to streamline their room to the point that it lacks a bit of function. For example, there is virtually no dresser space, just three small drawers that actually belong to the desk. The closet is super tiny and the inside is mostly taken up with the large safe. Now, you have to understand that you can only stay in the Residence Inn side if you stay 5 nights or longer so, chances are, you have a bit of clothing that you need to put away. Right?

There is NO place to store your luggage either. We ended up putting it up above on a ledge thing that was in the kitchen above the sink and microwave. If the ledge hadn't been there then I don't know where it would have gone. There is no storage for food items except the counter because the cupboards are all taken up with microwave, dishes and silverware. They really could compile the. Dishes and flatware into one cupboard and they really need to because the counter is always cluttered.
The fridge it pretty neat and I liked it a lot with the modern drawer style. Just a little FYI, with the close proximity of the sliding bathroom door to the drawer of the refrigerator, you are unable to open the fridge if someone is in the BR with the door closed. But, if you are sitting in the BR and are hungry or thirsty you can just open the BR door and the fridge and easily grab a snack.

All in all I'd like to give it 5 stars but they do have to figure out a few things. Additionally, the room keys are, in theory, a wise idea for safety and security to a certain point. The fact that you need to swipe your key to even activate the elevator to go to the lobby is is problem. If there is an emergency, if you accidentally lock your self out, forget your key or give it to your partner or spouse to retrieve something from the room you are stranded. If you do not have a key you can not activate the elevator. Period.

We also had experiences with extremely long waits for the lift, the elevator stopping at several floors where no one was waiting etc....

The guest laundry was convenient and the RI breakfast was very, very good. I would without a doubt stay here again despite the shortcomings it has right at the moment. These things are all very fixable and I've no doubt that things will improve. It is in a fabulous location with great staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wasn't at all what I expected! When I opened the door it was like stepping into a small apartment in Rome. Colors were vey New York and an elegant touch. The kitchen area was small but the design made it efficient and quite attractive. The bathroom was roomy with a great shower with terrific water pressure. The bed was comfortable and although small, it was just right. The size was made up in the " Great Room" where breakfast was served, the room was floor to window with most people sitting looking out, watching Manhattan wake up. Breakfast was great, food good in taste and variety. You can also come to the "Great Room, throughout the day to use computers or stretch out and read. " They also have adopted the "new" card key system, showing an interest in security. Lights are also powered by the key system, showing an interest in being energy efficient. Staff was friendly and seemed interested in our being comfortable. Wi Fi in the rooms was FREE! We will be back.

Room Tip: High floor either city or time square is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalloweenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked a room for a weeks holiday treat for my partner. While the hotel has a 'business feel' (only one armchair in a room means its more for singles than couples) we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in our city view room with a view of central park to the north.

The room was quite small for a residence inn, but it's in NY, and theres that view.

Throughout the week the staff were superb, made their duty to appear friendly seem authentic, maybe it was!

I'd stay here without hesitation again.

Great location with useful subway stations within a few blocks for most destinations. In addition its very close to an E line subway station, which means an easy ride from the JFK air train via Jamaica station even if you have some luggage.

Room Tip: Our room on the NW corner was great, possibly XX02 where XX is the floor number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulfromNYC725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the tallest hotel in New York, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park offers incomparable views of some of the most famous NYC landmarks, including Central Park and Times Square. Our Central Park hotel in NYC is an all-suite hotel providing guests with modern design and amenities, for a comfortable yet stylish stay in NYC. Out hotel features a Nosh eating area with light snacks and coffee, and we offer a daily free breakfast. There is a business center in our hotel and several meeting rooms that are perfect for small and medium functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing