We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, people and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #117 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liberty, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place, people and location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is billed as "the tallest hotel" in the city. It is pretty amazing. It's a combination Courtyard/Residence Inn. It's location is excellent for anyone coming in to see a Broadway show or got the Metropolitan Opera, or just hanging out in Central Park. All are right there. The staff was very nice and efficient, with a special shout out to Amy who checked us in and was delightful. She made sure our car was taken care of even though we'd come in from the wrong direction - she saved us having to snake our way back around a few blocks at prime traffic time. We were there for a friend's birthday, so the time she saved us was a birthday present in and of itself. She was also super helpful with an issue that came up later (and did not detract from the hotel at all) and she solved it right away. The room was lovely and comfortable, with creative space uses as only a ship and NYC can come up with! Has a kitchen with appliances that are ingeniously built in so you don't even realize they are there. It's right across the street from the Iguana Lounge and a diner on the other side, so the spectrum of dining options is right there. Loved it.

Room Tip: If you can't decide whether to go Courtyard or Residence Inn - go RI - the RI is higher floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcandctrips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    372
    94
    32
    24
See reviews for
254
630
65
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The design and layout of this hotel is fantastic. The room was a little small but the bathroom was big and bright and the bed very comfortable. Saying this, we had to get out linen changed after the first night as the sheets were incredibly scratchy and irritating. Surprising for such a new hotel.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay here. Much more than a 3-star experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I came here for business. I was truly wow'd by my experience at the Residence Inn Times Square. The one thing is the address indicates it is 1717 Broadway, but the front of the property is on 54th Street, so if you have a cab take you there, tell them you want to end up on 54th and Broadway. It is close to everything yet not in the middle of it. I went to see "Wicked" and it was a 3-block walk so it was perfect. The rooms are in typical NYC fashion on the smallish side, but everything was beautifully appointed and so clean. Lovely in decor. The dishwasher, fridge and so on were in drawers with an ultra-modern look and feel to the room. Floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedroom part of the suite with a view of Times Square from my room. The bed was uber comfortable, the temperature was easily controlled. The shower was a true rain shower experience with a walk-in glass shower stall.

You go to floor 4 for your free breakfast. Unlike the traditional Residence Inns, they do not have the evening social hour with food, so you will plan accordingly. This property shares space with Courtyard, so the Courtyard's Bistro is on floor 3 where you can get Starbucks coffee and the regular Courtyard Bistro fare. But if you want a latte, right across the street is a true Starbucks. There is a gym on site, as well as laundry and ice machines on floor 35.

I now can't wait to come back and bring my husband with me for a weekend in New York City. We'll definitely stay here. I am in hotels 50 weeks a year. This one really did impress me!

Room Tip: The room I had was next to a corner room. I was on the concierge level so it was nothing but busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I believe this hotel opened fairly recently, great location, great rooms, mine had an exceptional view of the park and city. Near central park and times square, also good location for business trip. Fitness center wasn't as large as some hotels, but was nice and had enough equipment when I was there. Good service from staff too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDreams99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a weekend in NYC and I cannot say enough about the RI Central Park. EXCELLENT location- just 4 blocks back from the Park & a short walk to Times Square.
Rooms are great- size is what you would expect for NYC and they were beautiful & clean.
Cannot say enough about the customer service- the staff is incredibly friendly, gracious, and accommodating. (A special thanks to Kenaya, Gloria, and Amy for all of their help- you went above & beyond!!) We were greeted warmly every time we walked back in (even greeted our Yorkie by name! My son accidentally purchased the enhanced wifi & they promptly took it off of our bill when I explained that. They graciously extended us a late checkout as I was running the NYC Half & was late getting back to change & pack up. Every question or request we asked was met with a smile & helpful answer.
I will definitely be staying here any time I go back to NYC. Thank you to Residence Inn Central Park for being part of a wonderful family weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alannao291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in, possibly ever. The service I received right from check in was second to none. Amy greeted us with a huge smile and was nothing but accommodating during our whole stay. She made us feel so welcome and we even extended our stay by 2 days because we got on so well with the staff. The room was excellent boasting a phenomenal view of Central Park from the 54th floor. We had a kitchen in our room which we didn't expect but was a huge plus for us. The microwave and free popcorn was a great little extra too. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The breakfast was delicious (although closing breakfast at 9:30am was a little early. Wish we could have had extra time in bed!) There is a great range of food available for breakfast, including fresh waffles! The room was stunning, good sized comfy bed, beautiful bathroom, big TV. We almost didnt want to leave our room. The hotel itself is in a great location for both central park and Times Square.

I cannot recommend this hotel and it's staff enough. Amy deserves a mention because she really did make our stay!! Great Hotel, great staff. Very happy customer!

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room, over looking Central Park. The views are breathtaking! You can even see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel and staff was amazing! We had a Times Square view room on the 56th floor and it was well worth it! Our concierge Edwin the best hotel front desk person I have EVER dealt with. Anything we needed or wanted, there it was. If you go, ask for Edwin and all of your needs will be taken care of.

My only complaint was that like everyone one else, the sheets. We had read the reviews and that wasn't going to stop us from going, but boy, that was an experience. I ended up putting 2 shirts over the pillows to soften the sleep.

Very good location of the hotel, subway is one block away.

Overall, I would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I just asked for the highest floor possible, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobux927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#223 of 467 in New York City
1,133 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,661 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#197 of 467 in New York City
2,366 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#133 of 467 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the tallest hotel in New York, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park offers incomparable views of some of the most famous NYC landmarks, including Central Park and Times Square. Our Central Park hotel in NYC is an all-suite hotel providing guests with modern design and amenities, for a comfortable yet stylish stay in NYC. Out hotel features a Nosh eating area with light snacks and coffee, and we offer a daily free breakfast. There is a business center in our hotel and several meeting rooms that are perfect for small and medium functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing