We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard(New York City)
View Hotel
Ameritania Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Dream Midtown(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moderne Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Da Vinci Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Manhattan Club(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
797
426
116
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
426
116
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomhudson rivercentral parktallest hotelcourtyard hoteltimes squarefloor to ceiling windowsnew yorkpots and pansfree breakfastsquare viewmini kitchenthe breakfast areamarriott propertiesthird floorfew blockshigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
930 - 935 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel in our first time in NY. Location is excellent, near Central Park and Times Square. New and very tall building shared by two Marriot brands (Courtyard rooms are in floor 34 and below, Residence rooms are in floors 35 to 65). We booked in the Residence (62nd floor), so wiews were amazing (corner rooms are roomer and have better views). Rooms are very clean and comfortables, you can really rest because of in upper floors city noise is not listened. Very nice staff (some of them speak spanish) and helpfull Concierge. Breakfast is not the best, but met Residence Inn standard (enough for those who don´t eat a lot of food in the morning).
Only complain is about lifts: in peak hours you may have to wait 3 or 5 minutes to take it (they are also used by cleaning staff).
Summary: we would like to visit NY again, and have no doubt we will book the same hotel next time.

Room Tip: Book Residence upper floors, corner rooms (09 are corner) for amazing views and zero noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caco_Campos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for just one night, but it was well worth the price. The room was exceptional and very up to date. The service was excellent, and everyone was nice. This place had all the amenities I could want in a pricey hotel, for less than what you would pay at other bigger name or boutique hotels. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bit of a long story....

We stayed here 5 nights. It would have been 6 nights but for the fact that the night we arrived rooms there were $600 per night instead of the usual $300. For absolutely no reason I could fathom. None.

This meant we had to stay in another hotel for the first night. Something we would much rather not have done. I made a number of calls from the UK to try and negotiate a humane room rate for the first night, but apparently it seems pricing for these rooms is ordained by God and cannot be changed. During exhaustive calls I tried to get someone to admit that $600 a night for a $300 room mid-week at a quiet time was very odd. I felt like Basil Fawlty talking to Manuel at times, and there is no way on earth I am paying $600 for a $300 room.

So... we had to find another hotel for one night, then change hotels the next day. Spectacular greed coupled with gigantic levels of inflexibility impinged greatly on the short time we had.

I smelled a rat from the beginning (Basil Fawlty style), and when we arrived in Manhattan I (at midnight) went to the Residence and immediately found out that the room we thought we had for the next day was not what we had booked. BEWARE - the Residence and the Courtyard Marriott are two different hotels in the same building. The Courtyard has no views of the Park, the Residence does. We, somehow, had been shoved in the Courtyard.

So, when we checked into the hotel the next day, the 'Central Park View' room we booked was on the 32nd floor - which had no view of Central Park. Get this - when we complained we were firstly told that it "would have a view of Central park if some buildings weren't in the way" ... and when I looked at them in incredulity... was then told that we had booked through Expedia, and we should take it up with them. That in no way could anything be done as we had booked through a 3rd party.

Fortunately our booking specified 'Central Park View'. So I politely got adamant, and tried a 3rd time. I approached Gloria at reception who immediately saw our issues and resolved them. She single handedly saved the day, changed our booking, and upgraded us to the Residence which had the view we wanted and had booked. Well done her. If you are reading, she deserves promotion. She was incredibly polite, sympathetic and though it clearly wasn't straight forward dealt with our issue speedily and efficiently.

She explained to us, unlike others, that Expedia had got it wrong on their website, that it had been rectified, but those caught in the middle were being helped out.

Brilliant.

So. That took the best part of 3 hours in the middle of the day.

The room, when we got there was in the high 40s floor wise and had a spectacular view of Central Park. It was small, but modern. There was a small cupboard for a few things. No draws. None. Not one. Nowhere to store much outside of an overnight case.

The bathroom was a modern shower room. No bigger. The shower worked fine but had very little power.

The room itself was brand new, the furnishings were lovely and modern and the bed very comfortable.

Breakfast: the food was fine, but the dining room was primarily made up of couches, so everyone was eating on their laps, which was weird and uncomfortable because you have to double-lean over to eat your food.

All-in-all the majority of the service we had was fine, but we had to sometimes ask twice or three times (different people, thats the key) to get what we wanted after being told previously it could not be done.

The rooms on the higher floors are modern and have spectacular views. The lower floors? If I was paying, I'm not sure I would bother.

Well done Gloria. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Higher up the better. The windows are totally transparent at night!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunseeker1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This relatively new hotel tries but could do a lot better.
Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. The AC is a little wacky. The vents are loud and keep the room cold. Any setting above 68 degrees seemed to trigger the heat!
The kitchenette area seemed nice, except the dishwasher or something else kept beeping intermittently. It's not too loud but it was noticeable and annoying when trying to sleep. We got two rooms and the same thing happened in both rooms.
The front desk staff seemed helpful but nothing outstanding there.

Room Tip: corner rooms are nice. I don't know what to tell you about the beeping from the kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monakamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my partner visited New York for first time. We stayed at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park for 10 nights and there are no words to describe our stay,, just fantastic!!!
The hotel is brand new, located between central park and time`s square, the best location to discover the city if you visit N.Y for first time. Modern and luxurious furnishing areas, high level service, spacious rooms, very good breakfast and of course... THE MOST BEAUTIFULL VIEW IN NEW YORK!!!
We stayed in two different view rooms. 5 days in a central park view room and 5 days in a time`s square view room. Both of rooms are located on the highest floors of the hotel, 65 and 64. Yes there are the best rooms we have ever stayed!!! The rooms are decorated on blue and white tones,modern and luxurious furnishing, bathroom with bathtub, mini kitchenette, coffee and tea maker and floor to ceeling soundproof windows with breathtaking view of New York`s skyline!! All these making your stay a Unique experience!!! We really loved it !!!
I also want to say that the hotel has one of the best staff we have ever met. Very polite, professional and pleasant people in all departments!! Especially we want to thank the front desk assistance manager miss Anca!!! she was so polite and helpfull from the time of booking untill our check out!!! Congratulations to marriott for having staff like her!!
I believe that Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park, is gonna be one of the best 5 star hotels in New York!! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon!!!
We would definately recomend this hotel to everyone and definately would stay again!!!

Room Tip: Prefer the top floors and corner rooms, for spectacular views!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrismad_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews